We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Secrets Aura Cozumel(Cozumel)
$324
$207
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vista del Mar Boutique Hotel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mexicana Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$239
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
$154
$127
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Cozumel and Resort(Cozumel)
$88
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$113
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suites Colonial(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$57
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$240
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,002)
Filter reviews
2,002 results
Traveler rating
918
601
289
111
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
601
289
111
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedbabieca dive centercruise shipone bedroom suiteactivities directortower roomshot tubbeach areajuan carlosday passfishthe general managerall inclusive planthe wait staffall inclusive packagetime sharetimeshare presentation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,074 - 1,079 of 2,002 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The accommodations here were average, we had a one bedroom suite and the master bed was harder than I prefer. The shower had wonderful water pressure, however, it leaked quite a bit no matter how I tried to prevent it. The extra large tub was nice!

Kitchenette was very useful. Pool was nice, beach area nice as well. Dock was convenient for diving (we were picked up and dropped off by another dive shop).

Food was quite expensive if you were not on the all inclusive plan. Not worth eating there, there are too many other local restaurants with better food at lower prices. Mixed drinks were weak for the price you pay.

I did not use the spa, my boys used the gym and said it could have been bigger. They could not get the treadmill to work so not sure what was up with that.

The staff was very nice, friendly and always helpful. I would stay there again, mostly for the location. It is near the cruise docks so plenty of shopping. We ate downtown for the most part...but don't dismiss a small place named Ernesto's right down the road towards town...great food LOW prices for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were greeted with a free one night upgrade to a suite and some complimentary delicious fruit punch cocktail drinks. The suite was awesome with two balconies, a great view, and great tub.
The bell hop was very helpful in helping us move to the regular room the following night. Our next room was still very nice for the price with a little patio. The dive shop attached was great although too booked for us to do as many dives as we would have liked, but the dives we did were great. There was some pretty good snorkeling right outside the hotel with a cool plane wreck about 25 feet down (great for free diving!). There were quite a few amenities that we didn't get to take advantage of, with some volleyball scheduled that I didn't get a chance to see. They had a karaoke night which seemed pretty fun while we hung out. The staff even sang a few tunes to help keep things going. There was a really beautiful stone pool with fish swimming around and little waterfalls, in addition to a couple other pools.
My only two complaints would be the cost of the food and that we had to slam the door of our second room to get it closed. Neither one of those were deal breakers, especially since there was some pretty good reasonably priced food right down the street. Overall, it was a great place to relax and set up our home base to enjoy our stay at Cozumel. I would recommend to someone looking for a quiet place to relax while doing some diving in Cozumel. Deals were good on the internet travel sites, but we couldn't get the hotel to extend our stay for the same price. I hope you enjoy as much as we did!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefffrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
I hope you are well and thank you for the time you've taken on writing your comment on TripAdvisor, it's for us an excellent tool to keep improving our hotel.
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at el Cid La Ceiba Resort as well our Services, facilities and snorkeling site.
We already take note on the points you had mentioned and Hoping to welcome you soon for another relaxing vacation.

Warmest regards,
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were with a group of 19 people some scuba divers and some non divers. We all found some thing to love about El Sid La Ceiba. The unlimited shore diving was awesome! Lots of beautiful fish and sea creators to see, Octopi, Squid, Lobsters, Crabs, Sea Urchins, Sea Cucumbers, and all kinds of fish! The diving on the boat was wonderful, very helpful and friendly crew, took us to wonderful dive sites that were not crowded. Zip line was exciting and fun. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds wonderfully comfortable. The food was plentiful and a great variety. Spa was wonderful. We felt all inclusive was the way to go, never went hungry or thirsty. Air was very comfortable, loved the open air restaurant. Pool was very pretty, but we never used, we love the ocean. Comfortable lounge chairs and hammocks. Activities for everyone or no activities if that's what you like.

Room Tip: If you scuba ask for a bottom floor room so you don't have to haul your gear thru the halls.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sheery W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest:

On behalf of all el Cid la ceiba staff thank you for this wonderful review .We are proud that you have enjoyed your stay on our hotel and our incredible area for divers.
A lot of people are agree with your comment the zip line it´s very exciting and fun.

If there's anything else you need for the next time you come to Cozumel, feel free to contact me, I will feel very pleasant to attend you.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our 11th time staying at El Cid La Ceiba and this hotel just keeps getting better. The minute we land, I get all excited to get to the hotel and see all of our friends. They are always cleaning, no wonder we never see any bugs. Our son and his new bride joined us for a few days at the end of their honeymoon, they like La Ceiba as well. Next year our children and grandchildren will join us for our 50th and La Ceiba will make it special. I can not single out any one person, they are all great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest:
it feels so good to read this kind of words, we appreciate your point of view, it remind us our compromise to keep the good service, I will make sure all the staff knows about your review and we are sure you will enjoy even more your next staying.
And of course we will be more than happy to host this very special occasion.
Again thank you and we are ready to welcome you on this your home away of home one more time.
Sincerely
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked our hotel at discount through hotwire and stayed in this hotel for one night. As soon as we checked in, we were welcomed by very helpful staffs and great welcome cocktail drinks. The room is spacious and clean, the wireless internet is free and fast.
The down side is that the elevator is quite small, a bit far away from the ferry(~70 peso taxi ride) and the AC is noisy during the night... Overall, it deserve what you paid for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morganjiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor, I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience of the AC , we already fix it..
I look forward to seeing you soon on this beautiful island. I hope you are well and thanks again for your comment and for recommend us.
Have a great day!

Cordially
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews