We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years with the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warrensburg, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years with the Family”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our Family decided to take a trip over to Cozumel for New Years. Not only a great place, but what a great experience! The staff and personnel were very comforting, respectful and were ALWAYS willing to go out of their way to accommodate our needs. The view from every aspect of the resort was awesome and the grounds of the Hotel were top notch, clean and very well maintained. From their beach you can see the cruise ships dock and watch gorgeous sunset as the sun sets directly west of you across the water. The food was EXCELLENT!! From a variety of cuisines to choose from there was never a time when we found ourselves eating the same food over and over again and we were there for just about a week. From the rooms, to the grounds, to all the people that helped and served us in every way, El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel is a place that we'll definitely be coming back to time and time again when we visit this lovely island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdtapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your kind words, i will pass your comments to the team and we will keep working hard in order to improve and make each guest vacations special and enjoyable.
hope to see you soon.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    532
    249
    95
    75
See reviews for
510
756
60
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We recently enjoyed a great beach day at La Ceiba. It's an easy walk from the pier, and the pool, beach, and bar/restaurant are very nice. Rather than paying for an expensive beach excursion, we paid $18/person for complete use of all private hotel beach and pool facilities. We even got a credit for use at the sea side restaurant. Bathrooms and grounds are immaculate as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Visitors:
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and had a great beach day, like you said we are easy walk from the pier and we have a magic place for divers and snorkelers.
Thank you for this nice comments and hoping to visit us very soon.
Cordially:

Andrés Maillard
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I was a little worried when I read the reviews after booking at El Cid however I spent 5 days here and loved it. The food was amazing we enjoyed the flank steak out of all the food. The hotel was clean and had a beautiful view of the ships coming in and of the water. We was worried that tourist would be all over the resort but not at all. We never waited to be seated all amenities were accessible. The only complaint we had was the television didn't have any English channels. The buffet for dinner wasn't our favorite however you can still order from the menu. The breakfast buffet was awesome many things you had to request such as waffles, pancakes, bacon, chorizo sausage because it wasn't laid out on the buffet. I can't wait to go back and would love to stay at this resort again. Had an amazing and relaxing vacation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank highenuff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:
It is really a proudly for us to read your comments and we are very happy to read that we did your staying amazing.
Thank you very much for share this experience and I am sharing as well your kind comments about our food and services with all the team .
Again thank you and hoping to visit us for another relaxing vacation.
Sincerely

Andrés Maillard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just got back from a week at this resort.... and all I can do is smile when thinking of our time there. Staff was so great, it was my wife's birthday and she received 2 birthday cakes from the staff. Friendly smiles from everyone. The snorkeling was fantastic right off the resort. View from room was beautiful. The only possible negative thing I could say was I was not impressed with the dive shop and will never try to use them again, but am looking forward to booking another week at the resort!! Hope to see everyone there again soon!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the older section on the Third floor, was a fantastic view and easy access to everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are extremely pleased with your kind comments of your recent stay at El Cid La Ceiba Hotel. it is a proud for me to read that we are part of your smile and you had a happy and fun vacations.
Thank you for the amazing comments of everything, staff, services, facilities and the recommendation for our hotel.
Waiting with arms wide open to welcome you back again.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed the week before X-mas and the resort was quiet. I would say resort is a stretch for this place. We got a room in the towers, on the 9th floor and the view was amazing. Rooms are simple, balcony was small, but all very clean. We loved snorkeling right at the motel and enjoyed the area. What was more a miss then a hit was the food and drink at thw El Cid. The food selection is not great and prices higher than most other resturants in the area. We ended up getting our own drinks and keeping them in the refrigerator in room. Wifi was more miss on reception then getting thru, Hootier's had better Wifi. I think the staff does a great job, cleaning people, servers, and maintenance crew. I probably won't be back due to the food alone, you really need to fix this part of this resort.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deelaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:
On behalf of el cid la ceiba hotel I want to thank you for this review.
We appreciated all type of comments positive or negative are good tools to help us to improve our services, thank you also for recognizing that our resort is clean, nice staff and great amazing view.
Hoping to give us another opportunity to serve you again and change your perspective.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I are avid travelers and we love to take in the sights, wonders and smells of the local area that we visit. This year we decided to take a trip over to Cozumel, Mexico, just off the east coast of Yucatan. After searching through many of the resorts in the area, we came across the El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel. Not only a great place, but what a great experience! The staff and personnel were very comforting, respectful and were ALWAYS willing to go out of their way to accommodate our needs. The view from every aspect of the resort was awesome and the grounds of the Hotel were top notch, clean and very well maintained. What we loved most about the resort was that it did not give a feel of a super resort in which you felt like you were locked into a place that did not care for your well being, comfort and pleasure. From their beach you can see the cruise ships dock and watch the most gorgeous sunset as the sun sets directly west of you across the water. The food was EXCELLENT!! From a variety of cuisines to choose from there was never a time when we found ourselves eating the same food over and over again and we were there for just about a week. From the rooms, to the grounds, to all the people that helped and served us in every way, El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel is a place that we'll definitely be coming back to time and time again when we visit this lovely island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeamonBattieIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:

On behalf of el cid la ceiba Hotel I want to express my gratitude for this lovely review.
Is an honor to know that we are in the correct direction, Our objective is to provide the highest standard of Customer Care possible and always aim for excellence in service so it is very satisfying to know that we are doing well.
Thanks again for helping us to serve you better and we will certainly be more than happy to welcome you back soon to this your home away of home on this lovely Island.

Warmest Regards

Andrés Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The room was a disaster. Broken air-conditioner that actually put moisture into the room, rather than pulling it out. Water dripping off the ceiling, broken shower, broken toilet. No wifi in the rooms, and very sketchy connection in even the common areas of the lobby or restaurant.

Food was mediocre and inconsistent. Some meals were good, others were not. Cold or undercooked often. Drinks either so bitter I couldn't drink them or so watered down that I might as well have not even ordered one.

Staff were great, and worked really hard, which is why I'm so disappointed in our stay. We definitely will not return to this "resort".

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest
I would like you to know that I take very seriously all Guest's Comments in order to improve our hotel facilities, therefore, we will take in consideration to all your suggestions and we are taking note of the other details and has been already shared with my management team in order to improve each points you have mentioned.
Please accept my apologies for not reach your expectations and I am glad you recognize the great job of our staff .
Hoping you can give us another opportunity to serve you and change your perspective With el Cid la Ceiba hotel.
Happy Holidays.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
7.8 mi away
Occidental Cozumel
Occidental Cozumel
#20 of 52 in Cozumel
4,732 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing