We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vaction Among The People”
Review of Casa Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Colonial
Ranked #17 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Reviewed July 31, 2010

It's taken almost 3 weeks to fairly put this trip into perspective! First off I won the trip to MEXICO & Casa Colonial off the PRICE IS RIGHT...so I didn't per se' pick COZUMEL or Casa Colonial on my own...but it was DEF a WELCOMED SURPRISE!!!

Cozumel was a bit more traditional than we expected upon arrival. When we got to the airport NO ONE knew of Casa Colonial Villas...they didn't admit that, INSTEAD they dropped us off at the wrong hotel & drove off. It wasn't intentional, but many people speak SPANISH, so it was hard to communicate the error & honestly a little scarry on your first day as soon as you get there! LOL! So as a precaution, make sure you have the address written down & hand it to your driver...do not assume this is a hotel that he will be familiar with. We were a bit nervous as we left the tourist area behind & began to drive through the residential area of Cozumel. I was told the RICH live among the POOR, so you see a bit of everything on your quick journey. Upon arrival, The Villas look JUST like the pictures...it was such a relief to open the gate & find a tropical paradise-and a friendly face that spoke English! :) The GROUNDS are beautiful!!! The Villa itself is charming...not a fancy, upscale living situation, but it has all your basic essentials...feels like staying over your grandmother's house :). The REAL beauty is that everything is hand crafted & painted...so it's a bit like living in art. I LOVE that the place feels so AIRY & open...many sliding doors, patios, etc...There is a full kitchen so we cooked a couple times. Our trip to the neighborhood store, which is only minutes walking, was an EXPERIENCE in itself...no one really spoke English & we were looking for snacks, etc...BUT this honestly began to make our trip more authentic! Our walks through the neighborhood were SAFE (even at night), & gave a glimspe to how the REAL people of Cozumel live. It was eye opening & beautiful. The Iguanas confidently walk the neighborhood, which is DOPE, but will catch you off guard, if you're not expecting it! Also saw a HUGE CRAB walking down the street through the neighborhood! LOL! Casa Colonial is great...theres a sense of serenity & privacy - after a day or so, you're glad to be staying a bit off the beat & trail. Cab rides were about $4 to the main strip...but we mostly walked (was a good way to SWEAT off the GUACAMOLE! )BE SURE to bring OFF/BUG SPRAY!! On the slight downside...There was a small ant problem but considering where we were I think it's to be expected. The bathrooms are small, but DEF get the job done. This is such a special place...some parts of it feel like a 5 star resort (flat screen, beautiful pool, barbeque pit, hammock on porch), and some things feel a bit more basic (bathrooms, bedding, etc..)

Sarah was SO nice...she makes you feel welcome with her smile & valuable information. She was able to set us up for different excursions & give us an "insiders" view on resturants, activities, & things to do! When we were lost or confused, we always said "Lets ask Sarah" LOL! Whether we DID or not, it felt good having someone close by to personally answer questions.

We ate at Pancho's Backyard, Tiki Tok, Carlos & Charlie's, Palapas, & found a very cool & modern CIGAR BAR w/friendly service & nice atmosphere right above FAT TUESDAYS. We rented scooters (which is the main transpo there) & explored Rasta Beach (which we LOVED) & Paradise Beach. We did ATV Jungle Excursion & Passion Island (both were GREAT-but the ATVs was SUPER exciting, the GUIDE was AMAZING & it gave us a historical perspective of the island. Passion Island is more intimate, the buffett is average at best, drinks are basic, the grounds are nice though & a cool way to meet new people)...we took the FERRY to Playa Del Carmen (this is cool place to go if you want a little more excitement, or modern entertainment...the crowd seemed younger BUT also seemed a bit more detached than the FRIENDLY nature of COZUMEL) Loved Margarittaville which had free snorkeling right off their patio. The TOWN SQUARE on Sunday night...was SO fun! Again it was great to see the people & dance at the outdoor party!! So I'd DEF recommend staying at Casa Colonial...we were already thinking about one summer renting the entire facilitiy with our friends & family!!! It's a BEAUTIFUL space...just have to know what KIND of trip you're going for. If you're looking for a FANCY "5 star hotel" in MEXICO this may not be the place for you...But if you're looking for the comfort of home away from home w/ a tropical flair...i wouldn't DARE suggest you go ANYWHERE ELSE! :) An AUTHENTIC Adventure...Here is a Youtube Link with more info on our adventure http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MIl7U0rmaHY (just copy & paste the link...it's a SUPER COOL & upclose look at the Island & Casa Colonial)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank divafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

I cannot think of anything that was not perfect, including the price. We had the place to ourselves after the first day. and the privacy afforded may have gave us the added feeling that we were really being treated like royalty. We took our two fifteen year old grand daughters, (cousins) with us, and expected to have to really watch out for them. The place is a fortress, and the people in the neighborhood were great. Whenever we came or went, there was always someone smiling, and the normal curiosity of good neighbors. Don't get me wrong, this is not a touristy area. Its close to everything, and a great new grocery market around the corner, (walking distance with a bag or two). Our kitchen was stocked with every utensil I could think of to cook anything. We ate out a lot, and we cooked our breakfast mostly. I wanted to smell up the place with a good coonass gravy, cooking up some local seafood in a 'sauce piquant', and had a few "Damn, that smells good", coming from the pool area! My wife and I have to go back, minus the kids.
This place has the design mix, making you stare at the paintings, the arched doors, the artwork incorporated in the doors, the turtles in the yard, the pool, I could go on long enough that you'd think I work there!
We were met with a cold beer in hand, business put quickly out of the way, any and all concerns, questions, and great advice on everything we could think to ask answered, as well as some good pointers on where to save some bucks on entertainment. This place will be harder and harder to book as people find out what a jewel it is. Oh yeah, The lady who takes care of the mess we all make, is uncanny about being able to do her thing, in and out, almost without being seen. Great job, and I'll bet Bob has to really pay her good, as she is really good at what she does. Don' forget to tip her, I want her there when we go back. I've suffered through 'BAD HOUSEKEEPER SYNDROME', before.
We rented a jeep, and had good off-street parking, right in front of the gate. The phone is free local, and Bob will tell you how to use the 'FREE", yes FREE, U.S. line. The WIFI connection is great, (FREE ALSO). I don't think that there is anyway that you can find a better deal, or be more comfortable/secure, in Cozumel. They have an area for caring for your dive equipment, an I'm sure its as great as the rest of the place, I just don't know anything about diving. The people who left on our second day seemed to be happy with it, and everything else, except having to leave!
Bob even had some beers, and soft drinks for the kids in the fridge. We will go back, and we will recommend Casa Colonial to everyone we know, and some we don't, if a trip comes up in conversation. Tell Bob that Chris And Karen said Hi!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tugcaptainchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

My husband and I shared a trip with 3 other couples. We arranged it in 2 villas, 2 couples per villa. In the villa we shared, we chose the smaller room. It was more spacious than any hotel room I remember. Pool was perfectly clean. Housekeeper was thorough.

We went the end of February, in time for Carnival. (This is like a clean Mardi Gras. It's not raunchy and has opportunities for kids to have fun.) The parades were wonderful! They threw candy and the costumes were amazing. All the restaurants were open for food and drinks late in the evening. We will definitely make sure our next stay at Casa Colonial works in Carnival.

The weather was perfect. You could easily fry your skin at high noon, siesta required. All the high ratings were correct but forgot to mention one essential. Down the street from the 24-hour grocery is a bank. Our exchange rate was pretty favorable and left it easier to pay vendors. With the indoor laundry we saved at the airport by bringing less luggage. With the outdoor grills (gas and charcoal) we saved money eating out. There was even a blender for the essential margarita.

The concierge helped us find a nice beach. We also used the concierge to arrange a day trip to Chichen Itza. (Make sure you have plenty of Dramamine for the Del Mar ferry!)

We walked everywhere. The villa is maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the main drag along the coast. Be careful not to go out there when the cruise ships dock.

I'm a big homebody and I loved it. You be a hermit or a party person and have a great vacation.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank annamaria1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

This is the perfect place to stay for people that want to have a real vacation and get to know what Cozumel is truly like. Sara reccomends wonderful nearby restaurants and actvities that most tourist miss out on staying right along the beach. I traveled here in April and felt more safe walking the streets around the city than I have anywhere in the world. You will learn all the local secrets and have a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliciajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Casa Colonial is a FANTASTIC little oasis all of its own...close to everywhere you will want to be in Cozumel! We had a fantastic time and enjoyed the grounds, complete with all the amenities. The pool area is excellent and the villas a delight! You get a great look at all of the homemade local sinks, tiles, chairs. FUN! Sarah and Bob are there in a moments notice to help with any questions about the wonderful Island. Sarah gave us alot of advice and Maps on our first day, to see the best spots of the Island for the "true" culture. We followed that and had a terrific stay. Great snorkeling and wonderful food. Our favorite Bar is "Cocunuts" on the "rustic" side of the Island. And dinner at the Lobster house is a must for anyone looking for that romantic, island, unique experience.
We will be back there again!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmoody0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We just returned from a week at Casa Colonial with a bunch of friends, a trip I had been dreaming about since I first stayed at the villa five years ago. You get a *great* deal for your money, here. Not only are the amenities top-notch (full kitchens and entertainment centers, grills, hammocks, pool, jacuzzi, and garden), but the service can't be beat (WiFi, phone, daily maid service, friendly and helpful staff). Whether you use it as a home-base for exploring Cozumel and the Yucatan or just as a getaway for rest and relaxation you will find you have everything you need, and extra delights as well--like the hummingbirds that feed regularly at the banana trees nearby while you relax in the jacuzzi. Walking distance to downtown Cozumel, and concierge service that is helpful and friendly in arranging special trips for you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MightyPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My husband and I needed to complete our Open Water Scuba Diving course and chose to do it in one of the world's best recommended diving locations of Cozumel. We are not fans of the tourist zones and really prefer to be off the beaten path. Casa Colonian was set in a perfect location! Still walking distance from anything, including a full grocery store around the corner and great restaurants and bars.

Communication prior to our arrival was seamless and the resources that were provided to us in preparation to our travel itinerary was wonderful and very friendly.

Our villa was amazing. All the comforts of home and much more. It was such a romatic setting and often we had the pool all to ourselves. Days off from scuba diving was spent pool-side relaxing and enjoying a cerveza... or more.

The people who created this great little jem are absolutely beautiful. Upon arrival we were introduced to some of the local highlights, including where we could find some of the best food in town. They weren't wrong! They also generously introduced us to some of the most trusted people on the island whom they know to take us scuba diving. Our dive friend who joined us the second week of our stay assured us, through his years of diving experience, that we had now been spoiled and would be hard pressed to top this this level of first class treatment. And the cost was no different than the same cattle-herding scuba tour operation.

I can't say enough about Casa Colonian and the wonderful people who run it. In short, it's all the countless little things that they do, as if it were their own home, that makes all the difference. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 0ffTheBeatenTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
4.1 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 53 in Cozumel
1,196 reviews
5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Secrets Aura Cozumel
Secrets Aura Cozumel
#17 of 53 in Cozumel
3,938 reviews
5 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 53 in Cozumel
602 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial

Address: Av. 35 Entre 8 Y 10 #420, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Cozumel
Price Range: $198 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Colonial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Colonial brings you the richness of authentic Mexican style not found in most hotels and vacation rentals. Experience the feeling of being transported back in time to a small quaint Mexican village, with one major difference; you are in a resort in the heart of San Miguel, Cozumel. Every view will let you know that you are in Mexico, with all of its architectural history and distinctive design elements. Everything from the original Colonial art work to the hand crafted furniture will give you the feeling that you are on vacation in old Colonial Mexico! Casa Colonial is 4 villas surrounded by a privacy wall. An extra large and lush tropical garden surround the pool and Jacuzzi. Each villa is uniquely designed and has two bedrooms and two and one half baths and sleeps up to 5 comfortably in each villa. We specialize in groups of family and friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing