We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Rasta Bar”
Review of Rasta Bar

Rasta Bar
Ranked #61 of 369 Restaurants in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Worden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming Rasta Bar”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

One of the highlights of our trip in Cozumel...kind of a little dive in paradise!!! But a great vibe, just belly up and relax, great bartender, amazing view!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonaLisa65Stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    98
    40
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great Vibe...”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stopped here on the last leg of the great Cozumel Bar Hop. It is well positioned along the beach on the "Wild" side of the island. There are plenty of tables along the beach, and a number inside. The bar itself is adorned with a really eclectic assortment of t-shirts, signs, and lots of odds and ends. The music was cool and made for a great atmosphere. The cocktails were fab, particularly my "Dirty Monkey". We shared a plate of Coconut Shrimp that were to die for. Yum!.

There are bathrooms outside, a small chapel, and another bar across the road that has shops if you want to buy gifts. Prices were a little on the high side, but not majorly. If you want a great bar away from the touristy side of the island I recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaz_n_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always love it!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've been coming to this bar for over 20 years. Since my husband and I found it on a drive around the island back in the early 90s, we always rent a car and drive here when we're in Cozumel (which averages every year or so). Our boys (19 and 21) love it, too. The food is actually very good. The prices are American -- not cheap. But the bartenders and wait staff exemplify GREAT service. So often, as tourists, we run the risk of getting a ho-hum attitude from people in the countries we visit. Not in Cozumel ... and not at the Rasta Bar. It was as busy as I've ever seen it last week. Relaxing and fun. Hope it never loses its charm!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beauwreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Went twice. One good, one bad.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The first day we went, a younger guy was working and it was a great experience. He was super nice and attentive. When we went back the next day, the guy was asleep in a hammock and we had to wake him up. He didn't seem to care much....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's reggae, it's sea-front, it's on the Bar Hop!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We loved Rasta Bar - great beach with hammocks, plenty of lounges, and a great souvenir shop across the street with lots of bargains. The drinks are cold - I had a great mojito with muddled mint leaves. There's a little chapel onsite with a painted ceiling that makes for great photos. Kick back, sip a drink, listen to the music and don't worry … be happy. (This is also on the Bar Hop Tour - what a bargain!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasta Bar also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing