We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Winter Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Joplin, Mo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Winter Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

After enduring a cold winter, as most North Americans have, we opted to spend a little warm time away. Although we had been to Cozumel on a cruise a few times, we had never stayed there for any time. We chose the Occidental Grand from the reviews on TripAdvisor and opted for a hotel on the southern coast of Cozumel. We arrived at 3:00 PM andchecked in and were directed to the beachside restaurant where we ate lunch before getting our room, which was great for us. When we returned to the check-in we were given our room keys and directed to our room. The room was very nice and clean, although we would have preferred a king bed and not two doubles, but we got what we had paid for.There was plenty of food at the buffets and a good selection for our six day stay.The food was very tasty and fresh. A lot of different dishes and always good service at the restaurants and bars. The rooms are a little far from the beach, and you need to get down to the beach early to get a beach chair (6:00 AM). Not enough chairs for all. The two pools were very nice. The quiet pool was just that. Very quiet and serene. We were not bothered by time share people as mentioned by others. I mentioned to our guide at Loomis Guest Services at the airport, that I wasn't interested in any of their timeshare offers and I was never offered after that. No problems at check-in and check-out. Everything was very smooth. The employees really went out of their way to make you feel appreciated.

Room Tip: The room start out at building 10 and go to building 19. The higher the number the closest to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    1,451
    700
    365
    226
See reviews for
1,140
1,761
79
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I would have to say that we were very disappointed with the Occidental, especially during the beginning of our stay. Upon arriving, we did not immediately check in, but were greeted by timeshare people trying to convince us to come to a breakfast in order to get "coupons" for excursions. We had to ask to check in. Upon entering our room we noticed the air was not working, and that there was a hole in the tile where our shower head was coming out of the wall. We called three times to get our air conditioning fixed. Finally, by day 5 of our vacation we had air. If you're wondering whether or not to pack a hair dryer, please do. Ours only worked for about 2 minutes at a time before it overheated and shut off. The food was less than desirable, and my husband and I both got sick by the end of our trip. The beds are extremely hard. As for the bar by the pool/beach, there was often a very long line that you had to wait in. The good things: the beach is beautiful with great snorkeling, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They all work very hard at what they do.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful six days at the Occidental Grand the first week of February. Frankly, some reviews gave us concern before our trip, but we were very pleasantly surprised by our stay. The buffets were impressive, eating at different times, we still found food fresh and tasty. The specialty restaurants impressed us with the food and the experience, which were quite well done. We cannot say enough good about the staff in every aspect of the resort, who seemed anxious to help and to provide great service. We used the dive shop on site, Prodive Mexico, which I will review separately, but again, provided an excellent dive experience. There were staff members constantly cleaning, painting, maintaining, and sprucing up the premises. This is an older resort which has been well-maintained. This is not a party spot. By 10:30 pm, the night gets pretty quiet. Our only areas we would encourage improvement are the number and quality of beach chairs and the minimal lack of opportunity to switch out beach towels. Clean pools, truly enjoyable rooms, lush grounds, good food experiences, above-average drinks, and the friendly staff made this a great get-away experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bmwfanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limington, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our 4th trip to Cozumel and will be our last and only stay at the OG. Late check-in, NO air conditioning in our room the whole 10 days! This made for a smelly room to say the least. Time share people were like rats at every corner waiting for a victim to walk by. Food - so so, usually cold. No swim up bar as their website suggests. One bar tender working at the pool bar making verrrrry long lines during peak drinking times. Ottonito was quite full of himself and not very helpful unless you tipped with larger than $1 bills! Beach was awesome as were the grounds. Save yourself some money by diving thru Dive Palancar and NOT the on-site dive shop - we did 10 tanks for $335 thus saving close to $400. Dive Palancar will pick you up at the hotel pier - not always on-time, but eventually showed up!
Iberostar for us next years.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaddyP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Started off bad when we tried to check in at 230 pm and were told to return at 4. We returned at 330 pm and were told the electricity was out (clearly it was not). Then we were told the servers were down and to come back at 4 pm. How would they know this is all going to magically resolve at 4 pm, which is the actual check in time! We put our luggage with the bell boy up front and then noted that he left and no one took his place. There were cabs coming in and out of people and are bags were not tagged and NO ONE was watching our stuff! We ended up taking out bags and walking away; no questions asked. There is no AC anywhere in the hotel common areas. It was difficult to enjoy a meal as it was super humid and uncomfortable. AC in room was broke, didn't really EVER feel cold throughout our stay (1/29-2/2/14). We also had trouble with one room key; went to front desk and brought our picture ID thinking they would ask for a photo or at least ask us for our last name before giving us a new key to enter our room; NOPE, wrong....we said our room key stopped working and he said 'what room' we told him and he just swiped and gave us a new one; major security breach! Also, room in bathroom was broke, had to have someone fix it. The TV kept going in and out. The balcony doors throughout the resort on 2nd and 3rd floors do not have ANY locks. Beds are the worst ever and are extremely hard and uncomfortable. If you don't make dinner reservations when your arrive, chances are you will not be able to eat the other dining rooms, but they limit you to how many reservations you can have based on how many nights you are staying; have never been to an all-inclusive resort with that rule! Everything is a far walk! From the pool to the rooms is a far walk. Music plays until at least midnight every single night! Food was the worst I have ever had in Mexico, and I have traveled over 10+ times to Mexico in general. Downtown area is 20 mins away, about a $30.00 cab ride each way. All in all, not happy with stay, not worth the money and would never recommended this hotel in Cozumel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

My daughter and I arrived in Cozumel today to finish our certification for diving. We will be doing that at Iberostar, but are staying at the Grand Occidental. We did not know Cozumel was a party island, a place where people stay in all-inclusives because the booze flows freely , and the music at night is loud and heard everywhere. We asked for a room in a quiet place, since we wanted to rest at night for diving the next day. if this is the "quiet" room, what does the loud room sound like? The floors were vibrating! We called the desk and they basically ignored us. I wonder about the management here. The tone for a roperty is set at the top. When we got in after a long flight, we were hungry and headed to the buffet. The food is atrocious. Same food showed up for the supper buffet. Maybe that is why everyone drinks, so they don't notice all of this. I will post in again tomorrow and everyday. Maybe things will improve,

Room Tip: can't answer this yet. Have asked manager to move us tomorrow somewhere quiet. We will see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowFinch4927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed here 1/29/14-2/2/14. Read great reviews before going. Was shocked at what we walked into. Got there a little early & were told our room wouldn't be ready until 4 (check in time). I have never in MX & not been able to get my room upon arrival..even at 8am. We grabbed lunch & saw people being taken to their room. We went back at 3:30 to try & check in. Were told to come back about 4-4:30 because electric was out &/or the servers were down. 2 different stories. Not sure how they knew the electric would be working again at 4? We then went up front to sit & noticed numerous bags sitting unattended (pics included). We then realized they had never given us luggage #s/tags. When the attendant came back & we asked for them, he just handed us some. When our room was finally ready we got our own bags & no one ever noticed they were gone. They need a locked room for bags & a security system to check them in & out. Anyone could have taken any bag. Or a cab could have pulled up & taken 20+ bags.

At one point one of our keys got deactivated. I went to the front desk & asked for it to get fixed. ALL they asked for was the room #. Not my name, no id, nothing. Anyone could get a key to anybody's room. SO SCARY!

Our building had no working ice machine - not even plugged in (pic). Cable was out for a period of time one day throughout the resort. The window in our bathroom didn't close & the entire room was humid. The handle to close it was broken. We had to have maintenance come in & close for us by removing the screen. Patio door on balcony doesn't lock. We were told that 3 people had locked themselves out - so they got rid of locks. They at least need a chain lock that you do from the inside. No chain lock on main room door either. Beds are hard as a rock.

Apparently you can only make dinner reservations on a limited # of nights per your stay. When we tried to make them we were given 1 time slot. One night we had 6:30, the next night 7:30. The restaurants were dead (pics). I am not sure why they wouldn't allow more people to eat at the other restaurants. Every other meal is buffet style. Okay. Room temperature. Nice to have options.

The rooms are very spread out. The walkways to & from the lobby & restaurants need more lighting. Very dark & scary at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k10kastner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#21 of 51 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Property: Occidental Cozumel
Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#12 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing