We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cozumel and Resort(Cozumel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Club Cozumel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Inn(Cozumel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,002)
Filter reviews
2,002 results
Traveler rating
918
601
289
111
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
601
289
111
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedbabieca dive centercruise shipone bedroom suiteactivities directortower roomshot tubbeach areajuan carlosday passfishthe general managerall inclusive planthe wait staffall inclusive packagetime sharetimeshare presentation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,123 - 1,128 of 2,002 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had an excellent day at El Cid La Ceiba.
The hotel is located 5 minutes from the pier where RCCL docks its bigger ships. We paid for a day pass and could use the facilities of the hotel for the day. Our ship was right if front of the hotel and the view was incredible. There is a pool and a small entry into the ocean (very rocky) and a place to snorkel. There were tons of fish and a baracuda :) The whole place was clean. We had lunch there and it was good quality. The service was great. We would do this again, it was our favorite port of call.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Visitors,

On behalf of El Cid La Ceiba Hotel staff , I would like to thank you for your amazing review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you had a great day and a lot of fun in our facilities.
It will be a privilege to serve you again very soon and thank you again for this wonderful review

On regards,
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

As part of a cruise ship excursion, we were able to spend some time at this resort before returning to the ship. We sat on the dock area where the dive boats pick up and drop off, and it was nice. A nice roped-off area for snorkeling. The drinks were full-strength, so lightweights beware. About a 15-minute walk back to where our ship was.

Thank cttagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The staff here really made our stay great. The hotel and grounds are super clean. The only drawback is that the hotel is a bit older, so it does not have the huge grand entrance and that sort of thing that some newer places might have.
We stayed in a large 3 bedroom, 2 story suite. Our only complaint was the tendency of 2 of the 3 bathrooms to have some septic odor. To be fair, we did not complain to see if it could be resolved because the suite was otherwise great and we didnt want to switch rooms. There is a new shopping complex across the street with upscale shops. The cruise ships were fun for us to watch coming in and out. Overall, the hotel was pretty quiet, very clean, and we had a very good stay.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ksprott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest:
I want to Thank you for your review. Your referrals are very important to us to encourage our staff and ourselves.

We work hard taking great care of our guests and will always do our best to exceed their expectations. indeed with the detail mentioned on your review is already fixed.


Thank you again for your most warm and generous compliments and hoping to welcome you again soon.
Warmest Regards,
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I liked Cozumel when the cruise ship stopped by for a day and went to El Cid a year later when my friend had a timeshare week available. I was hooked after that. Been back most every year since. El Cid is a great place to relax and unwind. We especially like that we don't have to go "all inclusive" and can get out to sample the local cuisine most every night. The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. We can truly unwind there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,
On behalf of all my team, thank you again for taking the time to share with us your kind comments. Also, your recommendations are perfect.
Our hotel is characterized a for our location , friendly and attentive staff and helpful.
We are ready to welcome you again with arms open.
Cordially
Andrés Maillard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a room in the tower, which was spacious, clean and had a nice view. The staff, especially Bibiana at the front desk and Roberto, the pastry chef, were uniformly gracious and accommodating. We pleased overall, but the cruise ships were annoying. The hotel offers day passes to the cruise ship passengers and staff.

Room Tip: Higher rooms in the tower have the best view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillaRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
First at all I want to thank you for this wonderful review about your stay at El Cid La Ceiba Hotel It’s always good to hear that our team cared for you during your trip, we will be sure to share your words along to our enthusiastic team.
Hoping to visit us again very soon.
Sincerely
Andrés Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews