We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were greeted with a free one night upgrade to a suite and some complimentary delicious fruit punch cocktail drinks. The suite was awesome with two balconies, a great view, and great tub.
The bell hop was very helpful in helping us move to the regular room the following night. Our next room was still very nice for the price with a little patio. The dive shop attached was great although too booked for us to do as many dives as we would have liked, but the dives we did were great. There was some pretty good snorkeling right outside the hotel with a cool plane wreck about 25 feet down (great for free diving!). There were quite a few amenities that we didn't get to take advantage of, with some volleyball scheduled that I didn't get a chance to see. They had a karaoke night which seemed pretty fun while we hung out. The staff even sang a few tunes to help keep things going. There was a really beautiful stone pool with fish swimming around and little waterfalls, in addition to a couple other pools.
My only two complaints would be the cost of the food and that we had to slam the door of our second room to get it closed. Neither one of those were deal breakers, especially since there was some pretty good reasonably priced food right down the street. Overall, it was a great place to relax and set up our home base to enjoy our stay at Cozumel. I would recommend to someone looking for a quiet place to relax while doing some diving in Cozumel. Deals were good on the internet travel sites, but we couldn't get the hotel to extend our stay for the same price. I hope you enjoy as much as we did!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefffrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
I hope you are well and thank you for the time you've taken on writing your comment on TripAdvisor, it's for us an excellent tool to keep improving our hotel.
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at el Cid La Ceiba Resort as well our Services, facilities and snorkeling site.
We already take note on the points you had mentioned and Hoping to welcome you soon for another relaxing vacation.

Warmest regards,
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were with a group of 19 people some scuba divers and some non divers. We all found some thing to love about El Sid La Ceiba. The unlimited shore diving was awesome! Lots of beautiful fish and sea creators to see, Octopi, Squid, Lobsters, Crabs, Sea Urchins, Sea Cucumbers, and all kinds of fish! The diving on the boat was wonderful, very helpful and friendly crew, took us to wonderful dive sites that were not crowded. Zip line was exciting and fun. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds wonderfully comfortable. The food was plentiful and a great variety. Spa was wonderful. We felt all inclusive was the way to go, never went hungry or thirsty. Air was very comfortable, loved the open air restaurant. Pool was very pretty, but we never used, we love the ocean. Comfortable lounge chairs and hammocks. Activities for everyone or no activities if that's what you like.

Room Tip: If you scuba ask for a bottom floor room so you don't have to haul your gear thru the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sheery W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest:

On behalf of all el Cid la ceiba staff thank you for this wonderful review .We are proud that you have enjoyed your stay on our hotel and our incredible area for divers.
A lot of people are agree with your comment the zip line it´s very exciting and fun.

If there's anything else you need for the next time you come to Cozumel, feel free to contact me, I will feel very pleasant to attend you.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from our 11th time staying at El Cid La Ceiba and this hotel just keeps getting better. The minute we land, I get all excited to get to the hotel and see all of our friends. They are always cleaning, no wonder we never see any bugs. Our son and his new bride joined us for a few days at the end of their honeymoon, they like La Ceiba as well. Next year our children and grandchildren will join us for our 50th and La Ceiba will make it special. I can not single out any one person, they are all great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest:
it feels so good to read this kind of words, we appreciate your point of view, it remind us our compromise to keep the good service, I will make sure all the staff knows about your review and we are sure you will enjoy even more your next staying.
And of course we will be more than happy to host this very special occasion.
Again thank you and we are ready to welcome you on this your home away of home one more time.
Sincerely
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked our hotel at discount through hotwire and stayed in this hotel for one night. As soon as we checked in, we were welcomed by very helpful staffs and great welcome cocktail drinks. The room is spacious and clean, the wireless internet is free and fast.
The down side is that the elevator is quite small, a bit far away from the ferry(~70 peso taxi ride) and the AC is noisy during the night... Overall, it deserve what you paid for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morganjiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor, I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience of the AC , we already fix it..
I look forward to seeing you soon on this beautiful island. I hope you are well and thanks again for your comment and for recommend us.
Have a great day!

Cordially
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I were on a tight schedule for travelling and we could only stay at Cozumel for one night. Thus, we decided to choose a three-star hotel since we would not enjoy most of its services/facilities. Most of the things fit into our expectations: very nice rooms and far away from the ferry terminal.

It was a bit away from the center core, and the taxi can cost around 60-80 pesos.

The room was huge with nice view. We love their wireless!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, Gerente at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest;
Thank you very much for your kind words, we hope you come back soon, many people find that our hotel and our rooms are beautiful, we`re glad you enjoyed this marvelous staying .
Hoping to welcome you back soon with arms wide open ”

Cordially
Andres Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a one bedroom, with a murphy bed, so plenty of room, and 2 baths. Staff was very friendly and courteous. Having a mini-kitchen was very handy as well. Don't use the mini-market just outside...mark up is outrageous, even for a hotel. There's a store right across the street where you can get water and beer at much more reasonable prices. Or you can walk about 45 minutes north to Mega, a very clean well supplied supermarket. Cabs back if you're loaded down cost about $7.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are newer, but those in the old part of the hotel have walkout beach access. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest:
First at all thank I want to thank you for this lovely review, thank you so much to provide comments regarding your recent visit to Cozumel.
I am pleased with the aspects of the hotel for which you have commented positively such as the nice accommodations rooms and the most important the service you received from our staff . Great service is not a matter of luck here at El Cid, is what characterized us.
Hoping to welcome you again very soon.
Warmest Regards,
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Once again we had a great vacation at El Cid La Cieba!! It started out bad when our flight was cancelled to Houston and we did not know until we got to the United kiosk to check our bags and were told sorry you are rescheduled until the next day with no notice!! We missed our first night and day of a very needed vacation but when we did finally arrive at the hotel and we were greeted as we are every year since 1999 with the same faces. They are always glad to see us and recognize us from the previous years. Maria and Bebe at the front desk are the best!!
Also Eli and the lady who wait on the beach/pool area are always great.
There are many others who have been there as long as we have been coming here that we do not know all their names but the faces whom are also very pleasant.
We have been to 2 other hotels over the years(Cozumel Palace waste of money) but as long as we have a choice it is El Cid for us. My husband had some great dives with the hotel but would like to see them get a bigger boat. We had a good fiend that started us coming here 1999 was with us again this year so it was nice for my husband to have a dive buddy again.
We meet lots of great people and it is great to feel like it is home away from home.
The manager Andres was a great help in us getting a credit on our night lost which was the only thng unpleasant on our vaaction and the hotel made that easier for us.

all said we love el cid and will keep coming back as long as we can!! we hope to bring our son,daughter inlaw and grandsons back with us soon. we will be back next year as well!!!

thanks again El Cid La Ceiba!!!

the Staples

Room Tip: we always ask for the tower rooms. They are the best views higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest:
Please receive this note that expresses our gratitude to your kindness of completing a review of your stay in El Cid La Ceiba Hotel. Thank you for your trust again on behalf of the whole team.
My staff will be very pleased to know that you enjoy your stay one more time and I am proudly to hear that we went beyond of your expectations again to exceed your needs and expectations.
We look forward to welcome you and your family again on this your "home away of home" in the not so distant future and please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Kind regards,
Andrés Maillard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#5 of 53 in Cozumel
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $108 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing