We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experince”

Tours Plaza - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.25*
and up
Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver
Ranked #3 of 281 Tours in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get away from the crowds and enjoy the Island in a private taxi tour! During 3, 4, 5 or more hours (the duration of the tour is up to you), visit only the places YOU want to see with one of our licenced and very reliable bilingual drivers. You can choose from our 5 different types of vehicles according to your needs: a car for up to 4 passengers, a van for up to 9 passengers, a van for 10 passengers or a larger van for up to 14 passengers. If you are not familiar with the Island, we can suggest some of the most popular sites to visit. Because it is a private tour, if you like one site better than others, you can stay there as long as you want.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Experince”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We found this service on trip advisor and could not be happier. The guided tour is a little more expensive than other services but well worth the money. Our driver (Alberoto) was excellent. He was very informative about the sights, culture, and history, and showed us theplaces on the island most people do not experience. I will use this service again next time I am in Cozumel.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,264
    110
    22
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
palm harbor
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Driver for a Day made our Trip!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Emailing Eduardo, setting up the payment, getting confirmation and meeting our driver, Carlos, was extremely easy! From the first second of seeing Carlos at the Taxi line, we immediately felt comfortable. He was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and willing to accommodate our desires and preferences.

It was truly the decision that made our trip. The ship docks at 9am and leaves at 530pm, so there is limited time to experience an entire island, culture and part of the world that we have never seen. Carlos gave us insight and awareness of the new and old, and we left feeling like we got way more than 3 hours worth!

When we return, we will ABSOLUTELY use them again!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank brennah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cab a taxi driver, see the island”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Safest way to get around. You can negotiate your trip, design it to suit your tastes. The taxi drivers run the show on the island and you will be in safe hands.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MississaugaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Travel by Taxi”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Taxi driver was hired for 3.5 hours for $100.00 per group. He will take you anywhere and wait for you whether it's shopping, jumping in the waves, visiting the ruins, or touring the Tequila factory. Very good to get a feel for what is on the island.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Mujissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Definitely a great way to see Cozumel!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I always like to learn as much as we can about an area when we visit, but are not fans of touring with large groups. We found great reviews for Eduardo and his drivers and thought we'd give it a try. Eduardo was prompt with his emails and everything was very easy to arrange.

Our cruise ship arrived in port to a rainy morning and we followed Eduardo's directions to meet our driver, Alberto, at the exit to the terminal. He was easy to spot and after jumping in the car and discussing our itinerary, we were off. (just a note.....I read all the reviews on TripAdvisor about where people had went after hiring a driver so we had a pretty good idea of what we wanted to see/do).

Alberto is very knowledgeable about Cozumel and its history, as he grew up there. He described the people, the culture, how things have changed over the years, his own family....just gave us a local view into life in Cozumel. He showed us some statues of historical significance and then we were off to San Gervasio. We paid for a private tour of San Gervasio and were the only two people there! Our tour guide at San Gervasio did a great job and when we left to meet Alberto in the parking lot, 3 huge motorcoaches showed up full of cruise passengers. We were so glad that we arrived early and enjoyed the beauty of the ruins in a peaceful setting before hoardes of people showed up!

Alberto drove us to the east side of the island and what a difference there is. First, the sun came out and the weather was gorgeous! The huge waves rolling in to the beach were a sight to see. We LOVE that gorgeous blue water! Alberto took us to chen rio, el mirador, and punta sur (we climbed the lighthouse). Everywhere we went Alberto explained different animals, plants, and answered all of our questions. You can spend as much time as you like everywhere you go. We originally booked for 3 hours but spent about 5 with him. He explained that he did not have any other clients booked after us so we could take our time but didn't pressure us either to spend more money, which was really nice.

After we explored the east side he gave us some options on how to end our tour and we chose to be dropped off in the shopping district so we could wander around. We asked for a recommendation for lunch and he brought us to La Mission (we shared that we wanted authentic Mexican food and he said they had great prices too....win-win!). He walked us to the front of the restaurant and made sure we were taken care of, we shook hands, and said our goodbyes. But honestly, I could have hugged him! We always try to find private guides when we travel and Alberto did not disappoint....he made our day in Cozumel feel like we were touring with a friend.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
14 Thank amyf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours Plaza - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tours Plaza - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing