We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Great Value”
Review of Burritos Gorditos

Burritos Gorditos
Ranked #4 of 373 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Build your own burrito! Choose from several delicious ingredients, including chicken, pork, steak, rice and beans. Top it off with some salsa, and enjoy. Everything $8 and under! We also serve breakfast burritos. All of our ingredients are fresh and each burrito is made to order.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food - Great Value”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This guy knows what he's doing. The burritos are priced well and you get a lot. We went back because it was delicious. We had beef burritos on one visit and pork on the other. The large is big enough to share - or for a big appetite. We ordered regulars and each had one.

He makes his own salsas. Try them all, and mix and match. He'll tell you which ones are hot and mild.

The facility is small, but clean and tidy. Plus he has A/C!

Sit in there for a bit and you'll see locals and tourists stop in for lunch. Lots of the B&B people staying for more than a day or two come by.

It's close to the main square. Don't be afraid to wander past the confines of the square to see what's beyond. This is a real treat.

He worked in the states for years, so he speaks English well. You'll love talking to the owner. He's really sweet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    98
    23
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“can't pass this by!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you want a great REAL authentic lunch while visiting Cozumel, you can't pass this up! Tony and his wife run this small place off the well-worn path that is about as good as you can get. No frills, no timeshare sales pitches, just honest great burritos at a great price - 60 pesos for a grande. Tony makes them individually to your order. Fresh salsas made daily compliment the fresh ingredients. And to top it off, Tony (his anglicized name) is a terrific guy who treats everyone as his best friend. Be sure to catch this before he becomes successful and has to expand his kitchen. He closes at 3 and is open for breakfast. I returned again the next day for more and plan on going back again before I leave for a couple of burritos to take on the plane!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plan to eat here! It's Delish!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Eusebio is the nicest guy! He lets everyone call him Tony, but I wanted to learn how to pronounce his name. It wasn't easy. =) The restaurant is near the plaza. I don't think it shows up correctly on google maps yet. Just ask where Kinta Restaurant is, it's right across from it. OR....Ask for Wet Wendy's. When you get dropped off on the corner by cab, or you walk to Wet Wendy's, Burritos Gorditos is further down the road. Past the OXXO (7 eleven type store). Right before the yellow Rentadora Isis sign. Anyways..The food is great! Think Freebirds or Chipotle restaurants, but BETTER. Made by someone who really loves his food. He'll build the burrito however you want. Mix meats? No problem. 1/2 of it 1 type of meat, the other 1/2 a 2nd meat choice? He'll do it. He makes his own Salsa Verde Sauce (if you want the burrito "wet"), he has other salsas' he makes... a super hot one, and another red one. He makes his own Sour Cream too, and it's delicious. We really don't eat dairy. But we wanted to try everything and it was really good! And for the price, 40 pesos for regular, and 60 pesos for Grande, he takes US dollars too.... Can't beat it. Choice of Regular or Chipotle Tortillas. Yum, Yum, Yum. Get here early in your trip, because you'll definitely want to go back! We went a couple of times, and took burritos to go for Dinner. =) FYI, He's closed on Sundays. =)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SOOO good!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I just had lunch today at this place and Tony IS THE BEST! A great owner who makes GREAT food. You can expect to find me back here again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I strongly recommend to eat here”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The burritos were very big and good tasting, the place is clean and the owner is a really nice person. we enjoyed the burrito a lot.

Prices are very low, you can get a burrito for about 3dlls and a big one for 4.5dlls. Soft drinks are in one dollar.

You should try the apple burrito that is served as a desert, this is a special formula from the owner that is very very delicious.

We really had a good time here and talking with the owner. He speaks very fluently english.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burritos Gorditos also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Burritos Gorditos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing