We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“south end of island paradise”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our sixth stay at the Occidental. Staff are always friendly and smiling. We get the "welcome back" every time. The grounds are very well kept up. Staff are always cleaning and grooming the resort. Plenty of lounge chairs either on the beach or at the two separate pools. Food is good with different areas for breakfast and lunch. The lunch buffet is on the beach, which is wonderful. Its nice to sit and enjoy the ocean view. There are pool activities (volleyball, etc.) with an hourly schedule posted with the activities. Bar areas at pool, buffet and main building. The attached dive shop, Dive Palancar, left at the end of November. A different dive shop has taken over. We go the Cozumel to dive, and have always loved the dive masters and staff. We are planning to go again in February to the Occidental. We have kept in touch with Dive Palancar and they will pick us up at the pier for diving each day. We would recommend the Occidental to anyone going to the beautiful island of Cozumel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,784)
There are newer reviews for Occidental Cozumel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,130 - 2,136 of 4,784 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

The property is very nice and well maintained. They offer lots of amentiies that you would expect at an "all inclusive" resort. There are several pools and lots of lounge chairs available on the beach. There is also an attendant to take drink orders at either place. The food was good for a buffet, but you will tire of the same thing every day so you will want to venture out for meals at some point. we had an issue with construction while we were there, so I would request a "non-construction" building in your reservation. The staff is really kind. They will always great you as you pass along the grounds. The grounds are lovely. Diving available onsite, good operation. Just say "No" when someone asks you about timeshares and they will leave you alone.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if stairs are an issue, ask for the first floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A great beach, good rooms, good service, good food. A good experience for the 5 days we stayed. Too much timeshare pressure but just say no no no! Food is good, I think much better than many reviews. ( Don't forget you are in Mexico, don't expect great Italian food!). We will return.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Good value, highly consistent. Have stayed here 4-5 times since 2006. We always dive in the morning and spend the afternoon on the beach. Unlike at the Iberostar, there is no charge for dive operators to pick clients up on the resort's pier. The onsite dive operator runs a good schedule and the masters are always helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Texasman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My family and I traveled here in June 2013 and were very pleased with this hotel. The room was nice and we enjoyed our stay here. It has a nice, sandy beach that is good for swimming and some light snorkeling. The food reservations served very good food. The food in the regular buffet was average, but not bad.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a good air conditioning unit in it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

May husband and I have only been on 4 'beach vacations', but agree that our stay at the Occidental was our favorite so far. We stayed in the Royal Club and had excellent service from a friendly staff, a well maintained room, and close access to the beach.
The breakfast and lunch buffet were good, and with the Royal Club we also had our own private Royal Club restaurant at our access that offered a break from the buffets. The specialty restaurants were very nice and the maitre d (sp?) at Sonora even provided a special dish when asked what he recommended. It was grilled grouper and rib eye steak and it was absolutely delicious. :-)
We really loved that the main pool was on the beach. And although we had read a few negative complaints about the walkway access through the Mangroves, we thought it was really a unique feature that we all liked.
Our friends brought their 4 yr old and 7 yr old boys and there was always a planned activity for them to do if desired. There were a lot of kids and activity at the main pool. There was a quiet pool for the more sedate vacationers. And the Royal Club had a small private pool. The beach was our favorite place to spend time with plenty of chairs and shade umbrellas. The hotel is at the south end of the island where we were told the currents were less strong, but still had a wonderful sandy beach.
We were within 10 minute walk down the beach to Alberto's, which served seafood and drinks and played rock classics that we all had fun guessing the name and artist on. And our friends also rented a jet ski at Alberto's and had a good time riding.
We did deep sea fishing (which does not agree with me due to motion sickness). The crew was friendly and brought plenty of food and drink. - and agreed to bring half of us back to hotel due to rough waters then took the other more seaworthy people back out again to continue fishing.
We also really liked our Jeep Tour with Israel of Pantera Jeep Tours. It was one of our favorite excursions of the trip. Thanks Israel!!
The one thing would recommend to the hotel is a better television in the Lobby/Bar area. We watched football with other vacationers and all agreed that the television in this area was inferior to even the ones in our rooms -when it should have been newer and larger one for gatherings such as ours. But that is only a hotel suggestion and did not detract from our time spent at the Occidental.
A BIG thank you from my husband and I to all the staff at the Occidental for making our vacation a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to beach are better to avoid the noise of the disco and main lobby/entertainment areas.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This resort is older and is in need of some TLC. At other resorts we have visited, they were always painting or cleaning and this resort could be beautiful if they just did some basic upkeep. The time share reps were not bad but we avoided them completely due to other reviews we read. I also chose not to answer our phone since I was also warned they called your room. On several occasions we would stop by our room momentarily and ironically the phone would ring. We later noticed a button in the door casing at the top that I believe may be how they knew if we were coming or going, otherwise, how did they know? Their was little variety for food but what they did have we enjoyed. Great omelets in the morning. They do need more staff at the pool/beach area. There was always a long line to get drinks and only half of our vacation did they have someone going around to get drink orders. And they do not have straws...so if you like your cocktails with straws, bring your own. We actually picked up a few at Starbucks when we left the resort one day to do some shopping. The coffee is not good and they do not offer any kind of latte's or expresso's. The rooms were ok, we did have a leak in our bathroom ceiling. They did do a great job cleaning our room every morning in a timely fashion and re-stocking the mini fridge. All in all, the resort was just ok. We still had a great time but we have found better experiences staying at RIU or Dreams.

Room Tip: Building 18 or 19 since they are closer to the pools
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
4,573 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,975 reviews
13.8 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#18 of 52 in Cozumel
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $149 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing