We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs perfectly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Met our needs perfectly!”
Reviewed March 15, 2007

My son and I just completed a 4 night stay at Casa Mexicana as part of a dive vacation. We found the hotel to be excellent. Incredibly clean, well located for a "no cab" stay. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a cook making omelettes and waffles.

We dove with Aqua Safari. Office just 2 doors down. A good experience with knowledgable dive masters. We are new to diving, and they helped us to feel at ease.

We would definitely do it again.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Indy46077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    310
    64
    28
    17
See reviews for
150
502
100
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

We stayed at Casa Mexicana from 10 - 13 Mar. I have to say that it was one of the cleanest places I have ever seen. I wish the hotels here in the U.S. were even half as clean as this place. The cleaning staff never stopped and our room was immaculate.

Speaking of the room, the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. They provide just about any amenity you can think of except a stocked fridge. There is a fridge in the room for you to use. We had an ocean view room and it had a very private balcony. Granted, if I had one of the non-ocean view rooms I might not rave so much because I know the other rooms in the hotel didn't have a very good view. The only complaint I have against this place was the room continuously felt damp but so did our room at the Park Royal Hotel. I think that just comes with the territory.

The breakfast was very good and it was served from 7 - 11 a.m. They had a wide variety of items to chose from. I loved the sitting area in the lobby and being able to watch the activity on the street from the lobby balcony. You are close to all the shopping and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The concierge, Mayte, was friendly and very helpful in whatever you needed. I didn't mind having to go out for lunch and dinner. Was great to try different places. And they have computers for you to use anytime. I think that Casa Mexicana was a great deal and we loved our time there.

  • Liked — Almost everything
  • Disliked — Damp feeling room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pdv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

After spending the last ten days here, Casa Mexicana can best be described as an upscale diver's hotel or a clean but safe answer for those trying out Cozumel on a moderate budget. The added value is the breakfast buffet included in their $106 nightly rate. (Currently, no other meals are served....just breakfast.)

Spend another $25 a night and you can get the oceanfront premium view. Only twelve premium rooms offer the "front of hotel view" (501-504, 401-404 and 301-304). Smaller oceanfronts are available on the 2nd level but don't really measure up. Other rooms, (like #318) have partial oceanviews but also capture parts of the city you'd just prefer not to see.) Our Room #504 gets you the kingsized comfy bed and their best "Ocean-Front-Of Hotel-View".

Another added value is the hotel's central location to San Miguel's square located six blocks to the right as you exit the escalator. Experience over 100 restaurants thats within walking distance.

BEACH / BEACHFRONT (West Side)
There's no beach at Casa Mexicana. Directly across the main street lies the oceanfront where boats and ships dock. This immediate area is not roped off for swiming or snorkeling. Beach Swimming and Snorkeling requires a Taxi or rental car.

TAXIS, RENTAL CARS, MOPEDS
Taxis have a unique and strong union here. Their rates for a 24x14 mile island seems outrageous to me. Expect $15 taxi ride each way for a decent swimming beach (w/ pool) at Playa Mr. Sancho's. About $12 taxi each way to a great shell / swimming beach (no pool) at Playa Paradise. Both of these beaches are without admission and fairly close.

Rental Cars are available through, Budget, Executive, Isis, Thrifty and others. A compact (Matiz) stick shift daily rate with insurance runs about $30 through Budget. These tiny little cars are limited and generally require advanced reservations. A much larger Jeep through Executive will run you about $100. Free Parking of your rental car is within 1 1/2 blocks of Casa Mexicana Hotel at the shopping center lot.

Mopeds are abundant and easily rented by fools who have a Cozumel death wish. One Moped death occured during our visit involving an American on vacation. Serious injury and death by Moped are weekly occurences on the island. Think this one through.

POOL
Casa Mexicana does not offer a pool. At best they have a glorified fountain that some use to "cool off". Its located next to the bar area and adjacent to the escalator as you arrive. Very few children at Casa Mexicana because it lacks a decent pool area.

BAR
This is a clear failure at Casa Mexicana. It is poorly staffed and seemingly seldom open for business. Humberto, although a nice fellow is rarely found behind the bar and usually has to be hunted down since he has additional hotel duties. Mixed drinks like Margaritas, Pina Colidas, Tequila Sunrise, etc., are $5.50 each if you can get one.

OUR LIST NEARBY RESTAURANTS
Lunch: LaChoza, Palmeras, Ponchos Back Yard, Costa Brava
Dinner: El Capi Navigante, La Mission, La Veranda, La Cocay, Tony Rome's, Lobster House.

Would we stay at Casa Mexicana again? Sure...its a good value and a good choice. Does ten days of "free breakfast for two" make up for missing a beach, bar and pool? My next choice might be a place like Playa Azul Hotel that offers beach, pool, bar, Non-AI "breakfast" restaurant and parking for my itty-bitty rental car.

ENJOY COZUMEL!
"Bahias"
Prescott, WI
(Wisconsin's Westernmost City)

  • Liked — Breakfast included in price was a good attraction. Ultra Clean and Comfortable Rooms superior to most "Diver's Hotels."
  • Disliked — Casa Mexicana was a marginal choice due to this facility lacking decent pool and beach. Bar area was remedial and mostly unattended.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank dbays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saunderstown, ri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

we were on a tour and they put us here. the hotel is modern, clean and very upscale. service and the concierge were terrific

  • Liked — water view
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jackcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

Stayed at the Casa Mexicana Jan 12th-19th. We wanted something downtown without the frills of an All-Inclusive. Booked through Funjet Vacations with out travel agent who was somewhat negative that we would choose this "unknown small hotel" over the Iberostar at the far end of the Island. However, she was mistaken as this place was exactly what we hoped for and it could not have been any better.

We arrived around noon and were promptly escorted to our oceanfront room. This was unexpected as often you are required to wait until 3 pm for the other guests to check out. The room was spotless and appeared to be virtually new. Many people complain about how hard the beds are in Mexico, although we personally have never found this to be a problem. You will certainly not find anything to complain about the beds at Mexicana. They were extremely comfortable having the extra thick mattresses with the pillow tops. Our chambermaid, Flor, always had the most wonderful and innovative towel sculptures awaiting us each day. It was a treat just to see what she would come up with!!! The view from the patio deck off our bedroom was great. We loved watching the cruiseships arrive and even got to see Bill Gates' personal yacht, the "Meduse". Unfortunately Bill was not there so we did not get an invitation to go on board!! Oh well....maybe next time.......we wish!!

Casa Mexicana seems to have a passion for cleanliness. It is evidenced in the lobby, room and the dining room where we had excellent breakfasts. You must try the omelettes which are specially prepared for you. Jamie does a wonderful job in seeing that everything is "just right". Stop in and say Hi to him....

Our concierge, Mayte, was gracious, charming, and a joy to be around. She is always available and greets you daily at Breakfast. Any info you require will be made available to you...

The desk clerks are informative as well and do not seem to have any problem in communicating with you. They too, are extremely helpful which appears to be the standard here!!

The pool while small, is clean and somewhat cool but is fine for a quick dip!! The area around the pool is a balcony again with a wonderful view of the harbour.

I cannot say enough good things about Casa Mexicana!! Perhaps the only downsize was the immediate availabilty of jewellery shops so close by. Can't remember ever buying so many necklaces, etc!! We will be returning, as soon as possible!

Rick and Judy
Tecumseh, Ontario Canada

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Gel1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2007

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Casa Mexicana and we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. The hotel was spotless with employees cleaning all day long. We had the ocean front view of the harbor and enjoyed watching the cruise ships/cruisers come into town. The hotel staff were by far the best that we have ever experienced. We enjoyed the local restaurants and shopping right out the front door. We took a cab down to Paradise Beach 3 times. Also took the ferry over to Playa del Carmen. We were getting bored with All-inclusives and remote places to stay. This was a great change of pace.
Bill in Duluth Minnesota

  • Liked — Clean facility
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank chevylog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

Our family of five decided to skip the presents this Christmas and all fly somewhere warm to be together. Two of us were flying from Calgary and three of us from Toronto. Sunwing Vacations offered flights on the same day to Cozumel. Bingo !

From Toronto, the flight was confusing as the ticket said landing at Cancun via Cozumel. Did that mean we must stay on the plane to Cancun and then return to the island by bus and ferry? Didn't make sense and Trevor from Sunwing at the Toronto airport agreed. (we had booked over the internet ) Half an hour later he had our tickets changed directly to Cozumel, and then he took us directly to check in, skipping the lineup. We were met at the airport by Alfredo from Sunwing on Christmas Eve, wearing a Santa hat, who got us to our hotel right away. My two sons travelling from Calgary arrived too late in Cancun for the ferry and were put up in an all -inclusive overnight. They arrived on the ferry around noon on Christmas Day at the Casa Mexicana.

The hotel was fantastic.! Super clean and super friendly. What a marvellous design with open air dining room surrounding a garden, yet protected from the elements . We had requested an ocean view room when booking with Sunwing but there was no record of it and none available. Our rooms were very comfortable with new furniture, safe in room, comfortable beds, hair dryers, fridges, large TV's, amenities such as shampoo, lotion etc. and purified tap water throughout.. Each day we were surprised to see towel animals, even a snowman, appear on the newly made beds. They have a passion for cleaning at this hotel. They also have a passion for making you feel welcome and important. The breakfast buffet from 7 to 11 am is great and the fresh juices are out of this world. Eggs, omelets, waffles, bacon, cereal and some mexican hot dishes and fresh fruit and yogurts, meats and cheeses were everyday staples. The staff are very efficient, helpful, and friendly. Many thanks to Jaimie and all the kitchen/dining room staff. They all made a point of coming over to say good bye to us as well as the front desk. Everyone here seems to care about your well being. This hotel is not all inclusive but it is right in the town, and only a short walk to shopping and restaurants. We ate in a different restaurant every day. Some more touristy on the main drag ($) and some more local just a few blocks away.

Mayte, the concierge was very informative and patient with us. Tony from Sunwing, gave us information about tours and advice. We booked a rental car through him (we insisted on the price he had given us though the rental co. tried to charge us more for a run down, dangerous vehicle with failing brakes and bad power steering); and a snorkelling tour which was great.

Our adventure came on our second last day when we took the ferry to Playa del Carmen, rented a car, and drove to the Mayan ruins of Chichen Itza. Good maps are non existent but we finally arrived after travelling on the toll road which bypasses Cancun. Coming back was a different story, however as we could not find the same highway and ended up on the local road with numerous speed bumps in every village and no signage. Though we had a GPS in the car and the roads seemed to parallel each other, there was no way to access the toll road. The 2 and a half hour trip took over 5 hours. We were fighting the clock as the last ferry left for Cozumel at 11pm. We wound up lost in Cancun and raced to the ferry arriving just as they were pulling up the gangplank. No way would they let us on even though the Sunwing rep was to meet my two sons at 5am at the hotel for their trip to the airport in Cancum. Trouble was that the next ferry was at 6 am and their tickets, passports and luggage were still in the hotel on the island. What to do??

The payphones were impossible, but to make a long story short, we found a hotel with a helpful clerk who allowed us to call long distance to the island where we contacted the Casa Mexicana. We woke up Alfredo, our 'angel' from Sunwing about 2 am. He went to the hotel room and packed up all my sons' belongings and took the 5 am ferry himself with the luggage and papers over to the mainland to meet us on the pier and give it to them. They then left for the airport with another Sunwing rep. and Alfredo returned to Cozumel. I have read other negative comments about Sunwing, and think their efficiency and communication could be improved, but our experiences with Trevor at the Toronto airport , Tony at the hotel, and most especially Alfredo on Cozumel who went above and beyond, were most positive and I thank them all. People make the difference.

Our flight back to Toronto on New Year's Eve met with many delays. The seating had to be completely redone. It was overbooked and a request was made for two volunteers to get off and travel by land to the mainland ; and when we arrived about 1:30 am in Toronto, there was another hour and a half wait for our bags with many exhausted passengers lying on the floor at the airport waiting for luggage.

All in all we had a great trip and are already talking about next year. Not much night life here for my twenty-something children as they seem to cater to the daily cruise ship crowds who are generally gone by 5 pm. Our trip was purchased through sell-off vacations on very short notice and I think we will do more research beforehand next time.

Helpful?
8 Thank teagranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 52 in Cozumel
2,130 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing