We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location; Clean and Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Location; Clean and Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Outstanding breakfast buffet. Great location--on the main drag, but quiet (at least our room was, on the city side). Clean room, nice bath--overall no frills, but very functional and a great value for the price--compared to anywhere in the US. Staff not the most helpful, but they tried.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor on the city side and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    300
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
136
472
94
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I read all the great reviews, but I had the worst time at this hotel..On arriving, I almost fell into the indoor pond/pool because there was no signs and cautions . The linen was soiled, which was corrected , and the air condition was not working. we called the desk, and someone came to fix it , but it was a waste of there time.. we went to a restaurant, and then walking down the scenic boulevard, but on our arrival to the hotel, the light was dimmed and we struggled finding our way to the elevator..The hallways, lobby was hot and dark.. we the attempted to take a shower and the water was brown. So one can imagine after walking, and the temperature in the room, the night , I had.. The next morning was difficult, since we had to "wash up "in the sink where the water was clear . We reported the temperature in the room the night prior to, but nothing was done..when we checked out, we reported the quality of the room, and no apology was not given. I wrote an email and no one responded.. This is a cheap motel, not safe or suitable for a vacation away from home. And, travelers with small children, this is a disaster awaiting to happen.. The pool is in the lobby area, floor level and not secured..I spent almost $140 including taxes and fees, and would have preferred a refund...

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel, unless you live under a rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We did not want to stay at a resort because we wanted to have more options. The Casa was everything we wanted, close to downtown shopping, eating, and entertainment. The place was very clean, cool and the breakfast was so much better than the all-inclusive resorts. We would walk the streets at night and never felt any fear. Jaime was always there to help us with any need. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nance33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

There were 4 of us who stayed at this hotel June 15th through the 23rd. The service and cleanliness was 4 stars! This was our 5th year coming to Cozumel we had done the all inclusive deal and were tired of it. So we stayed here what a bargain. The breakfast buffet was awesome and parking was easy since we had a car all week. We could walk to our favorite restaurants also. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noblehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff there is great. Anything we needed they tried to accommodate. It is within walking distance to anything we wanted to do downtown. They gave great recommendations for places to eat in the square and around town.
The only draw back we had was the pool was out of order while we were there.
If you are looking for a place to relax but in the middle of everything you have found it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveDiving61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Nebraska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our second trip to Cozumel. Last time we stayed at Cozumel Palace, and while a wonderful place to stay, we wanted to put more of our money towards diving and less on lodging. IMO, Casa Mexicana is just as nice but is much less expensive.

Our room was clean, roomy enough for the 2 of us and our things and the beds were pretty comfortable for hotel beds. For the most part the noise level was tolerable other than the breakfast clatter and when a very large group of teenagers checked in for some festival going on. They were quiet at night though so we weren't bothered much. The soccer fans outside were the loudest when they were celebrating a last minute win. Lucky for us we didn't want to get to sleep early that night.

The included breakfast buffet was okay, I just wish they offered bacon on a daily basis (they only had it one of the five mornings we stayed). The made to order eggs and pancakes were great though and the fresh OJ was delicious!

The central location was ideal so we didn't have to pay a taxi anytime we wanted to find a place to eat. We got a kick out of the "hawkers" that tried to get us to "buy something for the lady" each and every time we walked by their shops. After a few days they got to recognize us and knowing we weren't going to stop they came up with some very humorous comments!

Everything went very smooth during our stay. Housekeeping was awesome! Every day we'd come back to our room and there would be a different towel art for us to enjoy. We called down to the front desk one day to inquire about an ice machine and they brought us up a bucket full right away. Alex at the front desk even called to make sure we got it quick enough!

We only enjoyed the "pool" once but it was nice to just relax with a wonderful (and potent!) margarita from the bar without a lot of people around like at larger resorts with larger pools.

We hope to return to Cozumel again next year and will certainly consider Casa Mexicana again (unless we decide on a condo rental instead).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peajay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, Mi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second time here and once again had a great time. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. We stayed the first night in a city view room the upgraded the rest of the week to the ocean view. (what a view) The staff made it simple and easy to upgrade.

Very close to everything. There are a lot of great rest. close by with reasonable prices.

Will go back again.
Thanks Casa Mexicana

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor ocean view. All though all the ocean view rooms are nice the top floor give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 426JimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,708 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing