We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Clean, Enjoyable, Quiet - A Perfect Choice”
Review of Villas Las Anclas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Las Anclas
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint, Clean, Enjoyable, Quiet - A Perfect Choice”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We decided to stay at Villa Las Anclas due to the great reviews on here. What a great place to stay while in Cozumel. The hotel is very pretty, quaint and quiet. The rooms are very nice and the upstairs sleeping accommodations separated from the main living area is a perfect setup. Karla is a fantastic property manager and we found Jim (co-owner) to be a very nice and personable guy. The hotel is in town - a short walk to the main square and a short walk to lots of great restaurants. If you're a diver then the hotel is perfect as there are outdoor areas to wash equipment and dry your gear. At night the patio and grill area is lit very nicely and the hotel has a very nice ambience.
We'd definitely choose to stay at Villa Las Anclas for all future Cozumel trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    32
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
222
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aquatime
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is our fifth trip to Cozumel in the last seven years and our first visit to the Villas Las Anclas. We had the most enjoyable stay over a 12 day diving vacation. Karla is an exceptional manager and Jim is a courteous and charming host. As a team they ensure their guest are confortable and they have many suggestions for restaurants and activities. The suites are clean and functional, and the pool and grounds are meticulously maintained. There is daily room cleaning and unlimited beach towel exchange. However, the best asset of this hotel has to be the location. It is walking distance to many local affordable and wonderful restaurants, grocery stores and the main plaza and duty free shopping. It is also a 5-minute walk to the ferry to Playa Del Carmen. There are a number of reputable dive shops within walking distance of the hotel on 5th avenue and one block east on 10th avenue. All of them are very competitive in their pricing and service offerings. Everything is so convenient it was a pleasure to be so well situated. The area is very safe and we often came back in the evenings after dinner and never felt any security issues. If you are looking for an alternative to the touristic all inclusive resort experience, try the Villas Las Anclas for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Yes another great stay at the best place in town. The rooms are just as good and the courtyard is just as pretty and relaxing as before and still the perfect place to while away an afternoon with a book and a rum and pineapple when the t-shirt shopping is all done. I took advantage of the new pool a couple of times too which is small but bigger than you think and twice as pretty.
We met lots of people who have been returning here for years just like us but as we will be back again soon that is not too surprising. Not everyone there is a diver but many are and the Tres Pelicanos dive shop next door is just perfect so check out the reviews for that too. As an added bonus Jim is selling home made sausages, just perfect for the bbq

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

My 13 year old son and I just stayed here for 4 nights / 5 days. Karla is the manager and does a great job from check-in to check-out - she is always providing great service by arranging scooter rentals, providing maps and directions for places to eat or buy groceries, ordering taxis, etc. The villas are clean and in good shape. They are 2 story with a queen size bed and bathroom upstairs with a circular staircase. The kitchenette, dining table, and den / living room are downstairs. There is an outdoor pool (small but nice for cooling off), outdoor shower, outdoor drying racks (eg swimsuits or scuba gear), a BBQ grill for use, and outdoor lounge chairs and sitting area. There is a electromagnetic gate for secure guest access after hours. The neighborhood is 2 walking blocks from the main seaside road - and IMO the perfect walking distance to shops, restaurants, traffic noise, etc. You are in the heart of the town but on a relatively quiet block. My son and I felt very safe walking around after dark. The excellent dive shop Tres Pelicanos (see separate review posted) is adjacent to the hotel - which was extremely convenient for us over our 6 wonderful dives with them. Even though the dive shop does turnkey service - it was helpful to be so close for registrations and ad hoc questions through multi day dives. The hotel is owned separately from the dive shop but they work as collaborative good neighbors - which benefits the customers IMO. In summary, the hotel and dive shop are genuinely interested in their customers being satisfied and even exceeding our expectations.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Our 9th year at Hotel Villas Las Anclas. This hotel is perfect for us --enter the gate and it feels like an oasis in the middle of the city -- a beautiful garden and retreat away from the street. The suites are like a little apartment with plenty of space, very clean, along with excellent and accommodating staff. The new owners, who have been here about 2 years now, have been steadily upgrading many things -- and it shows. There is privacy when you want it or companionship with other guests in the courtyard for late afternoon drinks or early morning coffee. Close to many shops and restaurants -- and within walking distance of grocery stores. There is a small kitchenette -- just enough for breakfast, lunch and snacks -- leave the bigger meals for going out to eat! Spacious enough for us and our adult son.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My two buddies and I stayed here the first week of March 2014 and we had a great time! The staff, along with the owner were very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the other guests as well thanks to the small common courtyard.

It's also a great location to explore San Miguel and the many resturants nearby.

We were there to dive and having the Tres Pelicanos dive operator next door was very handy for us.

The next time we're in Cozumel, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BitBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the VLA for 8 nights in late February on our first trip to Cozumel. We are relatively new divers in our 50s and were looking for a good hotel and a good dive shop with fair rates near the town. We got this with the VLA and its neighbor and tenant, Tres Pelicanos Dive Center. We debated on whether to stay near town or along the west shore and we didn’t want to rent a car for the whole week. We were within walking distance to the town and took advantage of the entertainment, shops, restaurants, and local markets. We just went next door on the morning of our dives. We did share a rental car one day with new friends from the hotel and toured the island.

VLA is a small hotel with only about 7 rooms. We liked this. Our room had a small kitchenette, with small fridge, micro, sink and dishes, and a living room on the first floor. The bedroom and bath up a circular staircase was quaint and the entire room was spacious and comfortable with good A/C. The hotel has a small courtyard in which the tenants hung out in the evenings and got to know each other. The common grill in the courtyard was great and we grilled locally-bought fish and chicken occasionally. The small pool was a nice place in the early afternoon to get sun and cool off. The daily maid service was nice with clean towels. The hotel is clean and kept up. The manager, Karla, was great and helped in anyway she could. The owner we spoke with, Jim, is a terrific guy.

We recommend the VLA. Many of its tenants are repeat customers who stay quite a while. It was nice to be able to talk with those who have experience on the island.

Brian H

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#9 of 52 in Cozumel
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
679 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Las Anclas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Las Anclas

Property: Villas Las Anclas
Address: South 5th Avenue 325, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Las Anclas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet small hotel complex with seven villa style suites, surrounded by a tropical garden with a private atmosphere. One block away from the ocean in the heart of Cozumel where you find restaurants, bars, main shopping areas and the pier to Playa del Carmen. The attention and suites are wonderful with everything you need. We are able to offer stay and dive packages with several local dive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villas Las Anclas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Las Anclas Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Las Anclas
Las Anclas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing