We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View Nice Resort Room 1820”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed at El Cid June 23-27 2011 in room 1820. First let me thank Bibiana at the front desk who was so sweet and helpful with a genuine smile. Check in and out was a breeze and were greeted with a cold fruit drink upon arrival. We never encountered any of those pesky condo sales people other reviews have mentioned. Just my advise if you do, shake you finger and say NO. We arrived to our room to find everything in working order espically the AC which would freeze you out. Never used the small stove or microwave but they are there for those that wish to cook. The view was amazing and El Cid is a great location to watch the cruise ships come and go if you like to watch all the activity, which we do. The hotel has a very nice snorkling and beach area. There a steps down into the water which is great for putting on your fins and mask. While El Cid does have cruise ship passengers come to the hotel for a day pass, we never found this bothersome nor the influx of people to be to large. It was actuall fun to share information with them about their ship and our experiences on staying on the island. However, this would be something to consider when choosing your hotel, espically if the crowds were larger. We only ate in the restaurant once for breakfast. Kinda steep at $14.00 for a so so buffet. Here's a tip, go just up the street to Casa Del Mar for breakfast and get the same stuff for just $7.00 and the coffee is better. Sorry El Cid. Tip 2 there is a small store just 2 blocks away and buy a gallon of water. Its cheaper than individual bottles of water to keep in the room. The wi-fi worked great in the lobby and restaurant areas but not in the room. No big deal just fyi. Housekeeping was great and never had any issues. Called for some extra towels and they came right up. They are doing some work on the hotel and are there was a hammer noise throughout the day. One afternoon after a diving trip we came back for a short nap before heading to town for dinner. We called the front desk about the noise not expecting anything could be done. In about five minutes the noise stopped. Thats service, thanks El Cid for a wonderful staff especially Bibiana and great stay! I love Cozumel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank philcentraltexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff. It is our pleasure to provide the service you expect while staying at La Ceiba. We look forward to serving you again during your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,889 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

We did it again! 7 Wonderful days at El Cid, absolutely great, the service still very, very good, we had the Elite plan again and enjoy it big time, the Restaurant La Chopa is still as good if not better than last year, the food is delicious the drinks and all the staff is the best, all the guys back there, Crisanto, Eleazar, Don Leonardo, Fausto, Alberto, Julieta y Jaime, Jorge, all in general take good care of the customer and make the stay very pleasant and tastefull. Thanks! to all of you guys, hope to see you again.
If one thing we dislike was the presentation to El Cid Puerto Morelos, they told us on the beguining that we were going to be able to use our Elite plan out there too, so there we go 8 people to the presentation and spent most of the day out there for nothing, the plan was not good there, took almost one hour to get a Taxi out of there, on the way back there was a lot of people very upset talking about it too.. We are now sure we are never going to beleive on what's offered on these presentations again. Someone needs to think about what a vacation day means to the people that planned it for months.
Sincerely. Mario, Eva, Carlos, Mode, Angel, Ileana, Benjamin and Martha.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1961mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

Our restaurant staff thanks you for your wonderful review of the service and food. We are all very proud of La Chopa!

On behalf of everyone we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you and your family experienced by taking our vacation club presentation. We do make every effort to provide correct information about the day, as well as gifts to compensate you for your vacation day spent traveling to Puerto Morelos. Everyone at El Cid realizes how important your vacation time is to you as a family. I will personally pass along your concerns to our vacation club division, and work to provide better communication and service to all of our guests attending the presentation in the future. Thank you so much for your feedback which allows us to improve all services offered to our guests. We look forward to seeing you and all of your family at La Ceibe next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My wife and I chose to celebrate our honeymoon at El Cid La Ceiba. We had been previous guests and chose this resort because of the ambiance and the on site dive shop. But most importantly we chose El Cid because of the staff and level of service we receive. We selected the Elite meal plan which the resort offers and I was delighted with my decision. We ate, and drank whatever we wanted, whenever we wanted. I didn't tip until the end of our stay, and my service was still exceptional. My wife knows the staff by name and loves conversing with them during our stay. They are always cordially, welcoming and attentive to all our needs.
I highly recommend the Babieca Dive Shop and Juan Carlos and his staff. My wife and myself are both avid scuba divers and love diving Cozumel. Our dive masters Luis and Roberto and our boat captain Mariano saw to our every need. My wife was asked on a daily basis what reef see wanted to dive each day, and provided Luis her check list.
I love this resort, for those looking to dive Cozumel and enjoy a laid back atmosphere to dine, relax, dive, swim and play should check out El Cid La Ceiba

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doubledipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Babieca Dive Shop and all of the staff at La Ceiba, I want to thank you for your wonderful review. Our guests satisfaction is our primary goal at El Cid, and it is always great when we hear how well we have done. Please tell your wife hello from everyone here, and we look forward to serving you again during your next dive vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We love LOVE this resort, which makes me want to defend it to those who have left negative comments on it. First off this can best be described as a DIVE resort and you can snorkel if you don't dive. It is for those of us who want to be in the water the majority of our vacation mornings and some evenings. You have a great breakfast and then dive around 8:30 or 9 am and get back around 1:30pm. You enjoy a great lunch and cervesa(s) and then you are free to lay on the beach, swim in the ocean, pool, or salt water lagoon with waterfall. Dinner can be whatever you want whether you want to eat onsite or off. It is great for those who can occupy themselves and don't need someone directing them. Some people like to take cruise vacations where they don't really have to think about what they are going to do that day because all the activities are planned for them they just have to show up. They like to be pampered and waited on hand and foot, and have immediate gratification. To those people I would suggest they probably stick with cruising. This resort caters more to divers, and people just looking to relax, kick back, and if there's a impromptu game or party sure we'll consider it when we finish our drink. The others who made negative comments most likely were exchange customers meaning we exchange our timeshare for someone else’s. These people stay in the older side of the resort (because that is what their exchange allows this is no fault of the hotel at all), which wonderful if you want to be close to the dive shop and don't need to feel like you are staying in Beverly Hills. Yes it's older and maybe a little dimmer, but it is still nice and you have an ocean view with clean sheet. There is nothing wrong with the food, but FYI you are in Mexico it is going to be different and you may not like everything you try that isn't their fault. And I have to say that I am completely shocked that anyone would accuse their staff of being rude, because this just isn't the case. I know most of the staff by name and am always greeted with a huge smile and promptly attended to for everything. The only thing I can imagine is that you may have been talking to someone that doesn't speak English well which may have made your communication more difficult and they may have not understood you. Take your time and get confirmation that they know what you want and please give grace where you can as you are in their country and they are not asking you to speak their language, they are trying to understand yours. Be nice and people will be nice to you. Say please and thank you for everything and try to smile when you talk to people yes they are there to serve you, but that doesn't mean they deserve to be treated like your servant. And remember to tip whether you do it daily or at the end of your stay tip the waiter, maid, and dive staff as you would want someone to tip you if you spent all week trying to make their vacation fun. Now for the fun. If you are a diver, this is the place to be, the dive shop is literally onsite (you don't have to walk across the street like most of the resorts on the island). The best dive master (he's actually an instructor now) is Luis, he is easy going, fun and knows the best places to dive. Juan Carlos runs the dive shop and is very accommodating. The dive lockers are big enough for two sets of gear and are close to the dive shop so you don’t have to lug your gear a great distance. The diving prices are average, the boat accommodates 8 divers + the crew so you are not diving with a huge group, but if you are traveling with more people Juan Carlos is happy to arrange another boat but you should probably arrange it with him ahead of time because he also has to deal with the snorkel people and there are many. There are cruise ships that buy day passes there so you see the ship in the morning but most of the time they are leaving or close to it by the time you get back from diving. Plus its cool to look at the different ships and it’s interesting to see how they "park" them. There is a great cove to do your check dive and get your weight right and there is a plane wreck to the left by the pier, but make sure you use your safety sausage or marker so that the boats know you are there as the plane is outside the rope line. There is also a great lagoon/beach area to the left of the restaurant which is great if you don't like public pools. The food is great if you’re flexible and realize you aren't in the US so it’s different. They have a grill out most weeks and a karaoke night which is fun some of the staff join in which is great. Get one of the all inclusive deals because there is a charge for bottled water and you don't drink the tap water. We get the top end one because we drink and eat way more than what it costs, because drinks are like $4 a beer, and $7 for mixed drinks (it’s like that all over Mexico so that is not high to them. We like to party after we dive so that is like 1/3 of the cost right there, then 3 meals on site and we have spent more than the cost of the pass. It always looks like a lot at first but when you look at your bills you will realize it really is a good deal. So go and have a blast, relax, be flexible, patient and kind and you will love this resort as much as we do. Thank you Dee, Salvador, Luis (DM), Luis (server), Roberto, Eliazar, Maria, Bibianca, Juan Carlos, Mariano, Leonardo, William, Fausto, George, Juan, and everyone else who made our stay so wonderful I cried when I had to leave. We love you all and can't wait to come back!
Love,
Kimberly and Tom McGrath

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mugepugy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of everyone at La Ceiba, thank you! We will continue to work on providing this level of service and satisfaction to you and all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next dive vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Another great stay at La Ceiba. We are returning guess and this stay is just as good as the others in the past several years. The room is always kept clean with daily room service. Sometime you can get a treat from the maid when they leave artistic towel designs. The grounds is always spotless, you can see the upkeep of the resort starting early in the morning and lasting until after sundown. The diving is great again. Great crew on the babieca dive center. We dove over 15 dives and each time we had a great ride and the service was wonderful. The divemaster changed out the tank on every dive. This made our dive trip unforgettable, we will definitely return again, maybe this fall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bra_Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at this resort because we felt it was a good place to stay with our kids. We have planned this vacation for over a year as our son was graduating from high school and one of the last family vacations we would probably be going on. We were very disappointed with this resort!! There were very very few activities at the resort, nothing for kids to do, and when the cruise ships came in they pretty much took over the resort. What a disappointment! We have traveled to Mexico multiple times and this was honestly the worst place we have ever stayed. We will definitely not be returning!! The staff was rude and not very helpful, unlike the other resort we have stayed at. Truly a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noregrets32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We did the Europen plan so I don't no about the food but the drinks are strong if a bit over priced (4.50 a beer). The staff is great but not a place for the kids (no activites). It is showing some wear & tear but I think they R working on it. Not much parking but they try to save U a spot.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLC0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salavatore, General Manager at El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for choosing La Ceiba for your family`s vacation. We are working hard to improve the outside appearance of the hotel. La Ceiba prides itself on being a family resort. We have a children’s pool, and various activities during the day for the kids to participate in. We look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
1.2 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
6 mi away
Melia Cozumel Golf - All Inclusive
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Cozumel All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel

Address: Carr. a Chankanaab Km 4. 5, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Cozumel
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range: $84 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Cid La Ceiba Beach resort is an oceanfront paradise perfectly in tune with Cozumel's easygoing island rhythms. Explore the island's enchanting beaches, lush mangrove forests and brilliantly colored reefs with amazing sea life. Whether you are in search of a romantic getaway or a tropical setting to reconnect with family and friends, our intimate and friendly resort offers the ideal setting for snorkeling, diving or simply lazing by the pool. Your vacation is sure to be relaxing and authentic experience at El Cid La Ceiba. • Babieca Dive Shop on site with PADI certified dive masters. • Spectacular diving, snorkeling and unmatched ocean views. • European and All-Inclusive Plans • Fly High Adventures, eco-park featuring 6 zip line platforms and six rugged trails • Two swimming pools: a free-form pool with kids' area and a tide pool with cascading waterfalls, rock formations, and lush gardens • Ocean View and Ocean Front Accommodations. • All Inclusive and European Meal Plans • International cuisine in our Oceanfront Restaurants • Nearby shopping at Plaza & downtown area. • Three miles from Chakanaab Park • Only Six miles from Cozumel International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cid La Ceiba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Cozumel
El Cid La Ceiba Cozumel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing