We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”
Review of Villas Las Anclas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas Las Anclas
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
warwickshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I just love it here. We have been here six times now and it is as close to a “second home” as a hotel is ever likely to get for us and the recent changeover of owners doesn't change that for me. The owners and all the staff are really helpful and talkative and the improvements they have made and plan to make are all in keeping with the general feel of the place anyway. The buzz in the new reception area for the hotel and the dive shop next door but connected is great and the free coffee in the morning is a nice new touch especially for those of us in a rush not that there is ever any need to rush on 'Mexican time'. The rooms are super large, the beds are comfortable and the courtyard is beautiful - a great place to sit whether you want sun or shade. I don't have a bad word to say about the place but I wouldn't would I or why would we all keep coming back.

Check out the photos they say everything really except perhaps location. Location is great not too near the front, not too far back, no taxis required and most important nowhere near the airport. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in walking distance. My favourite restaurants are Kondessa, Kinta and Del Sur though Antigua just a few doors down does a nice simple breakfast. My favourite drinking places are La Casa de Mojito (best Mojitos ever) and Wet Wendy's (great Daquiris for those who don't like Margaritas for which they are more popularly known) but best of all is probably the hotel courtyard where it is very easy with a fridge full of cold beer to while away the hours until happy hour when we break out the rum and pineapple. Its doesn't get better than that - just go, just not the last week in February, first week in March they're ours!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    32
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
222
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WarksUK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have stayed at Las Anclas several times now and the change of owners this year has not hurt it one bit. It was great a few years ago, and it is even better now.

The owners Doug and Jim have a great deal of pride in this hotel and have made some very worthwhile improvements to the rooms and reception area and keep it extremely clean and safe. A great courtyard makes it easy to mix with other guests but you can be as private as you want to be of course. All the staff are helpful and friendly and thankfully someone was there to meet us even though we arrived much later than anticipated having to catch the last ferry over. We just fell into bed that night and was delighted with the very comfortable new mattress.

The hoter is in a great location of course, just as good as everyone says it is as you can walk to a different restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day if you are minded to - well forget breakfast if you are diving of course but as you only have to go next door to the Tres Pelicanos diveshop there is no complaint there either. It is a really good pairing that works well for us.

We remembered to take a few days off diving this year so we could chill and even visit the other side of the island which we had not done for a while and we had a lot of fun. All in all another great holiday made better by the owners and staff at Villas Las Anclas and the other guests we met there.

We are happy to recommend it to everyone, may you enjoy it as much as we do.

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms none bad. rooms 2 - 5 best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtagdd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our 11th trip to Cozumel with 10 stays at Villas Las Anclas. Our time there keeps getting better with every visit. The new owners, Doug and Jim, with the help of the manager Carla, Ceasar the maintanence man/gardner, and Merci the maid, continues to provide the comfort and charm made famous by the previous owners. All of the staff are very friendly, always with a smile, and positive attitudes.

The new additions of a coffee island, barbeque patio, and upgraded WiFi connections were greatly appreciated. Their new office is beautiful and a friendly place to stop and say hi to the staff, take advantage of their growing library, or have Carla assist with reservations.

As usual, there is no bad room in the place. The central patio is a great place to gather with other guest. But when you enter your room, you are in a quiet, pleasant apartment away from the rest of the world.

This year, with Tres Pelicano Dive Shop next door, it made diving even easier. We would just wander next door and take the ride to the Calita and hop in the boat.

With a short walk in any direction there are great drinks and food abound.

As usual, we were sad to leave but anxious to return. We know we have found the BEST accommodations on the island. But that is no secret since they are #1!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaskagenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Waverly, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 days (not long enough), and we had a great time. The owners Jim and Doug were awesome and helpful. The hotel is convenient to good restaurants and Carla will call a cab for you or rent a car. Las Anclas is quiet and safe. Villas were clean and had comfy firm beds. Doug I'm sorry we didn't have proper goodbye...the cab came while you were helping new arrival. We met really nice people at villas all returning customers. We are now well rested but depressed about our departure. I just can't emphasize how great Carla was to us! Y'all got a good thing going! Love it! We will be back. R and M

Room Tip: All rooms great. Locked gate after about 5 or 6 in the evening. Restaurants nearby, Kondesa, Le Chef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatttle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We’ve been staying at Villa Las Anclas since 2001, but this past Feb. (2013) was the first time under the new ownership. VLA regulars will understand that the previous ownership was a tough act to follow, but I can safely report that the new owners, Doug and Jim, are succeeding admirably.

For returning customers, there is now fresh-brewed coffee available every morning and the previously unused space in front has now been transformed into a very attractive office, library, and gathering spot, complete with fresh paintings on the wall and a public washroom. The adjoining space in front is now occupied by Tres Pelicanos Dive Center, making this hotel/dive combination one of the most convenient on the island. If you need anything, Karla, the new office manager, is in the office during the day and, in her absence, either Doug or Jim are readily available. The Wifi connection has been greatly improved; no more dead spots. There is also a community barbecue which guests can use to cook their own food or put together a community pot-luck dinner.

For new customers, VLA has enjoyed a long-standing high rating on Trip Advisor for several reasons:

It is located 1-1/2 blocks from the main square and within easy walking distance to Mega (the large, very modern department store) and many excellent eating options. VLA guests rarely rent a car, unless it’s for one day just to drive around the island.

The “rooms” are actually small studio apartments: a kitchenette, dining table, built-in couches, and cable TV on the first floor; a queen-size bed, bathroom, and shower on the upper floor, accessible via a spiral staircase. There’s plenty of room to spread out or, if you can’t sleep, go downstairs and catch up on email.

In front of the rooms, there is a friendly courtyard for card games, cocktails, or just visiting with other guests. There is also a large drying rack in back for drying towels, swimsuits, or dive gear.

Book early as there are only 7 rooms and they have a rather large group of returning customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garyduse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

.The new owners have made a point of continuing the special atmosphere. They have even added a premium gas grill for guests [ no extra charge and can you say "shrimp on the barbe"?]. Another addition is the general manager, Carla, who is both charming and efficient. There's a gear rinsing area with great sun exposure for drying your wet suit.
I could go on about the pluses but others here have beat me to it.
Cozumel means great diving. For us it also means Villa Las Ancles.
Eleven great years.....and counting days to next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can't say enough positive words about Villas las Anclas. The location is wonderful, central to many 5 star restaurants and close to downtown. The new owners are revamping each Villa and the wi-fi is high speed and dependable. Each villa is sparkling clean and Doug goes out of his way to make you feel this is your are home. We can't wait to go back again The location is safe, quiet and walking distance to everything (even car rental to visit the electricity free side of the island.). Any questions please send me a message.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makeithappen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.6 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,038 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
4.4 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Las Anclas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Las Anclas

Property: Villas Las Anclas
Address: South 5th Avenue 325, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Las Anclas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet small hotel complex with seven villa style suites, surrounded by a tropical garden with a private atmosphere. One block away from the ocean in the heart of Cozumel where you find restaurants, bars, main shopping areas and the pier to Playa del Carmen. The attention and suites are wonderful with everything you need. We are able to offer stay and dive packages with several local dive shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Villas Las Anclas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Las Anclas Hotel Cozumel
Hotel Las Anclas
Las Anclas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing