We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Mexicana Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Casa Mexicana Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Casa Mexicana from the 20th of July to the 27th. We have traveled to many destinations (5 internationally). You will find no better hotel on Cozumel than Casa Mexicana. We had a partial ocean view which was incredible. The staff was inviting, courteous, and professional. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily. They have free high speed internet with 4 modern computers available downstairs. They have U.S. style plumbing (I mention it in case this is your first adventure abroad) and may be a concern to some. It's location is very central to San Miguel. My recomendations: For diving check out scubatony.com I assure you, you will have a better dive trip by booking with him than anyone on the island. It may cost a few bucks more, but it is well worth it. There is not enough space for me to tell you how good he and his captain, Carlos, and other dive master, Eric, are. They also have a fast boat and will tailor trips to you ability and needs. The large dive operations like dive paradise are a joke and you might as well throw your money in the ocean if you want to use them. For kiteboarding: barracuda beach is serviced by taxi and a great spot to ride. Make sure to meet adrian at cozumel kiteboarding. As it was told to me, "If you leave Cozumel without meeting Adrian, you have missed out." Food: Especias, Prima, and Johnny's are my favorites! I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The view
  • Tips/Secrets — Scubatony.com is the best dive operation on the island!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank floridakiteboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    305
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
139
484
96
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

We had a great time in Cozumel and really happy with our stay at Casa Mexicana - the breakfast buffet was great - service was excellent. The view from our room was beautiful - we would wake up watching the boats on the ocean - it is worth the extra money to get a ocean view room. The hotel is located in the down town area - walking distance to McDonalds, Pizza Hut, Hard Rock Cafe and lots of shopping. The beach is a taxi ride away - Every day there would be a different animal made of towels awaiting us. We really enjoyed our stay and will return.

  • Liked — Clean - friendly
  • Disliked — No direct beach access
  • Tips/Secrets — The "information" booths around the hotels enterence is really a time share program
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank pjlajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLouis, MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2006

I've just returned from another dive trip to Casa and again had a great time. The service was very good as always and the beds have gotten softer. My only gripe is that there is not a gym. However, there is an OK gym on Benito Juarez near the Pemex fuel station. It's a safe (and healthy) walk of about a mile. Near Benito Juarez and 10th is Los Corales 3. It's a tiny little place with great (and cheap) fish tacos. Guido's is fab and Pepe's is just OK, but is reasonably priced. I dived with Aqua Safari yet again as it is right net door to Casa. As always AS was a good choice as the staff is safe, professional and friendly. I've stayed at several other places on CZM and Casa will remain my first choice.

Helpful?
7 Thank doctormac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

Casa Mexicana was a great spot to stay in Cozumel. The rooms and hotel were sparkling clean at all times. Also, very unique and modern styling of the hotel.

Breakfast buffet was yummy - you could fill up and be ready for any excursions of the day. Lots of fresh fruits, juices, cheeses, eggs, make your own omelettes and empanadas (my favorite!). It's all served in an open air dining area.

The pool was super tiny, basically just for a quick dip while tanning on the deck overlooking the ocean. That's not the main attraction of the hotel - it's really the location and the cleanliness.

We had an oceanview overlooking the waterfront and main street, and it was fun to stand out on the deck and watch all of the action below.

The beach is only 5 minutes away if you want to swim, snorkel or tan. You could walk or take a scooter anywhere in town right from the front door.

The only thing that could have made it better was a work out room.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ginabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2006

My family and I planned a last minute vacation to Cozumel. Based on trip advisor reviews we had read, we decided on the Casa Mexicana. The hotel is a great value for the money. The room was immaculate, the staff warm and friendly and the service superb. Every morning a huge Mexican breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room. Fresh Mexican specialities, empanadas, beans, design your own omellette, papaya, pineapple, salmon, pastries, cheeses, cereals, fresh sqeezed oj, grapefruit and carrot juice. The area of the hotel where the breakfast is served is open to the outdoors and is very beautiful. The view from the pool/lobby/bar is superb. My son's birthday was during our stay and I asked the maid if she could make us a birthday cake out of our bath towels. (Everyday when the room is made up a new little bath towel animal is on the beds...so cute)
When we returned to the room later in the day, our entire room was decorated from top to bottom with streamers, balloons and special towel animals. The concierge even delivered a birthday cake to our room at no charge!!
The only downside that I could think of is that there is no beach attached to the hotel as it is in the downtown area of Cozumel. You would have to rent a car or take a cab to a beach. Also the pool is very small and cold!! The pool area surround gets direct sunlight, but the pool is shaded. (The younger ones didn't mind a bit).
The business center has free internet so no need to bring your laptop with you.
If you want to avoid paying tourist prices, try eating lunch at one of the local "luncherias". We ate at a luncheria just steps from the church on the square and got 3 huge grouper tacos for $6-- and they were awsome.
We will be going back to Casa Mexicana on our next trip to Cozumel!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luv2traveltheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

We stayed at the Casa Mexicana Hotel last week for 3 nights. The hotel is exactly what we anticipated and we were very happy. The location is great, only steps away from downtown restaurants, bars, and the pier to take the Ferry. There is an awesome view where you can lay on chairs and watch the cruise boats come in and watch everyone walk by on the busy streets. The rooms were very clean and spacious, housekeeping knocked on our door the first day to make sure we had everything we needed. (next time we will pay the extra money for an Ocean view room, ours was of some backyards which wasn't the best view). We ate at the buffet every morning and it had a different variety each day, the food was very tasty, a lot of hot dishes to fill up on.

There is nothing bad that I can say about Casa Mexicana, if you are looking for a place to stay where you can step outside and be right in the middle of town this is definetly the right place! The beach is only a cab ride away~

PS. If you are looking for a great homemade Mexican meal, go to Las Palmas-it was the best meal we had!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, AR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2006

The hotel employees cleaned every day. With all of the beachgoers bringing in sand every day, this helped keep the place sharp. Also, the beds were not hard, as some reviews noted that their hotel beds were. The buffet had a lot of variety, which is uncommon in a hotel. The food was quite tasty. We had room service as well. The food was decent and it was a good price.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aiylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
10.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
3.1 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing