We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Right Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Ranked #11 of 31 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Right Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having read the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor for Baldwin's Guest House, we decided to take the plunge and book our 17 night stay with Dale & Kathy. This was our (partner & I) first visit to Mexico/Cozumel. We were relieved that all the positive/excellent reviews about Baldwin's Guest House proved to be correct!

Baldwin's Guest House is situated j,ust on the outskirts of downtown - it's approximately a 15 minute walk away or by taxi 30 Pesos from the ferry terminal/downtown. The airport is a mere 10 minute taxi drive away so location wise it's in an excellent position! - allowing you to absorb and mingle among the locals, yet close enough for the variety of restaurants/bars/shops. Casa Mission restaurant is a mere 5 minute walk way from their gate. Even though it was away from the tourist area, we always felt safe walking to and from downtown; whether it was during the day or late at night.

On first impressions, pulling up outside in the taxi at Baldwin's Guest House (it was 8pm) - the local neighbourhood area was somewhat of a let down, but once you walked through the locked gate and into their property it was like a different world! Kathy or Dale must have had bat ears, as no sooner had we unloaded our suitcases out of the boot, they both came out from the main house to greet us and show our room.

Initially, we had booked the King Room in the main house, but upon our arrival we were "upgraded" to the Casita (self contained cottage), as our room was undergoing some decoration (as it was the beginning of the season) and was not quite ready for us. For the first 2 nights, we were the first guests since Kathy & Dale returned from their holiday.

The Casita was lovely, clean, spacious and private, which overlooked the pool and breakfast areas. Along with a decent size fridge freezer, microwave, cooker hob, the Casita provided all the things what you would expect from a self contained cottage (even extra’s like washing up liquid!). With enough space outside for your own table and chairs. One thing I will add, the WIFI signal is not very strong in the Casita, but that was soon “rectified” when you went outside nearer to the main house!

The breakfast was both a fantastic team effort, with Kathy cooking amazing breakfasts every day, enough to feed the whole street – and so much choice too. I especially enjoyed the fresh platter of tropical fruits that served every day, along with Dale’s version of freshly squeeze orange/grapefruit juice – Tropicana juice was not a patch on Dale’s! The night before, Kathy would ask what time we’d like our breakfast and try and accommodate any special requests (ahem, bacon please?).

The breakfast table comfortable sat 6 guests with calming music/lights in the background. And each day, the table would be decorated with little (cute) figurine animals from her Homegrown collection, as well as flowers from her garden. Her attention to detail, how the breakfast was presented was perfect! Kathy has such high standards that it would be very hard to beat her – hence, why Baldwins has the No 1 spot and return visitors every year.

The coffee was to die for, in fact some mornings we were fighting for the coffee flask, and sometimes it was a case first come first served!

After a week, we were moved to the King Room in the main house, which is just as lovely as the Casita. The King Room was situated at the back of the house, ideally located near Dale’s bar/social congregation area – so not far to wobble back to the room after a few beers/cheeky Tequila shots (free on the house).

In the evening most of the guests get together out side the bar area to catch up on each others day, eat together – in our case twice we all cooked a BBQ on Dale’s awesome bad boy BBQ – best tasting shrimp/steak ever! Mouth watering just thinking about it.

Dale & Kathy operate an Honor Bar system, and the choice of alcohol (especially sprits) is mind boggling! They even bought me Diet CokeZero cans after I mentioned that I was not keen on full fat Coke. Nothing is too much trouble.

Dale & Kathy have lived in Cozumel for nearly 20 years, and have a vast knowledge of Cozumel: where to go/restaurants/shops etc. They will happily give you a map of the island, and help you on your way to enjoy your stay with them.

While we were there, we hired a VW beetle from ISIS, which Dale & Kathy recommended we use as they don’t try to rip you off and offer a great service. The second week, we opted for a moped which appeared to be nearly new and ran like a dream.

Christmas Day, Dale & Kathy invited all their guests to share a Christmas Dinner with them – gratis too. The turkey Kathy cooked (and Dale cut), was the most succulent turkey meat I’ve ever had the pleasure of eating. Turkey meat is such a dry meat, alas not Kathy’s!

Also like to add that Baldwin’s is catered for divers, with a separate equipment rinse/drying area – in fact, majority of the guests who were staying there were divers. Dale & Kathy can recommend a very good Diving operator, and if you are in need of a good massage, Kathy knows just the person. We did not opt for the massage, but the masseur comes to Baldwin’s so need to go out. At the time we were there, I think it was US$ 40 for a 75 minute massage

To sum up our stay in one word, fabulous! We miss both Dale & Kathy – Dale’s dry humour with the glint in his eyes, and Kathy admonishing him from time to time like a naughty school boy.

Lastly, the rooms are cleaned on a regular basis, towels changed every other day - however, Kathy respected my "OCD" in not having any housekeeping done whilst I was there, apart from once in the Casita. I liked taking my own bedding/used towels to the laundry room, and doing my own housekeeping.

From the minute we walked into Baldwin’s to when we hugged our good byes, Dale & Kathy made us feel so welcome, and not just as paying guests.

Room Tip: Casita is quite private for couples - plenty of room, but not too far away from the hub of the outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hang-On-Tight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaldwinsCozumel, Owner at Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Hang-On-Tight

Glad you made it back to the UK safe and sound.
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it.
Would you please let us know what led you to give us 4 out of 5 on "Rooms"?
We are constantly trying to improve our guests experience and comfort level.

Thanks for staying with us,
Dale & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
125
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My fiance and I just came back from an amazing stay at Baldwin's Guest House. We were one of four couples staying in the main house and, since it was our first time ever being in Cozumel, we were the only couple who were not repeat guests of Dale and Kathy Gardner's beautiful estate. Upon learning this, we immediately knew we made the right decision for our accommodation in Cozumel.

Dale and Kathy went above and beyond in making our stay comfortable. They lent us snorkel gear and even ponchos to stay dry on our scooter outing. We were there on Christmas and they cooked us a delicious dinner, which we all ate together while celebrating. The estate is gorgeous, clean and spacious. Our room had a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. The breakfasts were different everyday and absolutely delicious. It was made even more special by eating a room overlooking the swimming pool. We enjoyed hanging out with the other guests in their amazing outdoor kitchen. We did not use the pool or the hammocks on top of the casita, though they both looked very inviting. The location is about a 15 minute walk from the main tourist strip. We loved the location because we felt very safe, and we got to walk through "real" Cozumel feeling more like a local than a tourist.

Their home became our home and the people their became our "vacation family." If you are planning a visit to Cozumel, this is by far the best place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Baldwin House. This was our first time staying off the beaten path and we couldn't be happier with our decision to do that! The property was absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Casita which was awesome. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Dale and Kathy were wonderful hosts. From the time we arrived, they made us feel right at home. They had great recommendations for things to see and do in town as well as some great local food spots. If you go, you have to try Mister Taco just a couple blocks away. The tacos were to die for!! Yummmm!! Kathy's breakfasts were also so delicious! They were a highlight of our stay. We especially enjoyed just sitting out at the bar area chit chatting with Dale and Kathy. You couldn't ask for 2 sweeter people! Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay! Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylorcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

What can I say? This is my second visit to Cozumel in 4 years and both times I stayed at Baldwin House. First time with with my wife and second with a buddy. Both times were top notch. This time we stayed in the Casita which has plenty of space for two friends, including a small kitchen, full bath and cool A/C. Dale and Kathy were AWESOME! as usual. I can't imagine better hosts. They make you feel at home, are great conversationalists, excellent cooks (expecially Kathy's breakfasts).

I am not a fan of mega resorts but I also want a clean, modern place with a pool, bar, etc. This has it all. Beers in the fridge on the honor system, you can cook your catch on the BBQ or stove in the outside kitchen (or in your kitchen in the Casita). Restaurants are walking distance. I would rent a car to get you to the other side of the island and to the big markets. Prices for Baldwin House were very reasonable.

It rained a bit during our stay so we did not hit the town much. We hung out at the pool and outdoor bar and had a great time with the other guests and Dale & Kathy,

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cozumel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmoothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Dale & Kathy. This inn is off the beaten path but just a block away from a couple of great restaurants. About 8-10 blocks away from the noise of the city. Very quiet at night. We enjoyed the beautiful garden full of blooming cactus. Lovely! Our stay came with a full gourmet breakfast which was different each day. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been staying with Kathy & Dale at the Baldwin House for the past 11 years. Sometimes twice a year. You cannot find a better vacation place in Cozumel. Great beds, spotless rooms, beautiful property and the very best breakfast you will ever eat. We dive and there is a dive room where you can wash and dry your gear. They have a beautiful swimming pool and a great place to chill out. Wouldn't think about staying at another place in Cozumel. We returned from our trip last week and already making plans for next April.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My fourth stay with Dale & Kathy...12 nights of escape from a brutal Canadian winter.
You can't do better than this for a wonderful vacation on CZM. Excellent accomodations in peaceful private surroundings..a tropical paradise.

Kathy and Dale again went above and beyond with great hospitality and amazing breakfasts. The location is actually excellent! Away from the frenzy of the tourist zone but close to many cool local restaurants and shops..and a taste of real life here. You will likely want to rent a car anyway (taxi's are a rip off) and Dale can score you a nice little rental, cheap.

Stay in a walled-in all inclusive with mucho touristas and a buffet that gets boring after two days? No thanks! This B&B is far superior. Hope to return in 2014!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonsterSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#4 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#5 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#13 of 51 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flamingo Hotel
Flamingo Hotel
#21 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

Property: Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Address: Avenida 55 sur # 140 | Between Calle 1 and Adolfo Rosado Salas, Cozumel 77601, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our focus is on cleanliness and your personal comfort. Our goal: Ensure you have a great vacation. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldwin`s Guest House Cozumel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing