We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Ranked #9 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed March 5, 2009

The title says it all. If you are going to Cozumel you must stay here. The rooms are immaculate, the breakfasts are awesome, and Dale & Kathy make you part of the family. This is our fourth trip to Cozumel and we will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgnevets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
128
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

My girlfriend and I chose Baldwin's based on the reviews here. It was an excellent choice. Kathy and Dale (AKA "Grumpy Bear") were fabulous hosts. We stayed in the master bedroom which was large, clean and well air conditioned with a great private bathroom. I didn't see a single bug in the entire 6 days we were there. There were lots of iguanas (tame and wild) birds, turtles, a duck and a cute dog named Lona.

Kathy's breakfasts were AWESOME! Different everyday and plenty of good food. Dale is the handiest guy I have met. He built much of the place himself joining several properties together into one contiguous place with a beautigul garden, a fish pond he is building, etc, He is also very friendly and warm, and humorously grumpy all the time, thus the name "Grumpy Bear". Come with thick skin and trade a few barbs with him and it will add to the authenticity of the experience.

The main goal of the trip was to relax and do a few activities. Kathy and Dale know lots of local tour folks who can take you diving (Troy), snorkeling etc. They will also let you know the best local restaurants and taco places (Mister Taco), Fish markets (etc). I went on two incredible dives through Troy including my first night dive. There were lots of lobsters, crabs, octopi, sea snakes, turtles, etc. My favorite activity by far was to go Spearfishing with Leo (who is a friend of Dale & Kathy). It is a rush and a great workout (especially when there is a strong current). Leo moved to Cozumel from Holland a year ago and has spearfished six days a week since arriving. He is is a good teacher and knows some great spots. We went free diving (snorkel, mask and weights). He provided a spear gun and showed me how to use it. I speared one fish that got away (it is not easy to shoot underwater). He caught two (Trigger fish and Goat Fish) which he cleaned for me and my girlfriend and I cooked back at the house in the big outdoor kitchen. Dale & Kathy provided all the cooking tools, spices and utensils (and a few side dishes) to make it a great meal.

The island was a little slower than I expected since it is high season, but the economy is likely to blame.

If you are looking for an authentic experience in Cozumel with folks that have been there for over 10 years, away from the "Tourons" on the cruise ships and big hotels, this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmoothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2009

As we planned a week-away from the snow and cold in the NE US, Trip Advisor didn't have a single bad or mediocre review for Baldwin's. So we booked in and discovered Baldwin's is a lovely in-city oasis. They feature absolutely great breakfasts, and the owners are a great resource for the restaurants, beaches, shopping, and reefs of the island. The rooms are attractive and clean, the elegant guest house is beautifully restored, and everything is set in a lush garden-filled compound. Baldwin's is a gem.

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CrewsTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We decided on Cozumel for our Christmas holiday because of the diving opportunities off the island.

We are independent travellers and prefer to steer clear of hotels at every opportunity. I found Baldwins Guesthouse on Trip Advisor and the feedback from other guests convinced us to stay there.

It was our first trip to Mexico and neither of us speak any Spanish and it was a 2 week holiday over Christmas and New Year 2008/9.

Kathy and Dale helped us plan our journey from the airport, how to deal with the taxi drivers, made us feel very welcome when we arrived and got us settled.

Their rooms are beautiful, the bed firm and comfortable, the bedroom and bathroom nice and clean with plenty of storage space for those that like to spread out or be neat an tidy - loads of hanging space, with plenty of coat hangers and a chest of drawers.

We stayed in the Master Bedroom, with a king size bed and loads of space around it. Two large windows on two of the sides with blinds and net for privacy. The room (as all of the rooms) has a ceiling fan above the bed and an air conditioning unit to keep the ideal temperature. The bathroom has a beautiful tropical basin with fish painted on it and a shower that takes a while to heat up, but then supplies a constant stream of good pressure water.

They have a well and the water is safe to clean your teeth in and bottled water is supplied in your room and you can top it up from the kitchen.

Internet access is available in an office set up for both Kathy and Dale to work from as well as guests to check mail and call their friends and family using Skype (your own account or pay Kathy and Dale back for your usage).

Kathy will do your laundry and she will charge very reasonable rates with dirty clothes turned around normally the same day - you don't need to bring loads with you.

There is an area to clean and store your diving gear. A fridge stocked with soda and beer - just pay for what you consume.

The pool is a welcome place to swim or just dip you feet in to cool down after a hot day.

Their garden is full of life - well kept with an aviary with a duck that perches - has to be seen!, 4 iguanas, budgies and a parrot. The garden has turtles living in it, wild iguanas that raid the dog's food bowl and a lovely dog named Lana.

Breakfasts are lovely - I loved the breakfast tacos and the little sausages and pancakes the most. The fresh fruit is included in every breakfast with a choice of yogurt to go with it as are fresh juice, tea and coffee.

It's the ideal place to stay for those who love diving and staying in somewhere small, where you can interact with other guests or prefer some quiet time in the hammock on top of the casita in the shade with a balmy breeze.

Kathy and Dale work really hard to run this guest house so that you have an enjoyable stay and I have no hesitation is recommending this place. We are already booked to return for another 2 week stay!

  • Liked — The hosts - Kathy and Dale
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was everything we wanted
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriatombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Baldwin’s for a week. We had come to relax, do some diving, and see some of the ruins. We've used TripAdvisor before to find excellent places to stay and the overwhelmingly positive reviews of Baldwin’s are right on.

We had the best time mostly following Dale & Kathy’s advice. Kathy took the time to talk with us about what was available and what we’d like to do. She then marked out everything on their excellent maps of the town and island.

Kathy knows all of the best restaurants (Kinta was our favorite among many of her excellent recommendations) and when we asked for help with which ruins to see, her advice was perfect (we climbed a Mayan pyramid in the jungle at Coba!). We also followed their recommendation for a dive master (Troy at Pelagic Ventures) and had many sublime underwater adventures with a highly experienced and knowledgeable team (Alex and Hugo).

Baldwin’s location is out of the tourist mainstream 15 minutes walk from the plaza. We strolled to downtown many times day and night and always felt comfortable and safe in the neighborhoods where the family’s of the island live.

But enough about fun, lets talk relaxation and pampering. Right from the start we were taken care of. On our arrival, they had a vacancy so they upgraded our room, free! Then offered us margaritas (Kathy’s are the best on the island!) on their beautiful garden patio. Good luck with receiving that kind of care at a snotty resort.

Our room was very comfortable, very clean, and had all of the amenities. We peeked into some of the other rooms and they were quite nice too. The furnishings and style of the home is what we’d call gracious Mexican colonial. The masonry, rock, and tile work, all hand crafted by Dale, should be in a home and garden magazine.

Kathy’s breakfasts were big, delicious, and made with love. No need to have lunch! Dale took time out and made fresh squeezed juice for us every day.

To sum up our experience, Dale and Kathy cared, about us and for us. I would not hesitate to recommend their B&B to you.

  • Liked — Caring hosts
  • Disliked — Cab drivers who tried to overcharge to take us there.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tcalhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

It is no wonder that many of the guests at Baldwins are repeat travelers. Instead of being just a number at a big resort, we were treasured guests in Dale and Kathy's home - and they gave us all the "insider" information that we wanted for us to have a truly memorable time in Cozumel. We really enjoyed our stay at Baldwin's. Dale and Kathy were so helpful - they can help you get a dive master, find shopping and dining places. They can help you rent a car, and feel totally at home in Cozumel. The breakfasts are terrific, and the property is pristine and beautiful. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. And that was actually something that was a sweet suprise for a Mexican vacation. Try Baldwin's - you will not regret it.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — location- kind of far from tourist activities
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marcyWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

A travel guide called it a hidden gem, I coudnt agree more. We are just home from our holiday and unlike other holidays this one will stay with us for a long time.

The rooms at Baldwin's guesthouse are complete and very clean, charming and the size of the beds? Let's just say they have more than one zipcode. The property is protected by Lana the friendly dog, the garden is well taken care of and contains certain suprises such as iguanas and turtles. The swimming pool is real nice to cool off in after a long hot day outside.

Nothing was too much for our hosts Kathy and Dale. From amazing outside breakfasts, freshly made frozen margarita’s, the fridge filled with beer and soda, calls to taxi’s and terrific restaurant advise. They answered all of our stupid questions about where to go and what to do with patience, charm and grace. They even highlighted maps for us so we could find things easily.

Dale has the best sense of humor. You are herebye warned that when he says things like, "Who wants to help with the dishes" or "Its Sunday and we have no room service today" that he is only joking. We often stayed up at night just to chat and tell jokes with Dale, Kathy and the other guests.

Before staying here we had spent a night at a 5-star resort on the mainland. That place couldn't compare to the feeling of home and comfort we had at Baldwin's. Dale and Kathy simply made our holiday into a fun, intimate, comfortable, personal memorable week away from it all.

  • Liked — The hosts are amazing
  • Disliked — NOTHING- everything was wonderful
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianofMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,063 reviews
3.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribo Cozumel
Caribo Cozumel
#1 of 25 in Cozumel
178 reviews
3.2 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

Property: Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Address: Avenida 55 sur # 140 | Between Calle 1 and Adolfo Rosado Salas, Cozumel 77601, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our focus is on cleanliness and your personal comfort. Our goal: Ensure you have a great vacation. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldwin`s Guest House Cozumel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing