We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booke this hotel because of the close proximity to the ferry terminal. We only had one night so wanted somewhere close to the terminal. For the price, it was a fantastic stay. Big rooms with two double beds, hot water, nice view and delicious buffet breakfast. All of the staff were friendly and we arrived early onto the island but the receptionist let us check in early, which was lovely. The hotel is close to great restaurants and shopping and the rooftop pool is a great way to relax. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovetravel098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

a sincere fast welcome, an adequate clean room, adequate air conditioning, a rooftop pool, clean towels, a free breakfast, great coffee, a safe safe, half a block from the town square and shopping, all for a very inexpensive price, and as close to the ferry as you can be, makes this little hotel a perfect place for a couple of nights in cozumel unless you plan to spend your time inside...only dislike and not a complaint was the rock hard double beds..they dont offer kings or queens and the beds are hard, but thats the worst..walking half a block to everything amkes it all worthwhile...definately stay again next year....

Room Tip: 305 was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dougthebarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

booked this stay last minute and was not disappointed with the hotel. The locaiton was perfect for my stay since I came over on the ferry from the mainland. a quick one block walk and I was at the hotel steps. Check-in and Check-out were both quick. While my room was no frills, it was spacious, looked out to the ferry pier, was clean and comfortable. Perfect for one night's stay. Since I was meeting friends for brunch, I did not try out the included breakfast. Beds were a bit on the hard side, but a little better than most I have slept on in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel July 21-28 2013. It is very clean and has very friendly staff. They provide a cooked breakfast each morning from 7AM to 11AM. There is a bakery in the hotel so you can get buns, pastries and water or pop there during the day. They will put a fridge in the room upon request. I had a double room which was air conditioned. Nice clean bathroom with a shower. It is a very convient location if you want to be in the downtown. It is only 1 1/2 blocks from the Playa del Carmen ferry dock and a short drive from the airport. There is free parking at the front of the hotel if you have a car but there are only a couple of spots available. There is also a very cheap parking lot across the street. They have one room that is 2 bedrooms with 2 doubles in one and a king in the other. Between there is a kitchen with frige, stove, sink and a table and chairs. This room would be great for a family. The excellent restraunt around the corner is Wet Wendy's. Nothing seedy about it. The name is to do with a Hungarian woman pirate. Their other one is the Thirsty Cougar also do with the same pirate's ship name.

Room Tip: I would suggest floor 1, 2 or 3 on the (front) South side of the hotel. Floor 1 on the back section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlockwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Booked last minute and 45 minute trip on ferry from Playa Del Carmen. It just 1 block walk from the ferry terminal. Very friendly staff. Hardly anyone staying at hotel.
Rooftop Pool was great, with views. Room clean and large. No fan just A/C.
Breakfast OK. Great value A$55 with breakfast. 4 minutes by taxi to airport.
Look no further.
Victoria Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week in June. My AC worked, free wi-fi in the room, close to my dive shop and restaurants, free breakfast, the bed was firm, and room was clean. Not sure what else you'd want in a hotel.

I happened to be here the week the pool was down for cleaning and maintenance, so that was a bit disappointing, but nothing you can do about it. All in all, a good stay,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dngrcnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPC123, Director Comercial at Hotel Plaza Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su preferencia será un placer poderlo servir en otra ocasión.
Y una sincera disculpa que durante su estancia no este en servicio nuestra alberca ya que para mantener nuestras calidad de servicios damos periódicamente mantenimiento preventivo a nuestras instalaciones. Y de la misma manera muchas gracias por compartir sus comentarios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with extremly clean rooms, comfortable beds and a brilliant breakfast buffet. Staff is very helpfull and for those who enjoy it there is a pool on the roof. Rooms do have airconditioning but we did not use it. It is very central just one street from the ferry terminal but quiet. The only thing I would suggest for improvement would be facilities to hang the wet beach towels for drying. I would definetly come back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.4 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,149 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#25 of 52 in Cozumel
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#30 of 52 in Cozumel
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Address: Calle 2 norte entre Rafael E. Melgar y 5av | Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: $45 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to our location, the Hotel Plaza Cozumel offers an excellent panoramic view of the Island and Cozumel's Sea Channel. Our location and facilities allow us to meet the needs of business men and tourists that visit us. The access of Hotel Plaza Cozumel is fast from any point of the island, because we are in the downtown commercial and tourist heart of Cozumel. Walk a few steps and visit the Cozumel Museum, the Main Square and Ferry Pier in front of us.If you are planning a fantastic vacation in Cozumel then our hotel is the perfect place to stay with friends or family. An experience beyond accommodation, make your stay unforgettable. Our spacious rooms allowing our guest ton enjoy the privacy and silence needed for a welcome rest. Walk into a warm and caring atmosphere in classical light and bright colors, where you will find the comfort that you deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing