We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service above and beyond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Service above and beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

In a world where everyone is selling pretty much the same thing , this place is a a world apart. From the second you walk through the door the staff takes great care to see that all your needs are met as well as addressing you by name at breakfast. Wow! The hotel is located from the second floor to the sixth floor of a building just across the street from the ocean just a few blocks south of the main plaza in town. Beautifully laid out with a swimming pool located on the second floor over looking the Caribbean Sunset. The Ocean view rooms have this same advantage as well as being able to watch he cruise ship as they dock. Rooms and grounds were spotless, and stayed that way. Almost seeming as thought they cleaned and mopped the room each time after we left. The breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful with tasty selections from local cuisine, to fresh omelets that would make your mouth water, and a fresh fruit selection that would make anyone smile. Over all this was a wonderful experience and would enjoy a return stay here without hesitation. My hat is off to the entire staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheoylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    300
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
136
473
94
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

have been to Cozumel numerous times have always wanted to stay at this property and finally did 4/17 - 4/22. great property, great staff and a great price. I will go back. xcellant breakfast buffet and it is all fresh made. no lunchor dinner served though. there is no sandy beach outfront available like some of the bigger hotel chains but you do not need it. it is very close to the central square and we made it Sunday evening to watch the local bands play. while there and just off the square and in walking distance we made Wet Wendy's for margaritas, Woody's for fish tacos, Rolandis' for fish/lobster, Carlos N Charlies for beers, Starbucks for coffee.

Room Tip: ask Edith or Kerri for an upgrade and spend a little more to get the ocean view rooms. we were in 40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We've been to Cozumel many times and have stayed in many different hotels in San Miguel. This time we chose Casa Mexicana because of their great rate on Expedia. We were pleasantly surprised at the level of service and friendliness of the staff, and the overall level of cleanliness of the entire hotel. The room and common areas were spotless, and the view of the Caribbean from the lobby is spectacular. The wait staff at the breakfast buffet is wonderful, as is the quallity of the food. It's not just cold cereal and toast. It has a very convenient location, right on the main street, near shopping and super market (1-2 blocks). The front desk staff is very helpful and knowledgeble of the area and will give you a local map to help you find your way. Will definitely stay there again. Oh...and lest I forget...good beds and plenty of pillows!

Room Tip: You may not want to be facing or above the breakfast buffet on the second floor. There will be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwhalen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Casa Mexicana Cozumel is located on the main street in town, bordering the harbor. The hotel begins on the second floor of the building, providing a lovely view of the water, a dipping pool and deck area, a tended bar all connected to the lobby. The service is attentive, the hotel is bright and clean, the rooms spacious with comfy beds and lots of pillows. Breakfast is included and the breakfast area is in an atrium which is sunny and airy, tables set with linens but with typical Cozumel casualness. Jaime, the waiter who has been with the hotel for many years, takes wonderful care of guests at breakfast, which is a large buffet laid out with local dishes, as well as hand-made omlettes and egg dishes. The hotel rates are reasonable. You don't need a car to get to Cozumel's best restaurants, the plaza or the ferry. The hotel also offers package deals with local dive shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view (rear and side of hotel) or water view room. The interior rooms open over the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our 4th stay at Casa Mexicana - the last three were for one month each. This alone speaks volumes for Casa Mexicana! Have been very pleased with every aspect of this well-run hotel. ALL staff are exceptional!! We love this place and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ocean view is our favorite, but would not hesitate to choose a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Casa Mexicana is in a central location in the touristy area of Cozumel, close to some good local restaurants though. The rooms were large and very clean but we stayed directly over the buffet and the cling clanging at 8am everyday was really annoying, not to mention the smell. Be sure to ask for a room away from the buffet. However, the buffet was good, there was a lot of variety even for someone that eats extremely clean + healthy. Only negative about the location of the hotel is that the Disney cruise ship docks right in front everyday...but there are cruise ships all over. If you like cruise ships no problem then but if you can't stand them then you will be annoyed. Overall, rooms were great for the price just request a non buffet view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the Easter weekend. The hotel is located near downtown and close to most stores, duty frees and entertainment in Cozumel and has a great view of the bay and docked cruise ships.
I rated it as poor because I was put in a row of rooms which are only separated from the open-air buffet breakfast area by a glass window! It escapes me why would they place anybody in these rooms… it is impossible to sleep past 6:00 AM because of all the noise… people dragging chairs, clanking plates, people talking, smell of food, etc… and even worse people banging against your class window.
Needless to say you have to keep your curtains completely closed otherwise you would have people having breakfast with a view of you!

Room Tip: never accept rooms 205, 206, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank BillDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#1 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,571 reviews
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#10 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,713 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing