We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pirate Dinner Cruise”
Review of This Is Cozumel

This Is Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Genuine customer reviews for our Cozumel tours and activities. If you've booked something through us please post your review, we truly value all comments.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were in Cozumel in February 2014 and utilized this company to book our Pirate Dinner Cruise. The communication was great through them and we found them to be very reputable throughout!! No complaints here! The process from start to finish was seamless for us.

Thank Dino033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisiscozumel, Manager at This Is Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hola Dino033 and a big thanks for your comments, we're pleased everything went smoothly and hope we get another opportunity to assist you again in Cozumel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

The guide was excellent. Very knowledgable about the island and the resident as well as the winter birds.
The guide and driver arranged to pick me up at my hotel at 5am so I could catch a look of a resident nightjar.
At my request the guide designed a tour to focus on the endemic species of Cozumel and the Yucatan. With the early start I was able to see several of the endemics and add to my life list.
Both the guide and driver were extremely professional and completely accommodating.
Overall, an excellent experience!

Thank Hruffjcstbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisiscozumel, Manager at This Is Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hi Hruffjcstbj and thanks for the great review! We're delighted you managed to add some new birds to your list on our tour and hope you can come back and visit us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have been coming to Passion Island for several years now and will continue to for future adventures. The staff is excellent and really takes care of you! They have added a lot to the island since we first started coming; all to the travelers' advantage! The food is good and the free drinks are even better! The last time we were there in January 2014, they had added a supervised children's area that my kiddo enjoyed. It is out in the open so you can keep an eye on your little one. The scenery is immaculate and, even though there might be a busload from the cruise ship, Passion Island still seems semi-private and quiet. There is something for everyone…hammocks, sun chairs, shade tables and chairs, volleyball, water trampoline, and shopping. You can sit and enjoy the views and watch the games or take a chair away from the main area and relax in quiet peace. I have recommended Passion Island several times and will continue to do so to all that go to Cozumel.

1  Thank RCarlson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisiscozumel, Manager at This Is Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hello RCarlson2014 and thank you very much for posting your review. We're delighted you had such a good time on the Cozumel Passion Island Tour that you booked with us, it's a fantastic beach getaway and one of our favorite places in Cozumel! It's also good to hear that you like the changes they've made and we hope you can make it back to Cozumel and Passion Island very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We booked a dune buggy tour online instead of with the cruise line. We were told to meet at Varaderos Beach to begin our excursion and our tour guide was not there. We waited quite some time for him. He had apparently been waiting for us at the cruise port. We were upset about this initially, but the local people running the restaurant at the beach location were very friendly and super nice. We talked to them while waiting for our tour guide. Once tour guide finally arrived, we and approximately 8 other groups of people, either in jeeps or dune buggies followed him to Punta Sur Park which was very pretty. We also went to a tequila tour and the kids snorkeled at a mediocre beach before being served a fabulous Mexican meal. Overall, the tour was pretty good and staff were super friendly. Cozumel was beautiful. I think we would have enjoyed it more had it been at a different beach were we could have layed out and relaxed. I do want to mention here that This Is Cozumel management have been extremely pleasant and I think they are sincerely trying to represent a great and reputable company.

Thank Itraveldou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisiscozumel, Manager at This Is Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Itraveldou and a big thanks for posting your review of our Dune Buggy Tour! Our apologies for the delay at the beginning of your tour, this was due to it being one of the busiest days of the year and a misunderstanding by the tour operator over your meeting point. We're glad this didn't detract too much from the rest of the tour and that you had a good time though. We've also made sure that the tour operator has put systems in place to prevent this happening again. Thank you again for booking with us and posting your feedback, and we hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We were on a cruise stop in Cozumel for about 10 hours, decided to book our own tour online before we left, as it's very expensive for a family such as ours with 6 people, including a son in a wheelchair. I found "This is Cozumel- private tours" and the booking procedure, the pickup, the driver, were all problem free. Our driver was very friendly, spoke english well, and knew the island well and where we could go problem free with a wheelchair. The only negative aspect I have, and I knew this going there, is that wheelchair accessible in North America, is not Wheelchair accessible in most other countries including Cozumel, Mexico. We consider a wheelchair accessible vehicle in Canada to be modified either by having a higher roof, or a lowered floor, so that the wheelchair user can sit comfortably without hitting their head on the roof of the vehicle. As well we have tiedowns for the chairs in Canada/Usa, just in case of a car accident, holding down the chair, and the person in the wheelchair. The vehicle we were given that was wheelchair accessible, simply had a lift that puts the wheelchair in the very back of the van, and it takes some manipulation to get the person in safely without hitting their head on the door latches, and roof of the vehicle. But to their benefit, our driver was extremely gentle and careful, made do with what he had, and drove very safely to keep us at ease and keep our son comfortable.

8  Thank Enzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thisiscozumel, Manager at This Is Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Enzo and thank you for finding time to post your review, we're delighted you had such a good tour! Thank you also for pointing out some of the differences between the vehicles here and in the USA/Canada. This feedback was very useful and we have now used it to update the tour description on our website to help future customers. We hope you can make it back to Cozumel again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed This Is Cozumel also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to This Is Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing