We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at OGX”
Review of Occidental Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Occidental Cozumel
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at OGX”
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from our honeymoon at OGC and we really enjoyed the resort. We got married at Occ Xcaret and stayed there for a week before taking the ferry over to Cozumel. We stayed at the Royal Club in both resorts so we feel we can make a fair comparison. Upon arrival, we got champagne and chocolate strawberries and the bed was covered in flowers. It was a fun way to start a honeymoon.
The beach at OGC is beautiful and the diving and snorkelling is phenomenal, definitely a must do. The dive centre was very efficient and they regularly go out at least 4 times a day with a variety of depths. The prices were also fantastic and the boats were right at the dock at the resort which saved tons of time.
The grounds are very clean and staff was constantly cleaning and repairing. All staff was friendly and helpful. The food at royal club was the best in the resort as we tried all of the ala carte restaurants. Unfortunately, there was no pool service for either food or drink in royal club as there is at Xcaret which was disappointing. The mango daiquiris at the beach bar were fantastic and Eduardo in the first club wowed us every nite with his bar tending prowess
We found there to be issues with the currency when we arrived. Having come from the mainland, we brought pesos but we were unable to get change in order to give tips (!!!) and we had to get US dollars.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RealCdnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,728
    1,501
    723
    376
    237
See reviews for
1,208
1,840
84
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at the Occidental in June 2012 and had a wonderful trip. This was our second stay at the club since we especially enjoy snorkeling off the beach. We enjoyed the beach and saw tons of fish and even a stingray snorkeling right by the hotel as well as a snorkeling excursion run by the scuba hut affiliated with the hotel. Best service we've had at an all inclusive, especially at the a la carte restaurant Los Olivos and at the Royal Club. Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The negative reviews make no sense to us, since we've returned to the OGC over 15 times, since its opening. This is our "go back to" place. 1. SERVICE: it's excellent. Smiles everywhere, responses may be a little slow by hasty American standards, but you're in Mexico. My suggestion: carry tons of $1 bills with you, and tip, tip, tip. It's very appreciated and an inexpensive way to enjoy great service. $1 for a tray full of drinks is cheap. 2. BUGS: you're in the tropics. Sometimes there are tons of mesquitos, etc., other times none. Take bug spray (Deepwoods OFF is the best) and bathe in it, especially before you go out in the late afternoon. 3. CLEANLINESS: are you kidding? Have you seen the army of maids, pathway sweepers, pool cleaners, landscape workers? This place is pristine, and really beautiful. 4. FOOD: is above the standards of every other all-inclusive. Breakfast and lunch buffets will suit everyone, no matter how picky. Dinner buffet is okay, and the restaurants (by reservation) are pretty darn good. Again, don't forget to tip-- they'll remember you the next day! 5. ENTERTAINMENT: we don't partake, but looks like it's wildly enjoyable. 6. TIME SHARE HAWKERS (and "service" hawkers): We just say no, as soon as we get there. They don't waste their valuable time working on us because they know we're not interested. 7. ROOMS: are wonderful, spacious, clean. Beds are very comfortable. A/C works most of the time; WiFi, phone service, cable, etc. are iffy, but you're in Mexico, not Manhattan, so relax! 8. POOLS/ BEACH: are well kept, friendly staff on board. Don't expect the bars to open until they say so. Again, you're in Mexico. 9. SCUBA: the best reason to stay at the OGC. Short boat rides to the best reefs, best staff, great boats. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a little more, stay in the Royal Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sjcockburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt County
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our first time at an all inclusive resort. The staff are truly wonderful. The food is good and so are the drinks. The ala carte restaurants are a nice way to change things up. We went diving, sat by the ocean, went sight seeing and enjoyed the beautiful resort.

There were only a few things that could have been better.

I tried changing cash to peso's and they never had any peso's? However, they always had peso's when people wanted to change travelers checks. Anytime you paid cash for anything, they took a photo copy of your passport.

We had a water leak, due to heavy rains at night. It took us a bit to get changed to a different room. Which I understand availability might play a role. However, I think the leak had been there for a while - and yet they were still putting people in the room. Everything was wet most of the time. The bedding and blankets felt wet. When we finally got moved, it was much dryer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Divinggoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I relied on reviews from this very website and I don't understand why people are calling this a great place. My husband and I stayed at the property for three nights - 6/29 - 7/2. Our room was on the second floor of building # 19 and it had a horrible, musty, mildew smell going on. The smell was so bad it permeated the sheets and pillows. We've been to two other all-inclusives before and the food at this resort did not meet our expectations. Very few choices and very plain. For example, they had spaghetti, lasagna, stews and baked chicken. None of it even looked appetizing much less tasted good. We ate at the specialty restaurant one night, Sonora I think, and it was horrible. Also, besides the pool or beach, there's nothing to do at this resort. No nightly entertainment, no nearby shopping/tourist stuff, nada. We like resorts with large patios or sitting areas facing the beach. The only patio was around the main restaurant and it looked out into the jungle. It's also a 10 minute ride to town, so if you like to get out and walk, there's no where to go other than down the beach.

The resort is clean, the rooms are clean and the property is very peaceful in the jungle. They had plenty of top-shelf alcohol and plenty of staff to meet your requests. We just couldn't get past the bad food and stanky room. We had to wash our clothes twice to get the smell out after returning home. YUK!

Room Tip: It seems very quiet all over the resort, but none of the rooms have an ocean view. You're in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamile C, Assistance Manager at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Jenny R,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Thank you for your feedback regarding your room. Since we are in a tropical area, the humidity is high. We try to prevent this from affecting our rooms by using dehumidifiers in each room. We also change the linens daily. I will share your comments with our housekeeping team and we will continue to explore creative solutions to this issue.
We truly value your comments about the food. I will personally discuss this with the executive chef, who is committed to constantly improving the culinary offerings at the resort. Please know that in addition to Sonora Grill, we have the following restaurants, which are quite popular with guests: the Mediterranean restaurant, a Mexican grill, a pizza parlor and the Beach Club restaurant. .
I am surprised to read your comments about the entertainment at the resort. We offer daily activities, such as Spanish lessons, cooking lessons, dancing lessons, pool and beach volleyball and ping pong. During the evening we provide entertainment for all ages, such as a fire show, Caribbean show, Mexican show, and a Casino Night. For our adult guests, the disco is open with bar service from 7:30 pm to 1:30 am. We also show movies between 7 and 8:30 pm, and offer karaoke nights, and other fun nightly activities, including Black Jack on Saturdays in the lobby bar.
Again thank you very much for your valuable review and we hope you give us the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've been to this hotel with my daughter and my parents from June 23rd to 30th. Everybody have been enchanted by this place. Everything, from room, food, beach, pools, activities, services and staff was wonderful.

The room was very large with enough space for our group of 4 people. The bathroom was spacious. It was also quiet because the fan of air conditionner was covering all the noise. So we were very comfortable in the room. The beds are firm but comfortables (i'm used to a softer bed but anyway I slept very well).

About the food, even if I read some bad critics here, to my opinion it was more than ok. Most of the meals were very good at the buffet. We have also appreciated a lot the Sonora's mexican grill for the ambiance, the food and the staff. About the Olivos, we less appreciated it because of the non smiling staff and cold atmosphere. The food was just ok. We were supposed to go twice at this restaurant but we cancelled the second date.

About the beach, we found the road to get there interesting. Me and my daughter had a lot of fun with all the animals and insects we've seen there (iguanas, turtles, lezards, frogs, butterflies, etc.). The beach in itself was fusy the first days because of the thunderstorms during previous days. After the water becames clear even if it was not as clear as it is in Varadero per example because of it's more windy in the area. It was a beautiful beach and I've made snorkel diving few times directly from the beach and I have very appreciated to have this opportunity.

About the staff and animations, everybody was very nice and smiling. Also very effective. My daughter really liked activitied with Abby (Abbie??) around the pool. Strangely I heard a couple with no kids complained about the lack of activities for kid. That's strange! Anyhow, my daughter had a lot of fun even if there was some period of time with no activities. She was very happy to swim in the two pools and it the sea. We were in water during almost all the days. We observed and feeded beautiful fishes and we searched for corals and seashells just for fun.

The site was magnificient, very well maintained with luxurious vegetation.

Finally, I would definitely go back at this place anytime. We've had perfect vacations. I noticed that most of the people who complained during our stay were very picky and very having a very negative attitude. I think some people will always find a reason to complain. I was there to relax and have fun. I received more than what I asked for.

Thanks to everybody in Occidental Grand Cozumel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MartineB327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

set amongst lush vegetation and wildlife with golden beaches and stunning dive sites this is a great hotel to chill and escape the rat race.
the dive operation is busy but well managed and if ya buy a package, cheap too.
the only downside was although the restaurant had theme nights and a vast variety of food it was only the hotter side of warm.... but no probs really.
the rooms are great and spacious, grounds well maintained and as always in Mexico, real friendly staff.
would i go back ? hell yeah !!!!

Room Tip: blocks 10 and 11 are close to the evening entertainment so if ya want an early night blocks 15 and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank longlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
6.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Royal Level at Occidental Cozumel
0.4 mi away
Allegro Cozumel
Allegro Cozumel
#24 of 52 in Cozumel
4,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 52 in Cozumel
4,844 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 52 in Cozumel
2,130 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cozumel

Property: Occidental Cozumel
Address: Km 16.6 Zona Hotelera Sur | Colonia El Cedral San Francisco Palancar, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Cozumel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the Caribbean’s most famous reef system could match the beauty and splendor of the Occidental Grand Cozumel, which is exactly why the two exist side-by-side. Located on Cozumel’s gorgeous San Francisco beach, just above the bottomless blue paradise of the Palancar Reef system, you’ll find an authentic-style state that delivers all the luxuries of a private oceanside hacienda. Gourmet dining, bright and airy rooms, nightly music and entertainment, daily sports and beach activities and an on-site spa and salon make the Occidental grand Cozumel the jewel of any Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Occidental Grand Hotel Cozumel
Grand Cozumel
Grand Occidental Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing