We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,200)
Filter reviews
2,200 results
Traveler rating
1,026
661
309
117
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,026
661
309
117
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murphy bed babieca dive center activities director cruise ship one bedroom suite tower rooms hot tub beach area fish juan carlos day pass all inclusive plan the general manager all inclusive option the wait staff timeshare presentation time share
Filter
Updating list...
1,210 - 1,215 of 2,200 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just returned from Cozumel where we spent a week at El Cid. Our room was tastefully appointed and the constant attention provided by the staff was outstanding. One of the problems we encountered was the mosquitos, so take some mosquito spray. The food was great in the dining room and we look forward to returning.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikes351SenecaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to see that the friendly staff , the food and our hospitality were exactly what you needed for your trip.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Cordially,
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent the week of June 15 at El Cid & what a great choice! Our flight arrived late, but Daniel was waiting at the airport, transportation to El Cid was easy, check-in was a breeze, greatly appreciated the welcome drinks after a long day dealing with airport and delay. Our room was not in the tower section but it was a one bedroom deluxe and more than spacious for the 2 of us. At first it was a slight disappointment not to have one of the tower rooms high up, but after a few days, loved the location, had a great view, we were on the 2nd floor and it was an easy walk to the beach and pool. Didn't have to always use the elevator. We had one patio off the living area & one balcony/patio off the master bedroom. Everything worked great in our room, esp. loved walking in to a cool room after the hot days in Coz. Maid service was excellent - every night we had a "towel animal" on our bed and the room was spotless. We didn't purchase the all inclusive plan, but did have dinner at the restaurant one evening & it was very good. Snorkeling was awesome. Have been to some beach hotels that have a very small roped off area for snorkeling, but not at El Cid. We have our own snorkeling gear so we could go anytime & took advantage of it. Resort is in a good location; we walked to the Puerta Maya pier a couple times when the cruise ships were in. Walked to Ernesto's for dinner; a short distance away and even walked to Mega one night, but it is 3 miles away. Took our time & enjoyed the scenery along the way and took a taxi back for $7. Rented a car one day & Anna at El Cid was very helpful with this. Didn't get a chance to meet David, at Prontatours with El Cid but wanted to thank him for promplty returning our emails when we had questions before our arrival. Wifi worked great. We really had a great stay and would definitely return - at least we hope to some day

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtns2SeaAndInBetween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of El Cid La Ceiba Beach HoteI we really appreciate and enjoyed your feedback about your staying.
It´s good to know that you found our services and facilities to be so great we always try to keep everything in order .
Hoping to welcome you back soon with arms wide open ”

Cordially
Andres Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The accommodations here were average, we had a one bedroom suite and the master bed was harder than I prefer. The shower had wonderful water pressure, however, it leaked quite a bit no matter how I tried to prevent it. The extra large tub was nice!

Kitchenette was very useful. Pool was nice, beach area nice as well. Dock was convenient for diving (we were picked up and dropped off by another dive shop).

Food was quite expensive if you were not on the all inclusive plan. Not worth eating there, there are too many other local restaurants with better food at lower prices. Mixed drinks were weak for the price you pay.

I did not use the spa, my boys used the gym and said it could have been bigger. They could not get the treadmill to work so not sure what was up with that.

The staff was very nice, friendly and always helpful. I would stay there again, mostly for the location. It is near the cruise docks so plenty of shopping. We ate downtown for the most part...but don't dismiss a small place named Ernesto's right down the road towards town...great food LOW prices for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were greeted with a free one night upgrade to a suite and some complimentary delicious fruit punch cocktail drinks. The suite was awesome with two balconies, a great view, and great tub.
The bell hop was very helpful in helping us move to the regular room the following night. Our next room was still very nice for the price with a little patio. The dive shop attached was great although too booked for us to do as many dives as we would have liked, but the dives we did were great. There was some pretty good snorkeling right outside the hotel with a cool plane wreck about 25 feet down (great for free diving!). There were quite a few amenities that we didn't get to take advantage of, with some volleyball scheduled that I didn't get a chance to see. They had a karaoke night which seemed pretty fun while we hung out. The staff even sang a few tunes to help keep things going. There was a really beautiful stone pool with fish swimming around and little waterfalls, in addition to a couple other pools.
My only two complaints would be the cost of the food and that we had to slam the door of our second room to get it closed. Neither one of those were deal breakers, especially since there was some pretty good reasonably priced food right down the street. Overall, it was a great place to relax and set up our home base to enjoy our stay at Cozumel. I would recommend to someone looking for a quiet place to relax while doing some diving in Cozumel. Deals were good on the internet travel sites, but we couldn't get the hotel to extend our stay for the same price. I hope you enjoy as much as we did!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefffrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
I hope you are well and thank you for the time you've taken on writing your comment on TripAdvisor, it's for us an excellent tool to keep improving our hotel.
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at el Cid La Ceiba Resort as well our Services, facilities and snorkeling site.
We already take note on the points you had mentioned and Hoping to welcome you soon for another relaxing vacation.

Warmest regards,
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were with a group of 19 people some scuba divers and some non divers. We all found some thing to love about El Sid La Ceiba. The unlimited shore diving was awesome! Lots of beautiful fish and sea creators to see, Octopi, Squid, Lobsters, Crabs, Sea Urchins, Sea Cucumbers, and all kinds of fish! The diving on the boat was wonderful, very helpful and friendly crew, took us to wonderful dive sites that were not crowded. Zip line was exciting and fun. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds wonderfully comfortable. The food was plentiful and a great variety. Spa was wonderful. We felt all inclusive was the way to go, never went hungry or thirsty. Air was very comfortable, loved the open air restaurant. Pool was very pretty, but we never used, we love the ocean. Comfortable lounge chairs and hammocks. Activities for everyone or no activities if that's what you like.

Room tip: If you scuba ask for a bottom floor room so you don't have to haul your gear thru the halls.
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sheery W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest:

On behalf of all el Cid la ceiba staff thank you for this wonderful review .We are proud that you have enjoyed your stay on our hotel and our incredible area for divers.
A lot of people are agree with your comment the zip line it´s very exciting and fun.

If there's anything else you need for the next time you come to Cozumel, feel free to contact me, I will feel very pleasant to attend you.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews