We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baldwin Does it Right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel
Ranked #5 of 25 Cozumel B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What can I say? This is my second visit to Cozumel in 4 years and both times I stayed at Baldwin House. First time with with my wife and second with a buddy. Both times were top notch. This time we stayed in the Casita which has plenty of space for two friends, including a small kitchen, full bath and cool A/C. Dale and Kathy were AWESOME! as usual. I can't imagine better hosts. They make you feel at home, are great conversationalists, excellent cooks (expecially Kathy's breakfasts).

I am not a fan of mega resorts but I also want a clean, modern place with a pool, bar, etc. This has it all. Beers in the fridge on the honor system, you can cook your catch on the BBQ or stove in the outside kitchen (or in your kitchen in the Casita). Restaurants are walking distance. I would rent a car to get you to the other side of the island and to the big markets. Prices for Baldwin House were very reasonable.

It rained a bit during our stay so we did not hit the town much. We hung out at the pool and outdoor bar and had a great time with the other guests and Dale & Kathy,

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cozumel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmoothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 314 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Dale & Kathy. This inn is off the beaten path but just a block away from a couple of great restaurants. About 8-10 blocks away from the noise of the city. Very quiet at night. We enjoyed the beautiful garden full of blooming cactus. Lovely! Our stay came with a full gourmet breakfast which was different each day. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSontheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been staying with Kathy & Dale at the Baldwin House for the past 11 years. Sometimes twice a year. You cannot find a better vacation place in Cozumel. Great beds, spotless rooms, beautiful property and the very best breakfast you will ever eat. We dive and there is a dive room where you can wash and dry your gear. They have a beautiful swimming pool and a great place to chill out. Wouldn't think about staying at another place in Cozumel. We returned from our trip last week and already making plans for next April.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My fourth stay with Dale & Kathy...12 nights of escape from a brutal Canadian winter.
You can't do better than this for a wonderful vacation on CZM. Excellent accomodations in peaceful private surroundings..a tropical paradise.

Kathy and Dale again went above and beyond with great hospitality and amazing breakfasts. The location is actually excellent! Away from the frenzy of the tourist zone but close to many cool local restaurants and shops..and a taste of real life here. You will likely want to rent a car anyway (taxi's are a rip off) and Dale can score you a nice little rental, cheap.

Stay in a walled-in all inclusive with mucho touristas and a buffet that gets boring after two days? No thanks! This B&B is far superior. Hope to return in 2014!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonsterSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The breakfasts, serenity of the surroundings, cleanliness, the guests, new friends you meet, the hosts, in this beautiful setting, surrounded by traditional Mexican neighbourhood is something you never would expect, as you walk down Avenue 55, greeted by the hosts at the secure entrance.

Breakfast is never scheduled by the hosts, rather most of the guests gather around the outdoor kitchen after returning from a day touring the Island, enjoying dinner out at one of the local resturaunts, when Kathy inquires what time breakfast should be served the following day. It is always mutually agreed by all the guests what time everyone will meet in the morning, enjoying the fresh fruit, yogurt, then a variety of either traditional Mexican or North American cuisine. (This varies from, and is a combination of Breakfast Tacos, Cochinita, scrambled eggs, pancakes, waffles, French toast, sausages, bacon, rice, beans, croissant sandwiches, need I go on?) and this varies daily. There are no line ups, breakfasts don't start at 7:00 AM, ending at 9:00 AM, you simply saunter out to the back yard, pour yourself coffee, tea, water, or whatever your liking, preparing yourself for the breakfast that will surpass the one you enjoyed the previous day.

There are so many other things to enjoy vacationing at Baldwins Guest House; you will have to book yourself to find out what is the reason many guests return year after year after year.

If you have never tried a Bed and Breakfast, and want to enjoy one of the most relaxing, fun vacations, meet new people from around North America, as well as around the world, you WILL WANT TO BOOK A VACATION AT BALDWINS BED AND BREAKFAST.

Muchas Gracias Dale and Kathy, thank you once again for a wonderful stay at your Oasis.

Room Tip: For family's the Casita is perfect,for couples the Garden room is wonderful as you will wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDSCGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just spent 11 days at Baldwins Guest House with Dale and Kathy and we had an amazing time. All the reviews are true guys. Don't hesitate to book your stay here. The price is right and the breakfasts we were served are to die for so wear stretchy clothes in the mornings. They even take breakfast requests :) Kathy works hard in her beautiful kitchen with her husband Dale assisting and Dale works hard on the beautifully manicured grounds with his beautiful wife Kathy supervising :). They are such a great team and it was a pleasure meeting them. You will be well rested when you leave because the beds are as soft as clouds and the towels are even softer. As for cleanliness, well there is not a thing out of place or a dust bunny to be found, except for a couple in the tropical bird cage where Bobby the duck lives with his fine feathered friends. Not only do you get great food and accomodations but they are great tour guides. Being residents for over 15 years, they can tell you just about anything you need to know about Cozumel including where to eat and shop. You will not regret staying here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are so beautiful, however we picked the Garden room so we could see the beautiful foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mustangmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's difficult to add to the already glowing praise for this place. Manicured gardens, a peaceful rooftop patio where you can gently sway in a hammock while taking in the the city, and a delightful pool are just a few of the highlights. A bonus for animal lovers is the charming group of birds, turtles, and one amazingly sweet dog on the property!

Our Casita room overlooking the pool was private, sparkling, and boasted the most comfy bed in town. Kathy's breakfasts were literally the best food we ate on the island. (No other salsa or margarita came close!) They have many return guests who all knew each other, but generously included us in their nightly activities--from cocktail hour to BBQs.

One unexpected surprise was how much money we were able to save by staying here. And I don't mean the room prices (themselves a steal, in my opinion). I am talking about the cash honor bar where you can buy beer, soda, and water; the grill for cooking in; the deal Dale was able to get us on a car rental; and the free use of snorkel gear, beach towels, sunscreen--even a beach bag to tote our gear. Plus being so full after breakfast that you don't want to do more than snack til evening. All told, these hidden bonuses saved us literally hundreds. Not exaggerating here.

I've read that some people find the location a bit "out of the way." I thought this was one of the best features. Being away from the fray of a downtown filled with cruise shippers puking into their sombreros works just fine for me! Every time we ventured out for the day, we found little out of the way restaurants and stores we never would have explored otherwise.

Vacation: consider yourself made! Thanks Dale, Kathy...and Layna!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KR_bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casita de Maya
Casita de Maya
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
336 reviews
3.7 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Blue Angel Resort
Blue Angel Resort
#10 of 52 in Cozumel
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Alcatraces
Los Alcatraces
#2 of 25 in Cozumel
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel

Address: Avenida 55 sur # 140 | Between Calle 1 and Adolfo Rosado Salas, Cozumel 77666, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cozumel
Price Range: $86 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baldwin's Guest House Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our focus is on cleanliness and your personal comfort. Our goal: Ensure you have a great vacation. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baldwin`s Guest House Cozumel Hotel Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing