We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch in Cozumel!”

Agave Cantina & Grill
Ranked #114 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Come enjoy the afternoon at the newly remodeled main square with a great atmosphere and quality food and drinks
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Cozumel!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We hadn't planned on eating there when we were walking around the square, but decided to have a late lunch there. I had the best quesadillas I've ever eaten. I ordered them, not expecting anything special, but they were excellent! The rest of our food was very good and it was a pleasant place to hang out on the square and have a meal. Pleasant surroundings on the square and good service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjaindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2015
Thank you very much for your review, we are under new ownership, hopefully you can join us again soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    13
    2
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“This place was a true surprise”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We noticed Agave during our January trip, but didn't make it for dinner. This time, we thought we might give it a shot. On our last day on the island, we had decided on dinner, but as we were walking our bikes around the square, walked past Agave and thought, hey, let's check the menu just to see. The owner, Ricky (Ricardo) came up and asked us if we wanted a table. We told him we were just checking the menu for dinner that night, and he gave us a coupon for a free appetizer. We recognized him - he used to work at Mosaicoz next door. Anyway, the menu was pretty extensive and the prices looked good so we tried it out. It's a pretty classy place for the location - I was impressed. At first we were disappointed that the free app was just guacamole and pico de gallo, but then when it arrived we changed our mind. The pico had pesto and parmesan mixed in it - sounds weird but was amazing. the waiter had lots of info on the dishes and made some recommendations - the margs are great too. I had coconut and my husband had cucumber (only strange thing was his second marg came in a MUCH SMALLER glass than the first, but for the same price - we didn't say anything though because our food was so reasonable). Our food was HANDS DOWN the best meal we had on the island during this trip. It was presented very attractively - almost like a gourmet restaurant but for casual, sit down restaurant prices. I still can't believe how cheap it was for the flavor and quality. My husband's shrimps were HUGE, and full of flavor. Our server, Victor, was very pleasant. The other cool thing was THEY DON'T HOLLER AT YOU to come eat at their restaurant, like every other restaurant on the square does.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tawney112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2015
Thank you very much for your review, i hope we can be of service again, we are now under new ownership, so we will be happy to have you again soon!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best margaritas and shrimp I had my whole vacation.”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We were looking for a place to eat that is a good seafood spot. A man named ricky ricardo who was working at the restaurant at the time told us to give them a try. We sat down and brought me one of the best tasting margaritas i ever had. Then he made me a double order of the shrimp dish i wanted. Best meal in Mexico. Thank you ricky ricardo for stopping us that day, money well spent after my fourth huge margarita.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VernonLilly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2015
Thank you for your review, we are under new ownership we hope you can stop by and join us soon!!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and location, bend-over-backwards service”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were "recruited" to have a drink by the waiter, which is often how you are greeted while walking past this restaurant, located on Cozumel's central square. The margarita was good, and Rickie (Ricardo) was friendly and engaging.

We had already eaten this evening, but asked Rickie about vegetables, which we don't get enough of while traveling, and are often in sparse supply in Mexican cuisine. We asked if they would cook veggies for our dinner the next night, and Rickie was more than accommodating--probably never realizing we would actually return the following evening.

We did just that, armed with broccoli from the Mega Mercado. The chicken (Julio's) was very nicely seasoned, and my partner's blackened shrimp tacos were muy sabroso! Plus, Rickie prepared a special sauce for our steamed broccoli ingeniously concocted from garlic, olive oil and some type of cream. It was a nice addition. Service was good, and the outdoor seating enabled us to watch nearby street performers.

The restaurant is new, but promising. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2015
Thanks for your review, hopefully you can come join us again, we are under new ownership, and the square has been recently renovated, so the experience is complete.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Miami Vice at Agave is to die for!”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stopped in for drinks- I had a Miami Vice and my husband had a margarita. It was probably the best Miami Vice I've ever had and believe me, I have had plenty on various trips. Victor was friendly and funny but always remained professional. Check this place out if you're in the town square!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marsch05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo N, Owner at Agave Cantina & Grill, responded to this review, August 23, 2015
We appreciate your review, we are under new ownership, and we hope you come and try our BLUE AGAVE house cocktail, you will be surprised.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agave Cantina & Grill also viewed

 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Agave Cantina & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing