We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent destination.”
Review of Villas Las Anclas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villas Las Anclas
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent destination.”
Reviewed September 27, 2008

We picked Villa Las Anclas based on recommendations from this site and we are really happy we did so. The hotel is a hidden gem in the heart of Cozumel.

Our two story Mexican style villa was neat, comfortable and stylish. The small kitchen was well equipped and we had unlimited supply of fresh bottled water. The rooms were serviced daily and each time we found a new towel animal on our bed. The bathroom looked like it was recently remodeled and the water pressure was very good (a luxury not many Mexican hotels have).

What we liked best about Villa Las Anclas is the personal service we were given from the owners, Pedro and Eyal. They were always eager to give us an advice or a recommendation and were very attentive to all of our needs.
We will defiantly be staying there again on our next visit.

  • Liked — Personal Service
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank matero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    32
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
220
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
60564
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Great jumping off place with plenty of space. We received excellent advice from the owners and they treated us almost as family. I would almost consider it cruise ship like service, we even had a different towel animal on our bed every day. I definitely would recommend this place to anyone that is looking to immerse themselves in Cozumel life!

  • Liked — Being treated like family
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bstenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Villa Las Anclas:

I booked this trip based on the reviews I read Trip Advisor. This was the first time that I ever travelled based solely on what I've read on this site.

I have to say, the reveiws on this place are accurate. This place is an oasis.

Pedro and Eyal are completely amazing. The reviews all mentioned them and they definitely held up to all expectations. You are actually treated like family here.

There is no door knob on Pedro's house. He wants you to walk in and call for him. He is 100% accomodating. One time, I caught him in the middle of shaving. He came out with shaving cream on his face to recommend a good restaurant for the evening.

We ended up running into Pedro and Eyal at a restaurant and I overheard Eyal ask for a table for six. (We were a group of 4) We did not end up eating with them as we did not want to disturb their evening...but again, I was amazed with the hospitality.

Pedro took care of booking our dives with Blue Angel Dive Shop. He made the phone call and set them up which was a good time saver for us. The dive shop was very accomodating. The boats were small (groups of 6 to 8) and fast. Even at the dive shop, they did not ask us to pay until we had completed our two days of diving. If I'm not mistaken, Pedro also owns Blue Angel. It is apparent that they are as well managed as Villa Las Anclas.

The rooms were very large. You have all the amenities. (Shampoo, conditioner, soap, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator, cups, plates, silverware, COLD A/C).
It is not a luxury condo, but it is clean (how much luxury is there on Cozumel, anyway?).
The grounds are gated and you feel very safe. The sitting area outside the condos is beautiful. Many tropical plants surround a couple of comfortable sitting areas with plenty of shade.

V.L.A. is one block from the touristy/ocean front and two blocks from the town center with all the shopping you could need.

I highly recommend this place. My first experience in completly trusting Trip Advisor on accomodations was a complete success!

  • Liked — Location, Room size, Pedro/Eyal,
  • Disliked — It's not on the ocean...hey, you can't have everything!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

You cannot tell from the outside of the buidling what a gem this place is. As soon as the owner let us in, we discovered beautiful gardens and a shared space with tables and chairs and a mural on the wall. Each room is two stories, decorated modernly. The glass windows are so thinck you can't hear a thing when inside and the a/c works like a charm! We are not the big-resort types, so this worked perfectly for us. You can rent a car and park next door for five bucks and really see the island on your own schedule. We will be back with our friends!

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsfayetteville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We recently returned from a week in beautiful Cozumel, Mexico. The stay was everything we wanted it to be; romantic, adventurous and emersed in the culture. On a friend's recommendation we stayed at a lovely place called Villas Las Anclas. Our friend directed us to tripadvisor where we read Villas Las Anclas "is a hidden treasure'. It is indeed quaint, beautiful, clean, affordable and private. Our hosts Pedro and Eyal made our stay even better. From a friendly conversation in the patio under the banana trees and stunning tropical plants to advise on local reataurants and how soon we needed to get to the airport so as not to miss our plane, they made us feel at home. The two story suite was everything we were looking for and so much more. A well hidden treasure to say the least!

  • Liked — Its beauty, privacy and cleanliness
  • Disliked — bathroom was a bit small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank maribelCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Villa Las Anclas is an amazing place to stay. When we arrived, Pedro and Eyal met with us to tell us about restaurants and diving.

To reserve the room, you have to send them $100 by PayPal. Then pay them the remaining in cash when you arrive.

Pedro also owns the Blue Angel dive shop, so he gave us a ride every morning to the dive shop. It is very convenient to dive with their diveshop, since you can hitch a ride there in the morning. Blue Angel diveshop was terrific. The margaritas at the bar/restaurant above the diveshop were great. And they have excellent food there too. Rental scuba equipment was very high quality and well maintained.

Divemasters were great. They use small fast boats, so they get to the divesite quickly and with only 6-8 divers per boat.

The hotel rooms were clean and modern. Excellent air conditioning. Rooms have microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot and coffee, kitchen, iron, TV with cable and some movies in English.

For good cheap food, eat at the restaurant (really a house whose owner serves food) across the street from the hotel. For medium price, eat at the excellent Le Chef down the street from the hotel. And you can spend more and get an outstanding meal at La Veranda.

Pedro and Eyal seem to know everything about Cozumel, and they love to help make your stay great--we felt like we were staying with relatives! We will definitely be going back and staying at Villa Las Anclas.

  • Liked — Friendly owner.
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was great.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NewJerseyDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
621 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This is a great property very close to the square in Cozumel. Although it takes a time or two up the spiral staircase to get used to the climb, it is like home away from home. There is no pool but a great garden courtyard area for morning coffee. Even though the property is very close to town it is quiet. The air conditioning works great and the kitchenette is a nice feature for those leftovers from dinner. There is no phone in the room, that is a good thing,and the cable is basic, not a bad thing either. We were in number 5 and I would ask for a room other than 5. It sounded like the water mechanism was located on the roof of 5 and it ran on and off during the night. Also, hide the remote to the air conditioner when leaving during the day. The maids turn the unit way up and it takes until midnight to get it cooled off again. Be sure and eat at Guidos, Casa Denis, and the ice cream shop around the corner! There is a parking lot next to the hotel to park your car for a small fee. It is safe!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank cokerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#9 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Las Anclas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Las Anclas

Property: Villas Las Anclas
Address: South 5th Avenue 325, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Las Anclas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet small hotel complex with seven villa style suites, surrounded by a tropical garden with a private atmosphere. One block away from the ocean in the heart of Cozumel where you find restaurants, bars, main shopping areas and the pier to Playa del Carmen. The attention and suites are wonderful with everything you need. We are able to offer stay and dive packages with several local dive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas Las Anclas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Las Anclas Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Las Anclas
Las Anclas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing