We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Burritos and Best Hot Sauce Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burritos Gorditos

Burritos Gorditos
Ranked #4 of 363 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Fast Food, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Build your own burrito! Choose from several delicious ingredients, including chicken, pork, steak, rice and beans. Top it off with some salsa, and enjoy. Everything $8 and under! We also serve breakfast burritos. All of our ingredients are fresh and each burrito is made to order.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Amazing Burritos and Best Hot Sauce Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Burritos Gorditos is a must do, any trip to Cozumel would be incomplete without it.

We visited Cozumel as part of a cruise and had to visit Burrito Gorditos based off trip advisor reviews. FYI if you are arriving on a cruise, 4 out of the 5 cruise ships when we were there docked at the larger and further Puerta Maya port, not the Downtown port that is next to Burrito Gorditos. Downtown was only a 10 dollar cab ride away and was well worth it to visit Burrito Gorditos.

The restaurant is very small and the burritos are cheap (55 pesos for a regular size). The owner was extremely personable and engaging. You could really tell he loved his job and appreciated his customers. Since this was our only chance there, we ordered the Beef, Shrimp, and Breakfast (w/ Chorizo Sausage) Burritos for 2 people. The flavouring of the burritos were not as strong as burritos Americans are used to but we still found them to be absolutely delicious and extremely fresh. The best part was the creamy Jabenero hot sauce that is made fresh every morning. The Jabenero hot sauce was spicy but still had a great flavor that left me wanting more. This hot sauce was the best I have ever had, if he used artificial preservatives I would have taken a bottle home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    96
    23
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great burrito, break from the people trying to sell you things”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

For around $15 USD, we got two great burritos, 3 glass bottle Cokes, and a great conversation with the owner. We also got a much needed break from the heat, both the sun, and all the vendors trying to sell you things in Cozumel. Priceless!

A definite must if you visit Cozumel!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalfgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fresh, authentic and muy bueno.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hubby and I were staying in the southern end of the island and made our way into town solely for these burritos. Not difficult to find, walk through the main shopping plaza right off the ferry pier, to 5th and turn left. No need to recant all the reviews as they are justified in the food.
You want some spice???, try the habanero sauce. Tasty!! We met others who had eaten there several times during their stay.
Most authentic and freshest burro we've ever had on Cozumel. (4x)
Pass on Senior Frogs and Thirsty Cougar and go support a local who deserves you Passos OR USD. Two huge (and very filling) pork burritos, and bottle of water for $10 USD.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAS109traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Burritos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stopped here for breakfast on our way to an excursion for the day. Got there right after they opened at 8:00. Fantastic breakfast burritos which we could hardly finish and we got the regular size. Best breakfast we had on the island. Will dream about these burritos until we return. Only wish we had the time to return for lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lap7214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome Burrito(s) for an Awesome Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This place is absolutely fantastic! The food is cheap (inexpensive) and tastes amazing! The owner is a young guy who wanted to start his own restaurant but could only afford the little shop he's operating out of now, but seriously, a heart of gold. He let me taste some Mayan Pork for a recipe he was working on. I ordered four burritos over a 7 day stay on the island. If you're in port from a cruise, spend the pesos (very few) and indulge. Way better than cruise burritos. I know. I've done cruises too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie Charlie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burritos Gorditos also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Burritos Gorditos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing