We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful-could't be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
new jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“wonderful-could't be better!”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay, right on the water, with beautiful garden walk-throughs, spectacular restaurant on the water, and the best most personal service you could imagine, this is the place. I had stayed here 4 or 5 times before, way back in the 80's, before two bad hurricanes (most recently, wilma), and the best way to describe the hotel now is that whatever was good about it stayed or got better, and whatever was damaged in wilma was improved beyond imagination!
You will not find friendlier, more accomodating service, yet still sincere, anywhere. Whether you make your wishes known, or simply keep to yourself, every single branch of this resort will go out of their way for you. Front desk, maids, waiters, everybody. They simply just want you to enjoy your stay.
The hotel is run extremely professionally---they are competent and attend to every detail with the best of amenities and service...if you have anything go wrong here, you simply haven't mentioned it for them to address the problem. They are on top of things, and want everything to be nice for you.
The gardens, beach and waterfall area, hammocks and beach area, pool....all of it is first rate, completely clean, and kept in great condition. No matter where you decide to spend your time on any day, it is relaxing and comfortable.
In addition, the restaurant hours are completely accessible, open all day long, and the food and service are fantastic. (As a matter of fact, we have held several anniversaries and special get-togethers here with friends!. Also, as a matter of fact, many of the staff still serving us this trip served us as much as more than 20 years ago! That means they are good, and they stay there!).
I have stayed at a minimum of 7 places through the years in cozumel (two trips every year since 1987), and i have absolutely NO hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. It probably is my very favorite, for many reasons, several listed above.
La Ceiba is "maravilloso".

  • Liked — beautiful surroundings, and excellent service!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirena19881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2008
Dear Madam,

We are so happy and proud to receive this letter from you, since it is El Cid la Ceiba's greatest accomplishment to have a happy customer. It is words like yours that makes us enormously proud to work here, because nothing gives us greater joy than to see that we were able to contribute in our small way to build happy memories for you.

Every one of us at El Cid hopes to see you again soon, for this is your home and we welcome you with open arms to help you build even more memories.

Yours truly,

Salvador Sanchez Meza.
General Manager
El Cid La Ceiba Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    509
    240
    92
    69
See reviews for
476
738
57
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I had the good fortune to spend the week of June 13, 2008 to June 20, 2008 at this lovely property. The rooms were large, comfortable, exceptionally clean and all had an ocean view and balcony. The common areas were equally well maintained and well appointed. The staff was exceedingly helpful and went out of their way to make sure that any request that was made by my party was accomodated. I had 2 wonderful massages at the Spa's open air cabana. The restuarant offered a good selection and the wait staff was very friendly and anxious to please. The beach area was well maintained and provided adequate shade when the sun just became too hot. The activity team provided enterainment, games and classes for those who wanted to participate. It was exactly the Carribean vacation that I had hoped for.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aksm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I just returned from a week with 5 girlfriends at Cozumel El Cid. I hated to leave and can not wait to return. The hotel and grounds are lovely, the staff is exceptional and couldn't have done more to make our trip a success. The food was very good and we took advantage of happy hour every day! Cain was a great recreation director. There was always something going for every age group to participate in if you wanted. . Oh, almost forgot to mention the outdoor message-wonderful!
I can not rave enough and hope that if you ever get the chance you will spend a week at El Cid. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — beautiful sceanery
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bcookmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I stayed a week at the El Cid La Ciba and found it to be a very nice resort. The staff and facilities were very nice, and I look forward to returning someday.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank texas-vol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed at El Cid from June 4-9, 2008 for our 25 th anniversary and had a great time! We had a horrible time getting these reservations through Travel Comm and were not really too excited with the whole layout of this hotel (no beach, in town, cruise ships too close). So we were very surprised and blown away by El Cid! Cruise ships were not a problem (entertaining actually ~ wish they stayed longer!), the tiny man made beach was perfectly fine (pool small but well kept), great service in every area. The room was a bit small but nice ~ the ocean view made up for it! The grounds are lush and well kept, with a neat little waterfall, beach area off to the side. The snorkeling directly in front of hotel was very good and kept my hubby quite happy! Did not use the concierge service ~ did have to listen to a timeshare to get our hotel discount but it was not bad at all.
The absolute best part of the hotel for us by far was the amazing food at the oceanfront La Choppa Restaraunt. We weren't really expecting much but we were VERY impressed by the quality, presentation and service. The buffets were a bit less impressive though, but you can order from the menu also. We enjoyed the different steaks for lunch, salads were all very good ~ guac was awesome and served with every meal. Had the chicken enchiladas more than once, and the tres leches too. Only dissapointment was the fillet mignon which was extra and we saved for our last night ~ this was the exact same cut of meat that we had for lunch, just a different sauce.
There was also no nightlife which we would have liked at least a few nights, although they did a karioke but got rained out!
All in all a VERY nice hotel ~ we would reccomend and return anytime!

  • Liked — Great food at hotel restaraunt La Choppa!
  • Disliked — no nightlife, party activties, music
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkirwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

The check in process was smooth and the lobby was alright. But that was all very deceiving. The 12 story tower has only 2 elevators, one of which was under going constant maintenance. When it wasn't being serviced, the elevator service was terrible. I got stuck in one elevator for almost 20 minutes. The elevators are tiny - about 4ft by 2.5 feet - so getting stuck in there can be very unpleasant.

Additionally, upon our arrival the rooms had a foul smell that would not go away. The bathrooms are large but unfunctional. The shower head was 2 feet too low. And the toilet never seemed to function properly. The only bright spot was the ice cold air conditioner. the television's reception was poor and most channels were in spanish.

We had an ocean view room, however, that view is obstructed by the cruise ships parked right in front of the hotel.

The concierge was not very helpful in booking any activities. She claimed she had never heard of an ATV tour, so we went down the block and booked one for ourselves.

Overall, I would never stay here again.

  • Liked — the air conditioning
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank westloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed here in May for 10 days. We had
stayed here since the late 90's with friends when it was La Ceiba and it was always great. The rooms have changed for
the time share but for the good to us. We do miss the 2nd pool
that was next to the spa but it was still nice in the large pool.
We went to Cozumel Palace in 2006 and we much prefer
El Cid. They were way to busy for us and rooms are noisy at Palace. Also we do not like all inclusive because there are too many places on the island to eat. La Veranda, Earnesto's(best fajitas ever),La Choza ,The French Quarter for a few. El cid had good food also. Breakfast was great.
The staff at El Cid was just what they always had been, very nice and helpful, Our room girl on the 9th floor was the sweetest person ever. front desk very polite. They do bring you a drink soon as you get there which is nice after flying all day.
The cruise ships are right in front but we find them very entertaining to watch. They are gone by 6 that same day so are not a problem. If you are expecting Hollywood then go somewhere else. Cozumel is one of the best with the nicest people ever. Very lazy island but beautiful. That is why we keep coming back. You must see the other side!!!!
If you want a very relaxing and good hotel this is a great one.
We will be back soon as we can and will stay here again just like we have been doing since the 90's. Thanks La Ceiba!!
Louisiana regulars....

  • Liked — all of it
  • Disliked — no 2nd pool next to resturant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank butchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
5.8 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Explorean Cozumel
The Explorean Cozumel
#1 of 52 in Cozumel
455 reviews
7.8 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#22 of 52 in Cozumel
4,565 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing