We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$302
$239
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
$289
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$242
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$142
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
$139
$115
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
$125
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$197
$159
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$200
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$504
$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,022)
Filter reviews
2,022 results
Traveler rating
928
609
289
112
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
609
289
112
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedbabieca dive centercruise shipone bedroom suiteactivities directortower roomshot tubbeach areajuan carlosday passfishthe general managerall inclusive planthe wait staffall inclusive packagetime sharetimeshare presentation
Filter
Updating list...
1,216 - 1,221 of 2,022 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had room 2110 in late October 2012. It was the perfect room! It had a small closet, a queen-sized bed, a full bathroom, and a kitchenette with all the items needed to cook. It was right next to the front office, the pool, and hammocks. The view was incredible!

Drinking the water is not recommended in this Hhtel, but the water is purified. It has a mineral taste. It is safe for brushing your teeth, showering, etc. We just bought a few gallons of water at the grocery store and we were set. Having a kitchenette and a refigerator really saved us money too.

There is a pillow menu, which was awesome! You can pick what kind of pillows you would like and it is free of charge.

The resort was fantastic. We can't say much about the dive shop since we didn't use it, but there is one available.

And, as for a beach, some complain that there isn't a real beach there, but the wave action is pretty rough in Cozumel, I do not recommend swimming in this area anyway. Swimming areas are more in the parks and are still fairly rough in some places. The island is made of limestone. Choppy surf, strong waves, and rocky shores do not mix!

I highly recommend this resort. You will be a bit out of town from San Miguel so rent a car. How else would you explore this wonderful island anyway! Enjoy!



The ambiance was great, the staff was quick and thoughtful, and room was great. Our room smelled a bit like bleach, but that is normal for Mexico and you know that room has been cleaned and samitized. The area is a high humidity area so tile floor is essential. So may find tile floor annoying but it has its purpose.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor bedroom, RM 2110.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AquaPossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

On behalf of all the staff of Hotel El Cid la Ceiba Beach Hotel I wish to thank you for your fantastic review and for your preference.
We are so glad that you a had a pleasant stay in our resort and enjoyed our suites and services.
Thank you also for recommending our resort.
We look forward to serve you and your family again.
Sincerely
Andres Maillard C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just got back from a 3 week stay at el cid la ceiba. Hotel and dive op babieca are both WONDERFUL. One of the best staffs on the island. The hotel offers free transportation to the hotel and Daniel (picks you up at airport) was great. He went above and beyond after we missplaced a piece of very important immigration paperwork. He went to the airport and helped us get what we needed in order to pass thru immigration on our departure. He was quick and very helpful. NOTE: Go straight thru lobby area at airport to the outside. The telemarketers will do anything to try to get you to stop. Even go so far as to say they are with el cid and they need to check your name on their list... IGNORE them, go straight ourside. Daniel will then help you with an el cid sign and shirt. Next the staff at check in. Maria, Babbiana and Ester all go above and beyond to make your stay wonderful. If you have a question ask them and they will either tell you or find out the info for you. They are GREAT. The room we got was great and if you have a problem (ac messed up) it will be fixed immediately. Ours was fixed as soon as we returned from diving. Maids are honest and very good, NOTE: i always tip at the beginning of my stay rather than the end and i have never had any problem at all. You will be pleasently surprised at how far a small tip will go in this hotel. Happy hour was always 4-6 and we took advantage of it daily! the food in the restaurant was always wonderful (wow their steaks were great and if you go deep sea fishing they will prepare it for you for a very small fee WONDERFUL) just wish they had a small sports bar for the ball games. the on site dive shop is always WONDERFUL luis the dive master is one of the best on the island he is an instuctor as well as a dive master etc.... i have seen him help divers that have had a previous bad dive experence and turn them into happy unscared divers. We have dove many times with new divers and he has the ability to keep all safe and happy on the dive regardless of their dive experence level. I have never seen a dive master with such a good eye at seeing and finding aquatic life.... second to none. We take pics and always come home with photos that are Wonderful!!! Only thing i would recommend is that the dive shop post photos of some of the mairine life we see and maybe offer a video or photo to divers. We always share our photos with the other divers we dive with but what happens after we leave. We have people buying zip drives for us to download photos for them and it is nothing for us to have 3 and 4 groups that want a pic of themselves. NOTE: make sure you send the manager of the dive shop Juan Carlos an email so he can put you in the book if you plan on diving jcgonzalez@elcid.com.mx . Babieca has one boat and it only holds up to 8 divers it is a medium size very fast boat that can get you to the far away dive sites like palacar rather quickly but they do fill up fast. The shop offers a morning 9 am 2 tank dive trip as well as an afternoon trip and night dives. All and All this is by far the best value and one of the nicest resort in all of coz. We love the island but we truelly love the family like atmosphere we enjoy everytime we walk thru the doors. While it may not be a 5 star it makes up for that in its ability to go above and beyond to make you feel at home and comfortable.

p.s if your kids want to see a local favorite bring a banana and head down to the tennis court around 12... Carlos the iguana hangs out there and will pose for you...

Room Tip: older side (3 levels high) is more for the divers. older rooms but close to dive shop. The tower has the newer rooms. If you plan on staying for a nice while ask to be upgraded to a 1 bedroom may cost a little more but tons more room for a longer stay
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cotton_Farmer_Clay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear family
Again What emotive comment. It gives me honor to know that you are part of our team.
I am very glad to know that our staff meet your expectations as always in order to achieve you another excelent staying with us.

Be assured that I will pass your congratulations to everyone for their great job.
Thank you very much for making us part of your experience and even more for your loyalty, hope to see you again in this your home El Cid La Ceiba Hotel, your home in the caribbean.

Receive our best wishes
Andrès Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed 19-24 October, 2012 for the third time. Hotel is the best value in Cozumel. All staff are extremely friendly, competent and attentive. After the first day, front desk and restaurant people knew our names and favorite wants. The Room Manager, Esther, is very visible and interacts continually with guests making sure they are happy with everything. One bedroom suites are terrific with all the amenities and outstanding views from the balconies. Food and drinks were very good with a large variety. The fish dishes were the best we have had anywhere. Rooms and public areas were kept immaculate. Snorkeling from the beach had a good entry and terrific views.

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom suite in the low rise section.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madgolfer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of. Hotel El Cid la Ceiba Beach Hotel I wish to thank you for your fantastic review.
We are so glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Thank you also for your nice comments and complements for our hotel staff, we will share your nice review with all of them:)
It will be a pleasure to serve you and your family in a near future and thank you again for your nice review and for selecting again our resort.
Cordially
Andres Maillard C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Absolutely loved it. We visited October 17-24, 2012. Very clean and people very attentive. The food is not quite up to cruise ship level but is overall good. The beds were a little hard for me but I get used to this when traveling. We walked into the city center 3 different times and found it to be a good and relaxing way to get some excercise and enjoy the area. We rented scooters and took a day driving around the island. This was fun and I did not feel unsafe for even a moment there. I do ride at home so I am experienced. I do read of many discouraging this but if you are not used to riding then getting drunk and learning at a place you don't know is just stupid. Otherwise, what a fun day. The dive shop is first rate and the staff there are very skilled. Overall, one of the better stays I have had at a resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,
I love reading you had a wonderful vacation. As you well mention, our staff specializes in providing a service of excellence to our guests and serve you, it is our pleasure.
We greatly thank you for giving us your percepcion in regards to our excelents services of the dive shop.
We hope to serve you very soon again in order to provide to you other amazing vacations.
Cordially yours.
Andrès Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited this property October 6-13 2012 and the time we got our the cab we were impressed with the Resort. The bell man immediately helped us get all our bags out of the taxi, help was coming from all over. We were impressed that they were still cleaning up, touching up the place late in the evening. We checked in on the evening shift and the young lady at the desk by the name of Roscio was excellent started taking care of of right away and Bobiana was there also with a watchful eye making sure that we had everything we needed before we went to our condo and I mean we had some place. It wasn't rity lasted 24/7 just a condo it was an apartment 2 bedrooms with three full bath. The place was stocked with plenty towels , pillows blankets and condiments we were in heaven. The following day we were told that this was not a large Resort small by others standards, now I know other places were bigger and they had nice staff but we couldn't have gotten a nicer more professional staff. The whole place was very clean, the pool area , security
Was 24/7 around the clock. The food compared to other places was good, the restaurant staff was ll customer service orientted,very helpful. EVERYBODY At EL Cid La Ceiba in Cozumel was so nice and things were so wonderful I could write a book about how great they were. Housekeeping was certainly always on top of every need and even though our tips were not that great the housekeeper on the 6th floor who took care of our 2bedroom suite1630 was so good it was a breath of fresh air . even there time share contact Gabby was so nice we were looking to be pushed and it did not go over the line of we re here to help you. Thanks El Cid for making our 23rd wedding anniversary so wonderful. The only problem we had was there was only one English speaking Tv channel, but if you are there to rekindle the marriage fires who cares what language the tv is in
The whole staff are well trained professionals and they are all utmost service conscious .

Room Tip: 1630 Suite
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pstrongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andresmaillard, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your staying at our Resort. We feel very excited to know that you enjoyed our resort as well as we feel very honored for your kind words about our daily work. it is our pleasure to serve you again very soon.

Kind regards,.
Andrès Maillard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews