We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”
Review of Cozumel Pearl Farm

Cozumel Pearl Farm
Ranked #22 of 160 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cozumel Pearl Farm is a family owned and operated pearl farm nestled in a beautiful white sand beach on the north shore of Cozumel Island. Being the only active Pearl Farm in the Caribbean, Cozumel Pearl Farm is located in a natural protected area that remains pristine and untouched; it is only accessible by boat since it is surrounded by the mangrove lagoon ecosystem on one side and the fascinating turquoise color waters of the Caribbean on the other.Conceived as a project of research and development of the species Pinctada radiata in 2001, this spectacular place opened its doors for ecotourism in early 2012 with the purpose to promote responsible travelling and preserve the area in its untouched state for future generations to enjoy.Be one of our exclusive guests, enjoy this unique experience and become part of our project.Off the beaten path... Where tourist become travelersJoin us on this authentic and unique experience.Let us share our piece of paradise with you and our passion for nature. Enjoy the amazing landscape untouched and in pristine conditions.Ideal destination for those who want to experience sustainable ecotourism away from crowds.We like to have small groups, so we can give you the best personal attention.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I found this excursion on the Cozumel tourist website and decided that we would book the tour when we got to the hotel. Well that was our mistake, our cell phones did work and the hotel was unfamiliar with the tour, so we tried calling with the hotel phone but we didn't have the correct number. We then went back to the website got the local number and left a message and then just to make sure we sent an email. I want to say this was all my fault for not just booking before we arrived, but let me tell you my wife and I are so glad we didn't give up trying to book this tour. Isabel got right back to us and we book it!!! The day of the tour Pancho met us at the meeting place which is very easy to find and get to. We jumped in the boat with one other couple and away we went. I must admit Pancho and his crew were fantastic. Not only was the farm / island beautiful, Pancho made it very educational! My wife and I work for a small medical manufacturing company, and being an Engineer myself and my wife a QC supervisor we spent a lot of time talking with Pancho! He and his family are great people! Ok yes I have rambled on, but if you like simple, beauty, education, and good people this was one of the best days we had at Cozumel. We look forward to visiting again to see how this family farm is doing!!

1  Thank DKMC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Hello and thank you very much for your nice comments about our tour.
We have many places where you can find us , in our web site (which is under construction) you can find the phone number and email . We also are in fb and instagram so you can send a private message o directly here on TripAdvisor, so this time you can't miss us :)
We hope you can come back sometime soon and see how we keep working and all the upcoming projects we have.
Until then we send you many greetings from the farm !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat ride"
in 26 reviews
"hamburger"
in 18 reviews
"grilled pineapple"
in 6 reviews
"private beach"
in 13 reviews
"virgin mary"
in 4 reviews
"clear turquoise"
in 3 reviews
"natural reef"
in 2 reviews
"oyster beds"
in 2 reviews
"buy pearls"
in 2 reviews
"oysters and pearls"
in 2 reviews
"great educational experience"
in 2 reviews
"hurricane wilma"
in 6 reviews
"aqua safari"
in 9 reviews
"natural environment"
in 3 reviews
"small boat"
in 8 reviews
"day trip"
in 10 reviews
"marine biologist"
in 2 reviews
Filter

115 - 119 of 224 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visited the Cozumel Pearl farm on the last shore day of our March 2014 cruise on Celebrity Equinox. I had booked the excursion prior to leaving New Brunswick in hopes of having a unique "beach day" in Cozumel. Well, Pancho and his crew made this a reality!! We were picked up by boat at the Aqua Marine dock and travelled to the location on the north side of the island. There were only 5 of us + Pancho and his 2 crew members. The water was a beautiful turquoise, clear and warm. We all enjoyed a wonderful swim before our tour of the pearl farm operation. The family has invested so much in their dream and we appreciated learning about the research that has been a spin off of the pearl farm operation. the tour was followed by a snorkeling trip to see the underwater farm and the artificial reef that is now brimming with colorful fish and purple fan coral. We were fed freshly prepared burgers and watermelon accompanied by juices, water or beer. Unfortunately, this perfect day had to end and we were delivered back to the dock by 4 pm as was planned with lots of time to catch a taxi back to our cruise ship dock. A perfect last shore day for our vacation. Thank you, Pancho and crew!

4  Thank jm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2017

Hello and thank you very much for your visit and comments of your day in the farm. Pancho and crew are delighted to hear you enjoyed the day so much. We would love to have you back some time soon.
On the meantime we send you many greetings from the farm !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had this scheduled but when we got to the pier had to cancel due to weather which we were not surprised at. However the lady that met us was so professional and helpful. unfortunately we had only one day left and had other plans. There was absolutely no hassle on getting deposit refunded and no pressure. I have no doubt that this tour is everything it is suppose to be and we plan on taking it our next visit. Well run company.

1  Thank mel75070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review even though we had to cancel the tour. You can't imagine how thankful we are and how sorry we also are because you couldn't visit us.

For us it is very important that people know we are in a secluded part at the north of the island where not so many people visit and it is because due to the location Sea and weather conditions are always an issue on terms of getting to the farm. Your safety is our MAIN concern and when conditions are not great we prefer to cancel the tour than to risk your safety and our project for a day of work.

Every time a tour is cancel your safety deposit is refunded immediately. And if you are able to reschedule we will try to accommodate you in another day that is convenient for you.
Unfortunately as you said you were only one day in the island and we are very sorry we couldn't rescheduled for you.

Hopefully you can come back to Cozumel some day and we would be more than happy to have you in the farm.

Thanks again for your review and many greetings from the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went during March and the weather was beautiful, Isabelle met us all the way at out hotel so that their boat could pick us up from the pier and not all the way at the aqua safari. I loved the farm, so interesting and the family seems so enthusiastic and determined to make their dream happen. The beach was beautiful and the area we were taken to snorkel was just as beautiful, pancho was more than helpful and the crew was awesome and watched after our four year old who was reluctant to snorkel while we snorkeled! We will be going back next time we are in Cozumel!

1  Thank Vtorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Hello and greetings from the farm!
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at the farm .
March and April is one of our best seasons , weather is fantastic water is getting a little warmer and we have a spring breeze which make the day enjoyable . So fortunate to enjoy that spring weather .
We would like to have you back at anytime!
On the meantime we send you our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've found this trip on Tripadvisor and wanted to plan something special for my sister before leaving Playa del Carmen and going back to cold winter in Europe. Just something that would look similar to Maldives - nice water, sandy white peaceful beach, tranquility, ... and thanks to Isabelle and the whole crew this day will always stay in our memories. We took an early morning catamaran boat from Playa del Carmen (35 minutes) to Cozumel, and have just about time to drink a morning coffee. Aqua Safari pier is located just 5-7 minutes walk from the pier where catamarans are arriving and after 10 minutes instead of a small boat there was a Big Time yacht coming to pick us. A nice surprize :-) Isabelle explained us later that there were some problems with their boat but we were lucky for having this vip treatment. After approx. 30 minutes ride we stopped for snorkeling (I would recommend to wear a t-shirt becase sun can cause some side effects) but everything else was just amazing - from small fish to stars ... No matter how experieced you are in snorkeling speed snorkeling is a nice adventure for everyone. But the best part of the journey is the part arriving to the gorgeous spot of the island where pearl farm is located. There were only 10 of us (6 travelers, Isabelle & crew), turquoise water, sandy beach, small pearl museum, lab and of course bar la perla where we enjoyed delicious juicy burgers with ananas and cold drinks. I would recommend to swim to the area where you can walk or sit or even drink a bear. Thank you Isabelle for hospitality ;-) would recommend to all!

1  Thank Metkag0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Hello from the Cozumel Pearl Farm!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
We are located in the Yucatán Peninsula but specifically in the state of Quintana Roo.
As you said if you are visiting from Playa del Carmen it takes a 35 minute ferry boat from Playa del Carmen to get to Cozumel.
All our tours departs from our meeting point located in Aquasafari pier in Cozumel downtown and our boat "La Ostra" will take you in a 40 minute smooth ride through the beautiful waters of the north side of the island where our Pearl Farm is located .

We are in a natural protected area which makes us and other facility the only ones in the North Side of Cozumel so we are surrounded absolutely by nature.

We are so happy to read you enjoyed the day and that you will recommend it to others. We still are working really hard to make this experience one of a kind.

Please come back sometime soon we would love to welcome you again .

Sending our best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cozumel Pearl Farm also viewed

 

Been to Cozumel Pearl Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing