We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent beach, average food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent beach, average food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The beach is excellent as is the scuba diving which is why many go there. The grounds are also well kept with a 'jungle feel' to the vegetation as there is little lawn. The rooms are spacious. The food is average, as is the service. The staff are pleasant but not outstanding. The rooms leave your clothes smelling musty. Strangely, we found the Mexican al a carte restaurant inferior in food preparation to the Mediterranean. Go if you want an excellent beach and water conditions, but if these are less important than the food and rooms, there are better resorts in on the mainland.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that have common interior doors as noise travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shorswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,611
    1,436
    696
    365
    226
See reviews for
1,118
1,742
79
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Simply put, low season is not an excuse for appalling food and watered down drinks. Staff unmotivated & disinterested. Gym being refurbished, nobody knew how long before it would reopen. Tried 3 times to move rooms, no result!! Isolated. TIMESHARE SELL FROM HELL.
Might be better in high season, but unacceptable at the time I went.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Steven l,

We are sorry for the discomfort you experienced during your recent stay with us, and do appreciate the feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered. The comfort of our guests is top priority. We’ve discussed your comments with our management to look into new ways to improve our results. Also, your feedback about the Occidental Vacation Club staff has been addressed to their manager, and will take the proper measures so that you or any future guest feels uncomfortable with our staff.

We do hope that you’ll give us a second chance to make you have memorable vacations.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a nice hotel except for a couple of points. The food is quite good in the beach restaurant at lunch time, the food in the main restaurant is good at breakfast but not so good at dinner, it was often bland and cold. If you are a food fan then this is not the place for you however, in most other ways the hotel is OK. The drinks are good using known brands rather than local. The staff are friendly and helpful for the most part but the time share sales team are far too pushy and their insistence and intrusion into our holiday was unwelcome. They persuaded us to visit their office by very underhand means and when I asked if it was time share the staff said it wasn't. The experience of hard sell was annoying and intrusive into our holiday.
The rooms are large and pleasant but a little damp, when we returned home we realised how musty our belongings had become.
The beach is lovely with quite good snorkelling, apparently the dive team are very good, although we did not use them, they seemed to be very busy.
The entertainment was good and variable.
On the whole we had a good holiday but would not return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank relaxLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We come to the Cozumel a couple time of year and to the Riviera Maya every summer...so we have been to lots of resorts and have never had a problem! One of the reasons we keep coming back to Mexico is because the people are so friendly, the price is right and it's so beautiful. We chose this resort because of the beach and that was the one great thing about this resort. I don't find my self a food snob by any means...I love so much about the buffets, but only at this resort! The food was horrible! The best thing I could find about the breakfast buffet was the fresh omelet but the lady that made them every morning was so rude that I stopped getting those! Which brings me to how unfriendly the staff is here! From the people who check you in, the front desk people, the waiters the bartenders and the maids too ...I even tried tipping! The nightly entertainment is horrible too! And be prepared that if you do need internet it's 82.00 for the week and it does not work 99% of the time. We read about the time share people but had no idea! Once they realize you are not going to buy they treat you like crap! But until then be prepared to be hounded! I could go on and on ....just please read some reviews and don't just ignore them like I did!!

Room Tip: Building 18 or 19 was a great location. Eat out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tiffanyrdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Tiffanyrdavis,

We appreciate your review and feedback of your recent stays with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will keep your comments and suggestions for service and amenities in mind as we look towards future improvements to our guests' experience.

We are sorry to hear the lack of service you experienced during your stay and we will use your comments and suggestions in mind as we constantly strive to improve our guests' satisfaction. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Cozumel so that we may show you the quality service and accommodations you expect and deserve from our brand.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again should you return to Mexico in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place is so well reviewed, I won't go into tons of details...read this review in conjunction with others.

A/C We found it worked fine, but we visited during a cooler time.

Food
If you are a foodie, this place is inadequate for you and you will hate it.
If you just see food as a way to fill the tummy so you can do fun stuff, you will love it.
My wife and I are somewhere in the middle. The food was fine, but nothing to write home about.

The Beach and grounds
Beautiful. We loved our stay. We are used to Disney, and it is true there is some walking....nothing compared to walking when it comes to Disney. I didn't think any distance was too far.

Royal Club?
Worth every penny. Private pool, private restaurant where we ate breakfast and they will serve you anything. Internet, no line for checking in. Concierge who books your reservations....worth every penny.

Time Share folks...
If you are bad at handling conflict and can't say no.... they are going to smell that right away and chase you around the resort and ruin your vacation. They are voracious.

If you are good at conflict and can say no politely but firmly... they will chase you once, and know to steer clear of you. Say no and walk confidently. Any time anyone offers anything that sounds like either a complimentary tour of the property, or any sort of deal on an excursion... it is a time share spiel.... run. For the love of pete, don't fall for the let me take you out to eat. You are going to end up at the regular buffet, looking trapped and miserable. We saw 20 couples in this situation.... and it will take hours.

Drinks
We had no problems. Watch out for the yellow-birds. The first three taste like kool-aid, the fourth hits you like a ton of bricks.

We had a good vacation despite a few days of rain. We wouldn't return but because we want to see something other than Cozumel, not cause of the hotel.

Room Tip: Royal Club, building 20, second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, and the facilities (rooms included) are solid as well, but the other aspects of the stay weren't too impressive.

Our room was great - spacious, well-decorated, small balcony and large bathroom with full shower and separate tub. The two pool areas are well-designed and well-maintained. The beach has plenty of chairs and shade, and the roped-off swimming area is large. Overall we were pleased with the setup. Definitely feels like you're in the middle of the jungle at times, but with all of the amenities you'd expect at a resort.

The food at the buffet was terrible. I understand that all-inclusive resort food is never going to be first class, but it was a struggle to find much beyond the cereal that was edible. The food at the specialty restaurant we tried (Mediterranean) was better, but you aren't allowed to eat at the specialty places every night unless you are a vacation club member. And certain meals have to be taken at the buffet. We went off resort for a significant portion of our meals.

The customer service wasn't too impressive either. There would be long stretches with nobody at the front desk. They ran out of umbrellas (during the rainy season...when the resort probably wasn't half full). One night we went to play pool and have drinks in the "club." The bartender left for long stretches of time (20-30 minutes!), more than once, and we had no way to get drinks short of going behind the bar ourselves. On the day we left, the couple we were traveling with called the busboy to help with the luggage and were assured he'd be there in 10 minutes. He never came. It was raining and the rooms are a fair walk from the lobby. Our phone wouldn't connect to any of the hotel services, so I eventually tracked down the busboy and got him to come to our room, after the other couple had given up and walked. Though they weren't all negative either, about the only real positive experience we had with staff was the with the day gate guard, who was always smiling and courteous. I think it was because he remembered us from all the times we left the resort.

We were there in October - maybe service improves when they hit peak season. But I probably won't be back to find out.

Room Tip: Rooms are split into separate buildings. Higher numbers are closer to the beach. Try to request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AWeber12207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights last week. We had 14 in our group and we all had a great time. The food was good and our room was always clean and fresh. A great bonus was the lovely towel animal on our bed everyday! The beach at the resort is great and snorkeling was the best I have done. We snorkeled with Palancar Divers. For buffets, It was fresh and they really try to mix it up. The entertainment was really good especially the poolside staff. The timeshare staff did try to talk to us everyday but were nice when we told them no. Great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 12. Our housekeeper was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlesheb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 51 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,713 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
5.7 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#8 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Property: Occidental Cozumel
Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Barcelo and Jetsetter so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing