We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY TERRIBLE FOOD AND WORSE SERVICE”

Agave Cantina & Grill
Ranked #128 of 415 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Come enjoy the afternoon at the newly remodeled main square with a great atmosphere and quality food and drinks
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I consider ourselves foodies when it comes to evaluating restaurants, so deals such as two for one drinks or cheap beer or margaritas don't really factor into our overall opinion of a restaurant. We tend not to go back to places after trying them once or twice, unless by our standards, we couldn't cook it ourselves and it tasted great. One other thing, we have learned over the years that if a restaurant has a book for a menu (i.e. multiple pages of vastly different items) then everything suffers. If you are fish place make a few great fish items, if a steak place the same. With that said, sometimes someone surprises us.
Here is our 10 cents about the places we ate during our two weeks in Cozumel at the end of July 2012.
The barker got our attention here so we stopped. It is on the square and has very pretty or handsome outdoor furnishings. The menu is extensive (should have been the first clue). The food was BAD! Wouldn’t go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2015

Hello Arturo and thanks for your review, we are under new ownership and i cant agree enough with you that the best tasate is home taste and the best menu is a simple menu, I hope you give us a chance to serve you again, im sure you will have a pleasent surprise.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 85 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

After much debate among family relative to many choices in the tower clock square area we settled on agave because we liked the hostess who was out front. To be brief, the drinks were ok, the service while friendly was incredibly slow with no explanation or apology.... About an hour from time we placed our order until we got our food. Food itself was a mixed bag; of 5 diners, one enjoyed their meal, 2 were ok with theirs and 2 were very unhappy. With the very many great eating establishments to choose from in Cozumel, we would recommend avoiding this one.

Thank 1959mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2015

Hello and thank you for your review, we are under new ownership and we hope that you give us a chance to serve you again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

All we wanted were sunset drinks, and we were very explicit -- so the fourth time the waiter asked to serve us appetizers or dinner, we were very annoyed. He also promised I would love his Margarita, or it was free. I should have accepted his offer, because even after he returned it to the bar for more tequila, it was still watered down. If I'm paying 8.50 US for a Margarita in Cozumel, and it's a watered-down one, at least use good tequila. We were so disappointed, because location is good, atmosphere and tables pretty, but we won't be back when there are so many other choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YoginiDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2015

Hello and thank you for your review, sorry for your experience here, we are under new ownership, and quality is our top priority, hopefully you ca give us another chance here in cozumel.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We hadn't planned on eating there when we were walking around the square, but decided to have a late lunch there. I had the best quesadillas I've ever eaten. I ordered them, not expecting anything special, but they were excellent! The rest of our food was very good and it was a pleasant place to hang out on the square and have a meal. Pleasant surroundings on the square and good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bjaindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2015

Thank you very much for your review, we are under new ownership, hopefully you can join us again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We noticed Agave during our January trip, but didn't make it for dinner. This time, we thought we might give it a shot. On our last day on the island, we had decided on dinner, but as we were walking our bikes around the square, walked past Agave and thought, hey, let's check the menu just to see. The owner, Ricky (Ricardo) came up and asked us if we wanted a table. We told him we were just checking the menu for dinner that night, and he gave us a coupon for a free appetizer. We recognized him - he used to work at Mosaicoz next door. Anyway, the menu was pretty extensive and the prices looked good so we tried it out. It's a pretty classy place for the location - I was impressed. At first we were disappointed that the free app was just guacamole and pico de gallo, but then when it arrived we changed our mind. The pico had pesto and parmesan mixed in it - sounds weird but was amazing. the waiter had lots of info on the dishes and made some recommendations - the margs are great too. I had coconut and my husband had cucumber (only strange thing was his second marg came in a MUCH SMALLER glass than the first, but for the same price - we didn't say anything though because our food was so reasonable). Our food was HANDS DOWN the best meal we had on the island during this trip. It was presented very attractively - almost like a gourmet restaurant but for casual, sit down restaurant prices. I still can't believe how cheap it was for the flavor and quality. My husband's shrimps were HUGE, and full of flavor. Our server, Victor, was very pleasant. The other cool thing was THEY DON'T HOLLER AT YOU to come eat at their restaurant, like every other restaurant on the square does.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tawney112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2015

Thank you very much for your review, i hope we can be of service again, we are now under new ownership, so we will be happy to have you again soon!!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agave Cantina & Grill also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Agave Cantina & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing