We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Vacation!”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Bowling Green
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Vacation!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at the Occidental Grand. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. There were the usual "barkers" at the airport and we would have saved an hour if we had just ignored the "official tourist information" people. At the hotel, were were greeted by their Vacation Club staff who tried to sell on their vacation club. Overall, the resort was unique in its location in a mangrove. It was spread out but soon we enjoyed the walks to the dining areas, pools, and beach. We loved walking boardwalk at night and listening to the natural orchestra! There was a very lovable hotel cat who wandered around. The food was good but you had to wear long pants, which I didn't bring, to eat at the specialty restaurants; however, you could order off their menu in the main dining room. Our room was large and well kept; however, the airconditioner roared all the time but the room was still humid. The dining room was not airconditioned and hot. I got a massage in the spa and it was wonderful. My son earned PADI certification and I made several dives. Their dive operation was great due to the dive masters. We traveled to the east side of the island and the beaches were beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,729
    1,501
    723
    376
    237
See reviews for
1,208
1,841
84
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ore City, Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We went to Cozumel expecting a beautiful island, but were disappointed, gorgeous water but scrubby underbrush around the island. We stayed at the Occidental Grand, and were also disappointed. When we got out of the van, our luggage was set on the ground and we were told they would be taken to our room, we were escorted into the reception area thinking we were talking to hotel staff which turned out to be "time share" salesman dressed in nice uniforms with Occidental name tags. We were told we did not need to return to our transport van to arrange pick up which we had already paid for when booking our trip. This caused a HUGE problem later (We were supposed to get a voucher from him for return transport) After having to deal with a very pushy " time share" salesman insuring us that he could arrange "great deals" for expensive excursions we then went to look for our luggage which was still sitting on the sidewalk unattended. We lugged our luggage over to a counter and waited for quite some time to be acknowledged and checked in. We were celebrating our 16th anniversary and my husband had paid extra for the romance package which included the choc covered strawberries, a bottle of champagne and a massage (which we never got) and were disappointed to find none of these things. After complaining to the customer service desk for four days we finally got our champagne and mushy strawberries on our last night. The room was nice and clean and pretty,the bed was very hard and our balcony consisted of a small concrete area outside with 2 cheap flimsy plastic chairs. The shower had plenty of hot water at all times. Our room was plenty cool but our fridge was less than cold. The safe worked. The grounds where well kept, except for a shallow (concrete water area????)which was cloudy and had quite a bit of iguana droppings due to the few large animals who stayed there at all times. The staff was less than helpful. I requested that our fridge be stocked with just Diet Coke and water, no need for orange soda or beer, there were 2 of them. I was told that they didn't have diet coke but yet all of the bars had diet coke?? The bars had long lines and the staff did not serve the guests. We even tried giving large tips which still didn't get us very good service. Dining consisted of either buffet food or burgers. The buffet seemed to use left overs from the previous day in a different way. We were allowed to dine at one of the two restaurants which was very good , the service was great. The beach area had lounge chair after lounge chair, three rows deep. The ocean view was obstructed by a swimming area border surrounded by big orange floats, beyond that was a fleet of boats anchored at all times. The most wonderful thing we discovered in Cozumel was our first diving experience. We went on an uncertified dive trip with Diving With Martin's service. Amazing!!!!! The reef was like a different world!!! This excursion saved our trip. We have to save all year to be able to celebrate our anniversary each year, we were so excited but this was a Huge waist of money. Except the dive!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela S, Social Media at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Tracy D

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apology for the inconvenience you may suffered during your recent stay with us. Your feedback has been directed to each manager department and they are taking the necessary measures. Our main goals are the satisfaction for our guests.

Once again thank you for your review and hopefully give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at OCG- we loved the grounds and the proximity to diving. I think the staff was gracious and hard-working. My biggest complaint was the food and the AC. Our unit ran constantly and it never really cooled enough. The food was somewhat repetitive. Overall- I can't complain too much- our trip was wonderful - Cozumel is a beautiful island and the diving is superb!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel and staff were great. However, the a/c was out in the main dining room where you eat breakfast and dinner.......needless to say - it was almost unbearable. :| I felt sorry for the staff working because it was so hot.

Believe the other reviews when they say there is a problem with mosquitos. Bring lots of off and make sure and apply it heavily when going to breakfast and dinner.

The food and the drinks were good. Luis at the pool bar makes a mean drink and is always cheerful. We are members, so we are able to use the First Club facilities. Luis was funny and so paitient. (yes - a different Luis).. :)

The grounds were immaculate, food great....we would have given it 5 stars - if there would have been air! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greene_mTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapids, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location for Divers being so close to the best scuba diving area. The rooms are large with stocked refrigerate, is a nice amenity when you don't want to leave the room. The staff is friendly, and helpful. Food and selection is wonderful. The facility has all you could want including quiet areas. The animals (reptiles) are also entertaining that roam freely on the grounds. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A great place to visit! Cozumel was beautiful and we would defiantely go back to the Grand Occidental. We have been to aruba twice, the DR twice, and Playa del Carmen. We would reccommend Cozumel to anyone looking for a low key beach vaca! While there is not as much to do as far as sight seeing, this leaves more time to sit on the beach or by the pool with a margarita... Also, I felt much safer traveling here then having to be bused through villages to get to your resort in other places we have been. Diving was fantastic at Dive Palancar even for novices like us... Just beware of the "time share" guys - don't get roped in, it's not worth it and its very high pressure, not just at the resort, but be careful at the airport also. They tried to tell us the beach where we were staying was washed away and we had to rent a car to get to the beach... kinda sleezy. If you do go outside the resort for anything, the bar at the end of the road before it turns had the most amazing views and great margaritas... and we did one of the tequila tours (yes, I do love tequila!) which was ok... never knew there was that many flavors of tequila, but kind of a tourist trap.

Room Tip: no elevators, so we had to do 3 flights of stairs to our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank JLobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela S, Social Media at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear JLobel

Thank you very much for your time to write your review in TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay with us. Our main goal is the complete satisfaction for our guest. Please fell free to contact us at any time to make your reservation.

We look forward to host you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waskom, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the most gorgeous place on earth! ALL the people who work at Occidental Grand are very nice, helpful and go out of their way to please you! We felt as though we were catered to the entire trip. We were there for 7 wonderful days! Going back in July of 2014! See you all again then!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Sabra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4,846 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,132 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Property: Occidental Cozumel
Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing