We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Occidental Grand Sept 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Occidental Grand Sept 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

David and Nancy took a lovely trip to the Occidental Grand, Cozumel Mexico. It was a great week of scuba diving and just relaxing. It was another fantastic trip thanks to the OG and it's staff. Although, occupancy at the resort was down to 25% capacity, the resort and it's staff treated us (and everyone else) as if we were the only guest that mattered.

Except for a couple of quick moving storms that came through, the weather was gorgeous! The temperature was in the upper 80's during the week, the water was 82 degrees at 65 feet below sea level and the view of the sunsets were heavenly to watch every night while we dined at the beach restaurant. We have been to the OG several times and will continue to return to the OG, as we believe it is the best resort on the island!! We enjoy the OG because the restaurant staff, the dive shop (Dive Palancar) personnel, and even the resort management remember us and treat us as if we were family. Plus, most of the dive sites are at the south end of the island. So why spend 30 to 45 minutes every morning traveling by boat to go diving when the OG is right in front of the sites!? During the week we noticed the coral was very much alive (lots and lots of juvenile fish) and we saw NO lion fish all week!

I would also point out the water pressure in the shower is fantastic, bottled water in the rooms are endless, (as is the canned soda and beer) the food at the beach club was fantastic and the staff earned their 4.5 star rating everyday. We did not partake in the night life this trip so I can not address that, But is was very entertaining on our previous trips. Even tho several building were under repair (slow season) we did not hear any noise.
The food was 4.5 stars everyday. Nobody should go home hungry!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhodesaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    1,436
    696
    365
    226
See reviews for
1,116
1,742
79
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. Off season means small crowds and relaxing atmosphere. The service was top notch as always. The First Club rooms are renovated and beautiful with all the amenities expected. The food was excellent, well prepared and served with style. The grounds are always meticulously cared for and beautiful. The island was fantastic as always too. We used the eastern beaches and were impressed with the sugar sand and solitude. Found several new places to eat and socialize, The Blue Angel, Money Bar ans Case Mission. while at the Grand make sure to say hello to Miguel, the First Club Manager, allow Esteban to pamper you at dinner and you have to try one of Santos' Mojitos at the beach bar. We will be back again and again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeknows263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Grand Cozumel in September, which is in the slow season. There were not many people there and we had the pool or beach mostly to ourselves most of the time. Since there were not many people most of the restraunts were not open and did not have the buffet meals but we did not go hungry. The food was good but the staff were excellent in catering to us. The grounds/landscape were unbelieveably beautiful. The rooms were clean and spacious. We went to the time-share sales pitch but we did not end up buying at this time. Upon checking in we were greeted with champane and had champane with chocolate covered strawberries in our room. I also received a massage while I was there. This vacation was the best ever because of the service and friendly staff. I will defiently go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

we stayed at the grand cozumel in january, we went to hear the time share pitch and ended up buying! but aside from that the place is amazing! there is great snorkling right in front of the hotel. the grounds are sent up perfect so that you can be loud and have lots of fun on the beach and at the pool which is next to the beach and then you cross a marsh area which is full of turtles to the rooms which are surrounded by jungle. so peacful! yes this place is all inclusive! the breakfast food is really good, we hit the dinner buffet once and it was good, there is a late night pizza place in the beach resturant that was awsome! we also ate at the italian resturant on site and that was very nice! the lunch buffet is good, just that its held at the beach resturant so seating fills up so fast, so if you have kids be there when it first starts to open :) everyone that works at the resort is great! they are all so very nice and pleasent and very helpful. but do remember that your a ways out of town which is why his place is so peacful, if you plan on going into town alot either rent a car or bring extra money to pay for taxis. do get out and see the island, rent dune buggys, take a snorkle trip, go see the ruins on the island, its a beautiful place but very small, you can drive around it in a few hours. also the hotel is in the jungle so be ready to see lots of iguanas and the resident wild boars!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahshoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The grounds at the resort are more beautiful than any place we have ever stayed. Our room was cleaned everyday. The people at the resort are the most hard working people I have ever seen. The staff across the board were sweet and friendly. They brought us drinks and chocolate covered strawberries as a surprise for our anniversary one night. The temperature of the pools and cleanliness were outstanding. Just walking by them they begged to be jumped into. The beach area was nice, clean, and you could take nice walks for quite aways on the beach. The a/c had to be fixed but they came right away and took care of it. The food was good but would have liked more vegetarian selections. Over all we had a wonderful time

Room Tip: We took a stack of dollar bills with us on the trip and took them with us to dinner and the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oneofsevensisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 8 lovely days at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. It was a fantastic experience. Our room was spacious, and the AC worked great. Our room was cleaned daily, and our fridge was stocked with plenty of water every day. We were there during the off season, so there weren't any crowds to contend with, or lounge chairs to fight for. The staff was courteous, and kind. Only 2 of the resturants were open because of the low occupancy. The food was good, and there was a good variety to choose from. The buffet was not open, so everything was made to order. We did not participate in the Royal Club, but we felt like we were treated just as well. The grounds are beautiful. Iguanas, birds, and even a crocodile in the mangrove. It was amazing, but remember your bug spray. The mosiquitos will get you. The view from the Beach Club cannot be beat, especially at sunset. We used Dive Palancar for our dive adventures, they are located right on site. They were amazing. We were in the water and ready to dive within 10-15 minutes of leaving the dock. The staff at Dive Palancar was very helpful also. My stay at the Occidental Grand exceeded my expectations, and I will be a returning guest. It was my favorite vacation so far.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

As Occidental members, we had a First Club, third floor room with a balcony among the trees with iguanas on the branches 6 feet from our chairs! The grounds are very well maintaned, lush, and beautiful. It was like being in a private resort in the jungle..due to low season and very few guests! The food was very good in all restaurants and the service staff was outstanding and friendly. This was a wonderful All-Inclusive resort! away from the hussle/bussle of town. This is an expansive resort and required lots of walking! Being scuba divers, we appreciated having Dive Palancar on the property. They had a great staff and ran a smooth dive operation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoyousDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#23 of 51 in Cozumel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,708 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
5.7 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#8 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Property: Occidental Cozumel
Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing