We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Cancelled”
Review of Cozumel Pearl Farm

Cozumel Pearl Farm
Ranked #4 of 161 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cozumel Pearl Farm is a family owned and operated pearl farm nestled in a beautiful white sand beach on the north shore of Cozumel Island. Being the only active Pearl Farm in the Caribbean, Cozumel Pearl Farm is located in a natural protected area that remains pristine and untouched; it is only accessible by boat since it is surrounded by the mangrove lagoon ecosystem on one side and the fascinating turquoise color waters of the Caribbean on the other.Conceived as a project of research and development of the species Pinctada radiata in 2001, this spectacular place opened its doors for ecotourism in early 2012 with the purpose to promote responsible travelling and preserve the area in its untouched state for future generations to enjoy.Be one of our exclusive guests, enjoy this unique experience and become part of our project.Off the beaten path... Where tourist become travelersJoin us on this authentic and unique experience.Let us share our piece of paradise with you and our passion for nature. Enjoy the amazing landscape untouched and in pristine conditions.Ideal destination for those who want to experience sustainable ecotourism away from crowds.We like to have small groups, so we can give you the best personal attention.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had this scheduled but when we got to the pier had to cancel due to weather which we were not surprised at. However the lady that met us was so professional and helpful. unfortunately we had only one day left and had other plans. There was absolutely no hassle on getting deposit refunded and no pressure. I have no doubt that this tour is everything it is suppose to be and we plan on taking it our next visit. Well run company.

1  Thank mel75070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review even though we had to cancel the tour. You can't imagine how thankful we are and how sorry we also are because you couldn't visit us.

For us it is very important that people know we are in a secluded part at the north of the island where not so many people visit and it is because due to the location Sea and weather conditions are always an issue on terms of getting to the farm. Your safety is our MAIN concern and when conditions are not great we prefer to cancel the tour than to risk your safety and our project for a day of work.

Every time a tour is cancel your safety deposit is refunded immediately. And if you are able to reschedule we will try to accommodate you in another day that is convenient for you.
Unfortunately as you said you were only one day in the island and we are very sorry we couldn't rescheduled for you.

Hopefully you can come back to Cozumel some day and we would be more than happy to have you in the farm.

Thanks again for your review and many greetings from the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat ride"
in 28 reviews
"hamburger"
in 20 reviews
"grilled pineapple"
in 6 reviews
"private beach"
in 13 reviews
"clear turquoise"
in 3 reviews
"virgin mary statue"
in 2 reviews
"buy pearls"
in 2 reviews
"great pineapple"
in 2 reviews
"oysters and pearls"
in 2 reviews
"north end of the island"
in 2 reviews
"great educational experience"
in 2 reviews
"hurricane wilma"
in 6 reviews
"aqua safari"
in 10 reviews
"day trip"
in 11 reviews
"natural environment"
in 3 reviews
"small boat"
in 8 reviews
"fabulous tour"
in 2 reviews
Filter

121 - 125 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went during March and the weather was beautiful, Isabelle met us all the way at out hotel so that their boat could pick us up from the pier and not all the way at the aqua safari. I loved the farm, so interesting and the family seems so enthusiastic and determined to make their dream happen. The beach was beautiful and the area we were taken to snorkel was just as beautiful, pancho was more than helpful and the crew was awesome and watched after our four year old who was reluctant to snorkel while we snorkeled! We will be going back next time we are in Cozumel!

1  Thank Vtorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Hello and greetings from the farm!
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at the farm .
March and April is one of our best seasons , weather is fantastic water is getting a little warmer and we have a spring breeze which make the day enjoyable . So fortunate to enjoy that spring weather .
We would like to have you back at anytime!
On the meantime we send you our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've found this trip on Tripadvisor and wanted to plan something special for my sister before leaving Playa del Carmen and going back to cold winter in Europe. Just something that would look similar to Maldives - nice water, sandy white peaceful beach, tranquility, ... and thanks to Isabelle and the whole crew this day will always stay in our memories. We took an early morning catamaran boat from Playa del Carmen (35 minutes) to Cozumel, and have just about time to drink a morning coffee. Aqua Safari pier is located just 5-7 minutes walk from the pier where catamarans are arriving and after 10 minutes instead of a small boat there was a Big Time yacht coming to pick us. A nice surprize :-) Isabelle explained us later that there were some problems with their boat but we were lucky for having this vip treatment. After approx. 30 minutes ride we stopped for snorkeling (I would recommend to wear a t-shirt becase sun can cause some side effects) but everything else was just amazing - from small fish to stars ... No matter how experieced you are in snorkeling speed snorkeling is a nice adventure for everyone. But the best part of the journey is the part arriving to the gorgeous spot of the island where pearl farm is located. There were only 10 of us (6 travelers, Isabelle & crew), turquoise water, sandy beach, small pearl museum, lab and of course bar la perla where we enjoyed delicious juicy burgers with ananas and cold drinks. I would recommend to swim to the area where you can walk or sit or even drink a bear. Thank you Isabelle for hospitality ;-) would recommend to all!

1  Thank Metkag0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Hello from the Cozumel Pearl Farm!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
We are located in the Yucatán Peninsula but specifically in the state of Quintana Roo.
As you said if you are visiting from Playa del Carmen it takes a 35 minute ferry boat from Playa del Carmen to get to Cozumel.
All our tours departs from our meeting point located in Aquasafari pier in Cozumel downtown and our boat "La Ostra" will take you in a 40 minute smooth ride through the beautiful waters of the north side of the island where our Pearl Farm is located .

We are in a natural protected area which makes us and other facility the only ones in the North Side of Cozumel so we are surrounded absolutely by nature.

We are so happy to read you enjoyed the day and that you will recommend it to others. We still are working really hard to make this experience one of a kind.

Please come back sometime soon we would love to welcome you again .

Sending our best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at an AI hotel for our Cozumel vacation and were intrigued by the reviews for the Pearl Farm as a day trip to get away from it all for a few hours. Isabelle met us (our family of 4 and another family of 3) at the Aqua Safari pier downtown and we took a 1/2 hr boat ride to get to the farm. That in itself was great - seeing the hotels & such from the water. The tour of the farm was very interesting and I was happy to bring a pearl home with me. The snorkel and the speed snorkel were fun as well. The charcoal grilled burgers for lunch & ice cold cervezas were perfect for a lazy day.The best part was the beach with powder soft sand & no other people for miles. We strolled, collected a few shells & a lot of pictures. We felt like we were hanging out at a good friends place for the afternoon while we were swinging on swings, under a huge palapa. Our visit to the Pearl Farm was one of the highlights of our trip - we didn't want to leave! Thanks for the perfect day Isabelle!

1  Thank WanderLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Hello from the farm!

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others. It is so important to us your opinion and we can't be happier to read you enjoyed the day , the snorkel , the burguers and beers !
We hope you come back sometime soon and swing in the swings again.

Till then we send you and your family our best wishes .
Your friends from the Pearl Farm !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Because of the north wind, we weren't able to visit the Pearl Farm, but Isabel planned a perfect plan B, visiting Punta Sur at the south end of the island. At Punta Sur, we were able to snorkel, relax on the beach, do a tour of the lagoon, see crocodiles, climb a lighthouse and see the opposite side of the island. It was a perfect day for our family and we were so glad Isabel had a plan B ready for us! As well, Isabel took photos, which she posted on Facebook, at no additional cost. A great way to document the trip.

2  Thank dee_eh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

Hello from Cozumel Pearl Farm!

We want to thank you very much for writing a review about us even if you couldn't go to the farm . Due to our secluded location some times we have to depend on weather conditions and it is impossible to get to the farm, because your security is our main concern we rather cancel .
If weather allows us we offer a Plan B as you mention that is one of our favorite places in the island and delicious food , drinks and all included.
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon at the farm someday!

Greetings from Cozumel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cozumel Pearl Farm also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Cozumel Pearl Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing