We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in center of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cozumel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel July 21-28 2013. It is very clean and has very friendly staff. They provide a cooked breakfast each morning from 7AM to 11AM. There is a bakery in the hotel so you can get buns, pastries and water or pop there during the day. They will put a fridge in the room upon request. I had a double room which was air conditioned. Nice clean bathroom with a shower. It is a very convient location if you want to be in the downtown. It is only 1 1/2 blocks from the Playa del Carmen ferry dock and a short drive from the airport. There is free parking at the front of the hotel if you have a car but there are only a couple of spots available. There is also a very cheap parking lot across the street. They have one room that is 2 bedrooms with 2 doubles in one and a king in the other. Between there is a kitchen with frige, stove, sink and a table and chairs. This room would be great for a family. The excellent restraunt around the corner is Wet Wendy's. Nothing seedy about it. The name is to do with a Hungarian woman pirate. Their other one is the Thirsty Cougar also do with the same pirate's ship name.

Room Tip: I would suggest floor 1, 2 or 3 on the (front) South side of the hotel. Floor 1 on the back section...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlockwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza Cozumel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 251 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Booked last minute and 45 minute trip on ferry from Playa Del Carmen. It just 1 block walk from the ferry terminal. Very friendly staff. Hardly anyone staying at hotel.
Rooftop Pool was great, with views. Room clean and large. No fan just A/C.
Breakfast OK. Great value A$55 with breakfast. 4 minutes by taxi to airport.
Look no further.
Victoria Australia

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week in June. My AC worked, free wi-fi in the room, close to my dive shop and restaurants, free breakfast, the bed was firm, and room was clean. Not sure what else you'd want in a hotel.

I happened to be here the week the pool was down for cleaning and maintenance, so that was a bit disappointing, but nothing you can do about it. All in all, a good stay,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dngrcnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPC123, Director Comercial at Hotel Plaza Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su preferencia será un placer poderlo servir en otra ocasión.
Y una sincera disculpa que durante su estancia no este en servicio nuestra alberca ya que para mantener nuestras calidad de servicios damos periódicamente mantenimiento preventivo a nuestras instalaciones. Y de la misma manera muchas gracias por compartir sus comentarios.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with extremly clean rooms, comfortable beds and a brilliant breakfast buffet. Staff is very helpfull and for those who enjoy it there is a pool on the roof. Rooms do have airconditioning but we did not use it. It is very central just one street from the ferry terminal but quiet. The only thing I would suggest for improvement would be facilities to hang the wet beach towels for drying. I would definetly come back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel is NOT air conditioned, The window air is more of a fan, but the rooms are clean, there is no odor. The beds are firm, there is free internet on the computer in the lobby. There is also a free breakfast complete with a made to order omelet! The coffee is hot and amazing. A perfect place to stay near shopping and restaurants. The "Oxxo" store is a great place to get all your snacks and sodas for cheap! Get your snacks before going to a resort. You can walk here from the ferry.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor. This are was quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taggy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Older building but great location downtown,close to the ferry pier,very well maintained,very good breakfast included,nice staff and has a small pool,wifi and ac. Great value!! Also, try the bakery next door for fresh baked goods and drinks for a good price.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank steve4444steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We found this hotel by chance, the location is very convenient. Close to the jety end close to the city centre. The rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is available and sufficient to start the day. Wifi is working good so that is fine if you need to keep in touch. The pool is a bonus and a nice view comes with it for free.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.4 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Suites Bahia
Suites Bahia
#31 of 52 in Cozumel
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 52 in Cozumel
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary Carmen
Hotel Mary Carmen
#23 of 52 in Cozumel
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Casona Real
Hotel La Casona Real
#37 of 52 in Cozumel
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cozumel

Address: Calle 2 norte entre Rafael E. Melgar y 5av | Col. Centro, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range: $53 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to our location, the Hotel Plaza Cozumel offers an excellent panoramic view of the Island and Cozumel's Sea Channel. Our location and facilities allow us to meet the needs of business men and tourists that visit us. The access of Hotel Plaza Cozumel is fast from any point of the island, because we are in the downtown commercial and tourist heart of Cozumel. Walk a few steps and visit the Cozumel Museum, the Main Square and Ferry Pier in front of us.If you are planning a fantastic vacation in Cozumel then our hotel is the perfect place to stay with friends or family. An experience beyond accommodation, make your stay unforgettable. Our spacious rooms allowing our guest ton enjoy the privacy and silence needed for a welcome rest. Walk into a warm and caring atmosphere in classical light and bright colors, where you will find the comfort that you deserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing