We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of La Terraza

La Terraza
Ranked #87 of 384 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh seafood delivered daily, homemade pasta, and fresh baked bread. Everything is made in house, all of our sauces marinara, alfredo, and pesto. All of our desserts are made in our kitchen with fresh ingredients. fresh produce delivered daily. Homemade pizza's made to order. Our experienced waiters are helpful and courteous. We are happy to tailor your meal to your dietary needs.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

It's been a number of years since we have been in this space previously occupied by Prima but will make it a stop on visits back to the island. I had the lobster ravioli which was good but could be great with a bit more lobster and a touch less sauce. Very generous portion, however. My husband had the crab dinner special - a mound of crab from the east side of the island. The meat was perfectly prepared - nice and tender. He had a side of pesto fetticuni but couldn't eat because it was too heavy on garlic - and we both love garlic so that's saying a lot. The service was spotty at first - couldn't get a second menu so I grabbed one myself. One of the waiters was kind enough to help extract some of the meat from the crab shells my husband thought he had picked through. The gal who ended up being our primary server was very attentive without being aggressive - very sweet lady. Overall, our experience was a good one but there is room for improvement.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lm55417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    41
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Ended up here after a horrible experience earlier that night. We were greeted well and taken care of the entire night. The husband/wife that run the restaurant were both great, going out of their way to do whatever they could. Wife had lasagna and I had steak and both were very good. Excellent garlic bread to accompany the meal and the house wine was decent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DondeEstaLaPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“fantastic food - great service”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

not having been to San Miguel for 7 years, it was great to see that this restaurant was reopened.... the service, the food and the ambiance was excellent.... home baked bread, fantastic black angus steaks, and home made deserts were all large in size and fantastic in taste....... if ever you go to Cozumel check out this restaurant you will not be disappointed........

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Terraza.....the location is still magical and the food is wonderful!”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had heard that the 'old Prima's' location had reopened with new owners, so we were quite excited to check it out. What a treat to see a lot of the same smiling faces as we climbed the stairs. We were welcomed by the new owners, (both lovely people.)
The pasta dishes were all wonderful as well as the grouper. My husband was over-the-moon to discover that they had Key Lime Pie on the menu. They have some of the best...ever! He was even sent home with a 2nd piece of pie for later....so sweet of them!

We went back a 2nd time, and tried different dishes. The Lasagna is SO good!
Wish we could've gone back a 3rd time!

The wait-staff is very attentive....great service!

We are so delighted to have that magical location back....thank you!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yaki-jaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great service and an outstanding location.”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at La Terraza. The service was outstanding.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terraza also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Terraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing