We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“1st rate hotel centrally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“1st rate hotel centrally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The breakfast can't be beat; variety, quality, first rate filling meal. I'd even come to this hotel as a paying guest just to have the breakfast, even if i wasn't staying here. Great for divers, couples and possibly the family (limitation being the lack of a sandy beach or a great big pool) they do have a small pool overlooking the sea. However most do not come to hotel for sandy beach or pool.
Centrally located and convenient to many great dive shops such as Cha Cha Cha around the corner on Calle 7 Sur.

.

Room Tip: City views on the upper floors 4, 5, & 6, of the south side of the building, do actually have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    264
    51
    26
    14
See reviews for
112
406
77
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Mexicana Cozumel in July 2012 (just never got around to posting). We booked our room for two nights from Playa the day we checked in. We loved it so much that at the end of our two nights, we booked the remainder of our ten nights at the Casa Mexicana.

The initial room was nice and had a small balcony that looked over the side street, the big "shopping" mall and the cruise ships at one of the piers. This room wasn't available for the remainder of the time we wanted, so we upgraded to a ocean view room. The view was spectacular and we watched the sunset as well as the ships go in and out daily.

It is across from the busy main street and is at the edge of San Miguel, but that is good for us because we could walk just a couple blocks to shop or eat. If you walk the other way just a couple blocks, you reach Walmart where you can get your supplies. There is a fridge (no microwave), but we ate out and also ate in via food purchased at Walmart on our way back from our daily snorkeling. Breakfast is a buffet included in the price and is delicious, but features basically the same thing daily. The cold food stays cold and the hot food, hot.

The pier to Play del Carmen is within walking distance and taxis are abundant.

There is a beautiful, yet small pool (enough for a cool dip) in the ginormous atrium. The atrium itself is spacious and there are various comfy chairs and tables to sit alone & read, use your laptop, or chill with your group. The atrium is decorated with various Mayan art and includes a small "help yourself" library. There is also a very up-to-date computer stations (4 computers) attached to one printer which they provide for any printing needs you might have.

There are two cons: 1. you have to leave. 2. due to the great atrium, sometimes the noise ventures up to the rooms, but that's usually only during the breakfast time.

Anytime we visit Cozumel, we will stay at Casa Mexicana Cozumel!

Debby & Mike Callahan
Orlando, FL

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are well worth the extra $$. There is one smoking floor, so plan accordi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peculiar, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Dtr got sick so our stay was extended. We moved to Casa Mexicana when our reservation was up at the all-inclusive. The beds at CM are so comfy!! Much better than all the places that get reviews saying beds in Mexico are hard, hard, hard. And better than at the AI we came from. Some of the staff was aware that my dtr was sick and would ask about how she was doing. Some folks at the dive shop told me how great the breakfast was here, but I can't confirm that. One of the days it was raining so hard that the breakfast line was actually getting wet. They moved the buffet from 2nd floor to a spot in front of the pool area on 1st floor, but then did not have the use of the griddle. Next day more rain, buffet at pool, no griddle. What was offered was OK, not spectacular, though I always enjoyed the variety of fresh fruit. The maid did not speak English, but was as delightful as could be and very thorough. Alex, front desk, was particularly helpful and gracious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Within close walking distance to the central part of town and the ferry terminals to the mainland. Very clean room and facilities with friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was great! Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kyjellyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here on Cozumel for 2 nights before we headed up to Cancun for a week. La Casa Mexicana was everything and more than we had expected. We were greeted with a delicious non alcohol fizzy fruit drink and a ice cold wet hand towel to cool off with. The service is top notch, the people were so very friendly and helpful and the rooms were excellent. I had asked for a ocean view room on the highest floor available and we were given 401. Incredible view and very quiet. There was some road noise, but only when the sliding terrace doors were open. The beds were definitely a good sleep bed with plenty of pillows. The buffet breakfast was very good. I loved the omelets! The pool was right in the lobby, but chairs and couches actually blocked your view of the lobby, so that was fine. The water was very cool and refreshing. This hotel is with in walking distance to just about everything and is incredibly clean and modern. We will most definitely stay here again! La Casa Mexicana is for sure the way to go here in Cozumel!!

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View rooms on higher floor.Alot quieter than an inside room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arizjackie1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in downtown cozumel very close to restaurant,bars and supermarkets!rooms are very clean and spacious!the breakfast buffet tasty and rich.the personel is friendly and nice.the only thing i did not like it is the pool,which is very small but the view from pool area is amazing!overall i had a very nice and confortable stay at casa mexicana!i recomend it to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kukymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week at this lovely hotel which is located perfectly in the downtown location. Ideal for great resteraunt just around the corner as well as many local bars. Rooms were clean and well kept. Always take a balcony room with and ocean view, away from the breakfast buffet as i does become noisy in the mornings. Great stay at this hotel and would definately go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Myron28
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#6 of 50 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 3,397 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Explorean
The Explorean
#1 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing