We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at La Ceiba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First stay at La Ceiba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We are members of El Cid Millionaires Club and this was our first visit to La Ceiba. We were there the first week of March when the north winds blew for about three days, so diving was limited. The onsite dive shop was closed due to the weather, so we opted for Aldora because they were the only ones who were offering trips on the east side of the island and we got a rare treat because that is the side that is usually windward and very few divers get an opportunity to dive that side.
We were very pleased with La Ceiba in all areas and really appreciate the nice, quiet atmosphere. I do wish, however, that management put more limits on the number of day passes issued to the cruise ship patrons. It is very difficult to get internet access when they are on our property and also they do change the quiet atmosphere that we prefer.
Staff was professional and food was very good. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel El Cid La Ceiba I would like to thank you for your great review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that you had a perfect stay and enjoyed our areas and the unique and special atmosphere of our resort.

Our system department is working with the setup of more antennas in order to provide better internet access.
We do our best to solve any issues that our guests face promptly and efficiently

Thank you again for your fantastic review and for your confidence looking forward to welcome you very soon.
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    386
    181
    73
    56
See reviews for
369
588
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife, my adult son and myself stayed here for 7 days. The check-in was speedy and we got an upgrade to our room. The room was spacious and very well apointed. This hotel may be older than some on the island but it has been well maintained. The staff maintains a cleanliness standard in the common areas that is to be admired. The pool is nice, the beach is nice, there is snorkeling with steps that lead into the water. They have an onsite dive operation although we used Dive with Martin ( a 5 minute walk ). Had plenty of very hot water with a lot of pressure. The staff at this hotel are fantastic, from the groundskeepers, to the front desk staff to the maids and bar staff, great group of employees!
PROS: lots of fish for snorkeling, HOT water, facility maintenance and cleanliness, on-site dive shop, private beach with steps into ocean,
CONS: This resort offers Cruise Ship patrons a run-of-the-resort day rate. When the cruise ships are in-port and lots of people have purchased the day package, internet speed becomes unusable. I would suggest the hotel staff evaluate the need to allow internet access to anyone beyond over-night guests. The Cruise Ship customers already have internet access on-ship.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJB2inGoodyearAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of hotel El Cid la Ceiba Staff I want to thank you for your kind comments and for your preference.
Thank you also for recognize the efforts that our staff makes to provide to all our guests a memorable experience.
We are so proud to hear that you and your family had a magnific time with us and regarding of the internet access we are working on this in order to have this service at 100%.
Hoping to welcome you back again for another fabulous vacation.

Sincerely
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We are on the island at El CID. This is our 6th trip to this hotel. There seems to be quite a bit of improvements since our last trip here. We are staying in a 1 bedroom and it is spacious and clean. Lighting upgrades have been added in the bathrooms thankfully. The service has improved and so has La Chopa the restaurant. The meals we have eaten here have been great! There seems to be more staff and they are always busy. Most of the regulars are still here. Paulina still makes the best drinks.

I love the quietness of this hotel. Soft music playing, no crazy games around the pool and a wonderful atmosphere.

2 things I would suggest. Coffee in the lobby ( had to go to OXXO) and a heated pool. Pool is too cold to sustain life. VERY few people in it. Mostly kids. I got wet up to my knees and that was it. Ocean much warmer than pool.

I visited the spa and it was fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soho204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel El Cid La Ceiba, I would like to thank you for your amazing review and for let us be part of your vacation one more time.
On your next visit you will find more improvements and the same level of service that distinguish El Cid:)
It will be a privilege to serve you again for the trip number seven , and thank you again for this visit and for your nice comments.

Cordially
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elbow, Saskatchewan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Had a great holiday with friends, staff was very attentive especially "Eleizer" who was our waiter a lot of the time. The chef was amazing, everything that came out of the kitchen was picture perfect , it didn't just look good but it was good too.The snorkeling was awesome and general location was great.
The rooms nice and keep very clean by the housekeeping staff and the night bed turn down was greatly appreciated. The sleep could be made a lot more comfortable if the plastic mattress covers were changed to a more comfortable cover.
A very relaxing place to holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 617Lorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time and effort to share your wonderful experiences to the readers of the Trip Advisor.
We are very glad to read about your kind review and nice service provided from staff, specially to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, food & beverages at our hotel. Each comment is without a doubt an opportunity to all the team members, as this will tremendously help us in continuously and consistently improve on our services.
I will share your comments with the staff mentioned specially with Eliezer, thank you for let us be part of your relaxing vacation, and hoping to welcome you back again.
Sincerely
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrisburg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay at la Ceiba. the staff is exceptionally friendly and always on hand. Front desk so helpful, too. The place is very very clean. The marble floors shine like glass and are constantly being cleaned! I appreciated the evening turn down service--I just felt pampered!
The outdoor massage tables on the beach were great and I loved my massages! There was a large varied menu at both lunch & dinner--we sampled many different kinds of salads, soups and entrees, and were very satisfied. I don't think the fish on the dinner menu was fresh...being right on the ocean, I expected better, but the shrimp & lobster dishes were excellent. The little pizza restaurant, right on the beach, has a blazing open fire, red & white check table cloths--very sweet!
For a fabulas fresh fish dinner, walk a few feet down the street to Paprika . Thursday has live music there, too.
Our favorite dinner at La Ceiba was an on the beach grill night, with romantic candle light, torches, fire leaping out of the huge grill, and plenty of fabulas choices like grilled lobster, shrimp, chicken or lamb kebob, steak grilled to order along with salad bar and a canoe (!) packed with deserts.
The snorkling right outside the hotel is as good as anywhere! We saw small barracuda, lobster, hundreds of little fish swimming all around us! When a guest sprinkles a little bread over the side of the restaurant, you become instantly surrounded by thousands of fish!
There were plenty of cruise ships docked on top of us it seemed, but we enjoyed watching all the activity. At night, the ships light up like diamonds and reflect beautifully on the water, adding to the restaurant atmosphere. The cruise ship people did not descend on La Ceiba during the day as some have reported on this site. Our 9 days were quiet & tranquil, with a large selection of empty beach chairs to choose from! No loud music--mostly gentle soothing beach & restaurant music was our experience. There was no time share presentation pressure whatsoever. As we arrived, we got one single gentle invitation which we declined, then were left alone. We are members of El Cid, so we have attended presentations in the past, and bought, so I'm not knocking them. It's just that people get turned off by the harrassment at some places, but it just isn't here at La Ceiba.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It´s a wonderful review , thank you so much for these kindly words about our services and you for pointing out our great location, services , pool, the variety and quality of our food.

I am so happy to read that you and your family had a wonderful vacation,.

our main desire is to keep improving to make El Cid Resort the best it can be, and provide the best experienced vacation to all of our guest. with your wonderful review we are sure that we are going into the right direction.

Thank you again and hoping to welcome back here at your home away of home very soon.

Sincerely
Andrés Maillard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Well maintained, clean, staff excellent, food excellent, spa was wonderful, clear blue ocean right outside window, great for snorkeling. Sales presentation was good and not pushy. Most understood my language (English). Do not expect food to be Tex-Mex like we eat at home but real native food was perfectly prepared. We like it hot. Down side bed was uncomfortable and you rolled to center and the pillows were like putting your head on a rock. You could request good pillow for $. Next time I will bring my own. Even a low cost hotel room has better bedding. We will return in the future and will have a better idea what to bring along.

Room Tip: Get a larger than studio which is just a hotel room in the states but ask to face ocean it is beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deenapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Let me thank you for selecting our hotel to stay, I am glad to read that the service delivered by our staff, reached your expectations, as well as to know that you appreciated cleanliness in room, although I really regret the bedding , but we are on the way to update them.

We sincerely hope to have you with us in a near future to provide a better pleasant vacation.

Best regards,
Andrés Maillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It was my first time at El Cid and I really enjoyed it! The view is beautiful, the hotel has its own snorkeling area with full of fish and a nice plane wreck, hot tub, pool, outdoor restaurant and bar, its own dive operator so you can dive or go on a snorkeling trip straight from the backyard...what else could you possibly want?! Well, I wish we were on an all-inclusive deal because food and drink was pretty pricey. But well worth every penny! :)
I highly recommend this place to stay at, romantic, but great for a group of friends who want to hang out together as well. It's only 5 mins away from the ferry, and everything is real close, you can just walk from the hotel if you like.
The only tiny problem we had was with our reservation, but the staff was extremely professional and friendly and they did the best they could to take care of us. I would go back again. :)

Room Tip: If it's more than 2 people wanting to stay in one room, don't get the 1 bedroom style with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel El Cid La Ceiba , I wish to thank you for your excellence comments about our resort.
We are so glad that you had a very good impression and a pleasant stay in our resort and that you enjoyed the attention of our hotel staff.
I will gladly share your wonderful review with our staff and we would be so happy to serve you again in a near future.
Thank you again for your excellence review.
Sincerely
Andrés Maillard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
1.8 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 stars 4,287 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Property: El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing