We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay at El Cid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Second stay at El Cid over 4 year period.
Good: Great staff, wonderful food in restaurant, nice snorkeling and shore diving, rooms are basic, but clean, staff quick to respond to any issues.
Needs improving: Quality of drinks was poor, often tasting somewhat strange and diluted.
Might cause me to stay elsewhere: El Cid is next door to cruise ship port and allows both crew and passengers to use resort with day pass. Often we would come back from diving to find a "Jersey shore" type atmosphere at the resort when I just wanted to relax. Getting to town requires a $10 taxi ride each way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience of your stay at the EL Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel.
We are taking note about your comments in order to improve our food and beverages quality
We want to do a big effort for the inconvenience we have caused, for this we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again and change your perspective of your last experience at our resort,
Pease feel free to contact me for any request in advance .

Cordially

Andres Maillard
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is run down. I have stayed at the El Cid in Puerto Morelos and nothing to compare at all. I booked two nights since we were only going to dive and figured that the reviews were ok. Big shock! The vacancy was not full, we asked for a higher floor but wasn't given one. Also the staff wasnt very friendly, specially at the front desk, so we were stuck on the third floor with a tree right in front of us. The food was not good, Im vegetarian so my options were very limited. The only thing that was salvageable was the bar, drinks were well made. The diving shop wasnt really helpfull so we ended up in the dive shop where the cruise ships dock. The snorkeling area is nice i have to admit. I definitely wont be staying there again. Since this is a time share hotel( dont know who the hell would buy at such a horrible place) i guess they try to pull you in the presentation so you get a better room or upgrade of bracelet for your premium drinks which i think was a joke.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at El Cid la ceiba for 4 nights. We went scuba diving, and the boat leaves right from the hotel pier. The snorkeling is as if you were inside an aquarium ! So many colorful fish !! The food was great and the drinks perfect. Rooms were clean, comfortabke and with a nice view. Staff friendly and helpfull. We are coming back for sure.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay and impression of the hotel snorkeling and food! We appreciate your time to tell us what a positive experience you had again !!

I sincerely appreciate your recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely Yours,
Andres Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were there from 6/21/14 to 6/28/14 enjoyed the stay very much. We made several friends are in contact with them now and plan on meeting up with them maybe this September. The staff at the Hotel were excellant rooms were nice view was great, snorkeling I enjoyed more than the diving. Drift Diving is not for me, currents are very strong and if you get seperated from your group you will end up all by yourself. If you get a chance rent a car and drive the Island stop where you want when you want and relax and enjoy it. The Cruise Ships are nice to see coming and going into the port and we will retyrn once again.

DNC

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd levels are the best for views of the ocean and the port side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fire1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for sharing your experience with all the tripadvisor readers and members about your past trip to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, but i want to especially thank you for this nice and truly review about Cozumel and the beauties in our Island.
i really hope to see you very son and we will keep improving for your next visit.

Cordially

Andres Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice !! Room is big and clean, food is great, and all the staff is helpfull and friendly. And on top of that, we got a super deal on the package. Couldn't be happier !!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We appreciate your time to tell us what a positive experience you had and how didi you enjoyed Snorkeling at the property !!

I appreciate your recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back one more time,

Sincerely Yours,
Andres Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The El Cid La Ceiba is a very clean, well maintained hotel. The beds and room were immaculate, enjoyed staying here very much. Our only complaint is the hotel is located right next to the International Pier. So if you want to eat "somewhere other than the El Cid restaurants" you have to do it when the "cruise ships are docked.!!" Otherwise, the local restaurants close up by 4:00 PM. We stayed here May 24 - 29th, loved everything except choices for food. We did venture downtown a few nights, which requires a taxi, to far to walk. We plan to come back, enjoyed the hotel.!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Guest:

On behalf of el cid la ceiba Hotel I want to express my gratitude for this lovely review.
Is an honor to know that we are in the correct direction, Our objective is to provide the highest standard of Customer Care possible and always aim for excellence in service so it is very satisfying to know that we are doing well.
Thanks again for helping us to serve you better and we will certainly be more than happy to welcome you back soon to this your home away of home on this lovely Island.

Warmest Regards

Andrés Maillard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just got back from our 4th trip to cozumel, june 18 thru 24, 2014, the El Cid is the best place to stay on the island great service, great food, economical, perfect location, we plan in going back this winter.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mpemt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay and impression of the hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us what a positive experience you had again !!

I sincerely appreciate your recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back one more time next Winter.

Sincerely Yours,
Andres Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 53 in Cozumel
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $109 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing