We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Helpful Hosts!!! A Haven for Our Family!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 26 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful Helpful Hosts!!! A Haven for Our Family!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2005

Dale and Kathy, the owners and hosts of Baldwin's Guest House are THE MOST GRACIOUS hosts I've met at a B&B. Our family of five stayed at their guest house over the Christmas/New Years holiday and experienced a thoroughly delightful time of bonding and fun. Our three kids are now young adults (23,21,18). It was wonderful to have such a spacious, beautiful, serene and reasonable place to enjoy the sun, eachother, and beauty of Cozumel. The breakfasts were delicious, Kathy and Dale extremely helpful with restaurant recomendations, the best beaches for either snorkeling, diving, or sunning in the silky sand and the logistics of getting there. They offered extra beach towels and rented snorkeling equipment and boogie boards for a minimal cost. Most important though was the delightful time our young adult children had there,interacting with Dale and Kathy, their dog Lana, enjoying their pool, beautiful orchids, and birds. What more can I say? It was fabulous!

Helpful?
Thank Jimbo981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
128
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2004

Did not find the hosts welcoming. In fact, they were the least hospitable B&B hosts I can remember. Given the fabulous reviews, perhaps they were just having an off few days (stayed there Dec 2004). They seemed very stressed and were not helpful about restaurant recommendations, etc. That said, garden was terrific, room was nice, other guests were friendly. Have gone to Cozumel several times and would not stay at Baldwins again.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel, responded to this review, January 7, 2005
The guests who wrote this review stayed with us the nights of Dec 27 & 28.

They are engaged to be married, he is working here in Cozumel and she was in Cozumel visiting him for the 2 nights.

They checked in, he wasn’t feeling well, and they went to their room.
We do not recall them asking us any questions that were not answered.
We certainly do give recommendations when asked.
We also respect guests privacy.

They seemed very private. With him having been on Cozumel for a considerable time prior, we presumed they did not need any help.

On the 2nd morning after breakfast we talked with them for a few minutes, and then got back to work.
Next thing we knew they were gone.

We thought it kind of strange.
I guess their review explains why they left without a word.

We apologize for not spending more time with you L & J.

Dale & Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2004

This was our first trip to Mexico. We had such a good time that we are planning our next trip. Our enjoyment is due in large part to the great time we had at Baldwins. Unlike staying in a resort hotel, where each hotel is much like the next, staying in a downtown neighborhood made us feel a part of the local culture. We learned so much about the local lifestyle. We felt safe, pampered, and relaxed. Kathy and Dale are excellent hosts, the rooms are attractive and spotless, the grounds are fun to explore, and breakfast is ample and delicious. We will definitely go back.

Helpful?
4 Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2004

Second time we stayed at Baldwins and this time was even better than the first. Never imagined someone can be as hospital as Dale and Kathy are! W're sure we will come back!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2004

We just got home from a wonderful 18 day vacation in Cozumel. And the main reason this trip was so wonderful were the two people who run the Bed and Breakfast (Major Understatement!!!!!!!!!!!) Baldwin's Guest House. The location of the place is wonderful, away from the busy tourist center, in the middle of the "real" Cozumel, and still within walking distance of the ocean front and the Plaza. The place itself is an oasis of peace, set in an ever growing garden with lots of wildlife like hummingbirds, gekkos, iguanas, turtles and Lana - the dog, ever present if you want to pet her, never there when you don't want her. Kathy and Dale take such good care of you that at a given point you feel you really don't deserve all this attention. The rooms are perfect and ever clean. The breakfast - ahhhhh.... the pancakes (never will forget those), the fruits, the eggs, too much from everything. The things Kathy makes and calls Margaritas: every other Margarita in Mexico should be ashamed of itself. Kathy and Dale always have the perfect tips for shopping, food or sightseeing.
There is one big disadvantage to the place, and that is the goodbye when you have to leave. It's always hard to leave a nice vacation spot, but leaving Kathy and Dale really did hurt. We left "home".

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2004

We stayed at the Baldwin's guest house during the week of July 4th 2004. Where to start? The rooms are immaculate, Kathy's breakfast (+ cocktails) out of this world; the garden has such a variety of flowers and plants that it's breathtaking; the whole place is infused with wildlife (doves, little lizards, turtles, hummingbirds + Lana the dog). The hospitality is excellent and it's easy to make conversation with the other guests (not like those turisty all inclusive where it's a meat fest). THe B&B is in the heart of San Miguel, so the neighborhood reflects the lifestyle of the people of Cozumel. In other words, the neighborhood might look a little unkempt, but the people are friendly and we always felt safe, even during our strolls at night. This is the place to stay in Cozumel!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2004

This is the place to stay. The hotels are big and fancy on the Internet, but when you get there, they are a disappointment. We have been twice before and found that while the accommodations are nice, the food is adequate at best. Unless you need the frills of an all inclusive, you are better off saving your money and staying with Kathy and Dale here.

It is located very close to town ($2 taxi), so close that our dive shop picked us up every day. There is a dive rinse area on site, and life becomes easier when you don't have to deal with everything at a big hotel. No elevators. No check-in. No noisy next door guests or all-night party going on downstairs. Just a nice quiet vacation.

Kathy's breakfasts were all outstanding. My wife loves banana pancakes and Kathy made a special batch just for her. Best pancakes she ever ate.

We would definitely stay here again, and you should too.

Helpful?
1 Thank bbarksdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
3.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#3 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#19 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

Property: Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Address: Avenida 55 sur # 140 | Between Calle 1 and Adolfo Rosado Salas, Cozumel 77601, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our focus is on cleanliness and your personal comfort. Our goal: Ensure you have a great vacation. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldwin`s Guest House Cozumel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing