We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Break from Diving”
Review of Cozumel Pearl Farm

Cozumel Pearl Farm
Ranked #24 of 158 things to do in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cozumel Pearl Farm is a family owned and operated pearl farm nestled in a beautiful white sand beach on the north shore of Cozumel Island. Being the only active Pearl Farm in the Caribbean, Cozumel Pearl Farm is located in a natural protected area that remains pristine and untouched; it is only accessible by boat since it is surrounded by the mangrove lagoon ecosystem on one side and the fascinating turquoise color waters of the Caribbean on the other.Conceived as a project of research and development of the species Pinctada radiata in 2001, this spectacular place opened its doors for ecotourism in early 2012 with the purpose to promote responsible travelling and preserve the area in its untouched state for future generations to enjoy.Be one of our exclusive guests, enjoy this unique experience and become part of our project.Off the beaten path... Where tourist become travelersJoin us on this authentic and unique experience.Let us share our piece of paradise with you and our passion for nature. Enjoy the amazing landscape untouched and in pristine conditions.Ideal destination for those who want to experience sustainable ecotourism away from crowds.We like to have small groups, so we can give you the best personal attention.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed October 31, 2013

So after many years of visiting the island to dive, we decided to visit some of the on shore sites. We were looking for quiet out of the way spots and did we ever find one. Unfortunately the weather turned ugly the day we went, so the trip up and back was a bit rough, but the tour was great, the owner and his captain were wonderful. We would have liked to have gotten into the water to see everything in operation, but opted for a quiet afternoon on shore instead. Would love to go back and see the rest on a nice calm day!

1  Thank hutchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2017

Hello and thank you for your review!
It was great you spend a day away from the crowds and yes this is the perfect spot just to do that.
I am sorry to hear you missed the snorkel part, but because of our secluded location sea conditions can get really rough sometimes and it is better to cancel than sorry. Your security is our main concern.
Hopefully you can visit us again someday soon and we can compensate for your last visit.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about our tour.
Sending you many greetings from the farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Cozumel Pearl Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 204 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We went with our daughter and her husband. The boat ride (45 min) to the island is wonderful. We were given the history of the pearls, the farm and the family. Only 12 people are allowed on a tour which lasts 4 hours. We snorkels, walked the beach, saw the laboratory where the pearls are and had a wonderful lunch. If you are in Cozumel, you must see this. It is not a ship tour. If we go back to Cozumel, I'll be sure to go again.

1  Thank djpart1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Thank you very much for your nice comments!
We are so grateful you took the time to write a review because people can see how was your experience.
We would love to have you again in the farm, we are still working very hard to make it better and to give you all new surprises.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon at the farm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

It took right at an hour each way to get from the Pier to the Farm by the small boat. The Farm reminded us of Gilligans Island and made us wish we could be stranded there with the crew! The staff, Guya (spelling?) the dog, the amazing clear water, the snorkeling, the power snorkeling, the delicious hamburgers, the education, the hammocks...all were awesome! I love and admire the evident passion that Isabell has for the Farm and her desire to see her father's dream come true! It's a little pricey but you do get to experience something extremely rare! Best wishes to you all!

Thank BMonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Hello and thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!
Our tour has a relaxing and scenic boat ride that depending on the ocean conditions can take from 30 minutes to an hour, we like to play some ambiance music so you can get in the mood of Gilligans Island as you mention jaja.
Gaia is our dog , she loves to swim with every guest and she will be your faithful companion in the water. We have another lab too his name is Ganesh and he loves to play fetch with everyone!
We are so glad you enjoyed all the activities, food and above all you could see how passionate we are about pearl farming , we are still working very hard to keep it going.
We hope you can come and visit some other day .
On the meantime we send you many greetings from the farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great tour and experience. Isabel was very thorough giving the tour and it was never boring for a second.

Food and soft drinks are provided.

We would go back again. It is a great getaway to see the real Cozumel.

Thank GaryBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2017

Hello from the farm, and thanks for your review!
We would love to have you again some time soon and we are so glad you have a good time with us .

Sending you many greetings from Cozumel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We are avid scuba divers and heard about this from friends we know on the island. When they said "tour", we figured it'd be your typical tour with tons of people herded through like cattle, but were thrilled when they arrived with the little boat and found it was just our family of 4(my husband and I and our 2 daughters, ages 14 & 8). It was so educational(we homeschool so we're always learning!) to learn about the oysters, pearls, see the lab, learn about how they put in running water, have electricity, etc. The surf can be a little rough on that part of the island, our 8-year-old was a little unnerved out there on the water just swimming around but loved the speed snorkeling! The Caribbean cheeseburgers were AWESOME! Isabel and the staff guys were so fun and nice. My girls loved collecting about 30 hermit crabs and walking along the beach, finding treasures, even a beached little boat. It felt like we were on a deserted island! After the burgers, we loved that they weren't in a hurry to take us back and we just layed in the hammocks and visited while our girls went off to explore. Can wait to do it again this December 2013!!!

Thank alliemilliemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualti I, Propietario at Cozumel Pearl Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Hello and thank you very much for your comments.
Our "tour" or should I say experience is one of a kind. Yes we also hate cattles of people and rushing people to do this or that . Our experience is all about REALLY enjoying a day with your family , your friends , your partner. It is all about finding a shell or swimming in the turquoise water holding your daughter and laughing. Relaxing in a hammock while your kids play in the sand .
Our private beach will allow you to really have quality time with your loved ones and we cannot tell you how special is to us that you got to live the real experience we want to share with the people that comes to the farm .

Thank you for an amazing review and hopefully we can see you and your beautiful family sometime soon here in the farm again.
On the meantime we send you many greetings from our little paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cozumel Pearl Farm also viewed

Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
Cozumel, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Cozumel Pearl Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing