We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Burlingame, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel situated right on the waterfront. The building is light and airy. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Hot water is not quite adequate for my taste. They have a wonderful and generous breakfast buffet which can keep you going until dinner, when the cruise ships all clear out and the town is yours! Its easy to get bikes, scooters or cars from here and tour the island or just the town. It is also very close to the ferry for tours of tulum or chichen itza. Good all around location, thats convenient to everything.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank glrothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    304
    59
    28
    15
See reviews for
138
482
96
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our second trip to Cozumel. This was by far the best service we have ever received. Food was excellent, staff was very friendly. It is right in the heart of Cozumel. You can walk to almost anywhere. I would highly recommend paying the extra for the ocean view. We changed rooms the second night, which was a great move!!

Room Tip: If you would like to see the sunset ask for rooms ending in 06-10 on any of the floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lovely, clean rooms and very pleasant staff with nice breakfast included. Stayed for a long dive weekend. Right in the heart of town. Pool was cold and pool deck was hot, but if you aren't looking to hang at a pool or beach, I would highly recommend this hotel. Great value for the price. Would definately consider staying there again. Many of the hotels in Cozumel are all inclusive, so being in town and trying different restaurants was nice.

Room Tip: If you aren't getting an ocean view, the rooms which face the back have a bit more pleasant view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went there in January 2012 for two weeks and had a brilliant time.

The breakfasts were the best one we've ever had.

The rooms are nice and the location is just perfect.

Only thing is that the pool isn't great, but the sea is nice and warm so no need for the pool.


Staff is very nice and helpful too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
258 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want to be in the action in downtown Cozumel, I recommend the Casa Mexicana. Very convenient if you are diving with Aqua Safari. Rooms have 2 queen beds, nice bathroom, balconies (good for drying dive gear), TV (many channels but all in Spanish), mini fridge, safe, iron, desk & free (but unreliable) internet. Nice lobby with bar & pool overlooking the harbor and action on Av. Melgar. Computers available for checeking e-mail. Excellent Mexican breakfast buffet is included ($12 for non-guests). Hotel appears to be frequented by Mexican businessmen and not just tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back to avoid street noise (but tradeoff is you don’t have a harbor view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLu_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Super great place to stay in the heart of everything in Coxumel. Stayed there will in town for Ironman Cozumel. I plan to go back again next year. Close to all the race venues and walking distance from the ferry dock about a 1/4 mile walk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellamultisport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. Excellent service and a very nice breakfast. The room was clean, comfortable and large. Beach towels were provided free of charge. Location was central and good. Easy walking distance from ferry. Hotel is also close to pier where dive boats depart. Would book again.

Room Tip: Some standard rooms also have seaview. We were given one on request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
10.6 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
3.1 mi away
Playa Azul Golf, Scuba, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing