We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Average Hotel, EVER!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Northeast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Average Hotel, EVER!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Plaza Cozumel in April of 2014 and overall enjoyed the stay. The hotel is perfectly situated in the plaza of San Miguel, it is convenient to everything, except the beaches.
Most of the previous posts depict the hotel perfectly; there is nothing bad I can say. I will only leave you with this thought: if you are looking for a great blue collar, friendly, clean place to lay your head at night, this is one of the best value hotels we have ever stayed at!!

Room Tip: Watch out for the rooms facing Wet Wendy's Bar, it gets rocking at night and is loud, I know I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    112
    33
    5
    0
See reviews for
50
89
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is located close to the ferry and a couple of blocks from the Plaza Grande in San Miguel - everything is within walking distance, shopping, food and several dive shops ready to take you on boat dives several times a day. with this hotel, you can't beat the price for what is offered.

The rooms are spacious allowing us to spread out with all our belongings, rooms are simple but have everything we need. Air conditioners worked perfectly with the coolest air allowing us to sleep comfortably throughout the night.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the rooftop pool is an outstanding bonus allowing for a panoramic view of the ocean and the City of San Miguel. Great photo opportunity during the day and at night.

The staff...., they are gracious and very helpful making our stay even more memorable. A free breakfast was included and it was delicious. Unlimited coffee, juice, fruit and several dishes prepared from a generous menu. The chef was great and so friendly and happy when you enjoyed his creations.

For my money and time, this will be my home when visiting Cozumel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mobayrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

this hotel is a good value . in downtown Cozumel. stayed for 10 days on a dive trip in may of 2014. There is not much of a view from the rooms but the roof top pool is a great place to lounge .The staff is supper ,the breakfasts were outstanding . would definitely go back.

Room Tip: loud when wet Wendy's has a bad but stops at 11pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnvtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Been there for 3 nights in May 2014.
The room was big and clean, the breakfast was great. There is a small pool on the roof with an amazing view.
The location is the best: one minute walking from the ferry, and 2 minutes from the main plaza of the island.
The lady at the reception wasn't very nice, and we also had some problems with the toilette in the room that wasn't fixed until we left.

Good value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Udibental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul/ Minneapolis
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was the nicest hotel of our entire trip. The room was very spacious. The hotel was very modern and the front desk staff was super friendly and helpful. We were about 2 blocks from the ferry gate. It was about a block away from the main square. There was so much to do and see that it didn't matter that we didn't have a car while we were here, we walked everywhere. The pool was very nice and it was really cool that it was on the roof of the building. There is an elevator, which is a plus. My daughter loved looking at the cruise ships in the harbor everyday from the rooftop.

The breakfast buffet was AMAZING!!! It was hot food, which is hard to find. We stayed here for 4 days and the breakfast choices changed everyday. The wait staff upstairs was great. I would stay here everytime that I came back to Cozumel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fohres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

The are at least half a dozen moderately priced hotels in the downtown area of San Miguel, which is the main city on the Island of Cozumel. This one however, has some attributes that puts it on top of the list of places to stay. Most of the downtown hotels are pretty basic, but in general, clean, with hot water and usually A/C and WiFi. This one has a couple of items that they do not push but makes them my choice, price includes breakfast and a nice sized rooftop pool, with a great view (it is half a block from the water) over the city pier towards Playa del Carmen. It is never crowded, in fact, I have never seen more than 4 people at a time at the pool. It is a short bock to the city square and there must be 20 restaurants within a two block radius from Hotel. Parking is limited, but you really don't need a car except for a trip south to the tourist beaches or the obligatory trip around the island and there are many options to do that without having to rent a car. One public beach within walking distance: Playa las Casitas & Love Cafe, directly across from the Navy barracks and near the airport road on Melgar. Until the Love Café opened was mostly a local’s hangout. It is a mix of rocky/coral shore and sand. The Love Café opened in September, 2011 and is great place for a sunset drink, food and their house band Red Eye. There are several nice statues and monuments along this area. It is very pretty at night and makes for great sunset photos. If you need snacks or beverages for the beach, across the street here is a convenience store called Sedena.

The current almost always runs South to North due to a re-circulating eddy. This is the opposite of the normal flow. A few hundred yards offshore, you will find large blocks of concrete from the rebuilt Puerta Maya pier that attracts large numbers of fish. The depths are about 10’ to the structures and 20’ to the seabed. You will find lots of fish here. Further out and no longer marked with floats, there are two sunken ships. There are two ships about 75’ apart and are on the same axis with each other. For safety, do not attempt this trip alone as you will be 1/3 of mile from shore. You should also consider taking a dive flag or dive sausage with you as there can be a lot of boat traffic.

The staff at the Hotel is very friendly and helpful. So, not a 5 star resort, but great downtown location, convenient to shopping, eating and drinking, good value and I recommend it. Neal

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NealHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great hotel in a very convenient zone (downtown) a block away from the boats departure and close to all the tourist services like car rental, diving and fishing trip services. Great if you are looking forward to getting to know the island of Cozumel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#21 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#23 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel B Cozumel
Hotel B Cozumel
#15 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Property: Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Address: Calle 2 norte entre Rafael E. Melgar y 5av | Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to our location, the Hotel Plaza Cozumel offers an excellent panoramic view of the Island and Cozumel's Sea Channel. Our location and facilities allow us to meet the needs of business men and tourists that visit us. The access of Hotel Plaza Cozumel is fast from any point of the island, because we are in the downtown commercial and tourist heart of Cozumel. Walk a few steps and visit the Cozumel Museum, the Main Square and Ferry Pier in front of us.If you are planning a fantastic vacation in Cozumel then our hotel is the perfect place to stay with friends or family. An experience beyond accommodation, make your stay unforgettable. Our spacious rooms allowing our guest ton enjoy the privacy and silence needed for a welcome rest. Walk into a warm and caring atmosphere in classical light and bright colors, where you will find the comfort that you deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing