We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Love Casa Mexicana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love Casa Mexicana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous week at Casa Mexicana. Jaime and the rest of the staff are excellent, the rooms are spotless and the breakfast is delicious. The wifi in our room worked well however in other rooms it wasn't great. The lobby wifi was great, though, so it wasn't an issue. Casa's location can't be beat - right in the heart of everything and overlooking the harbor. The only outside noise we could hear in our room was a neighboring rooster.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crashcatblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    259
    49
    26
    13
See reviews for
108
397
75
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Been here before and it's still great value.

Rooms are comfortable and the buffet is great.

Only bad is wifi is sketchy in rooms for iPhones but does work on laptops. Wifi in lobbies and restaurant is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikesEpicLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been to Cozumel many, many times over the past 25 years and have stayed in a lot of different places. Hotel Casa Mexicana was the most centrally located hotel with all the aminities that you would need on a paradice island like Cozumel. It has a pool on the second floor which is the location of the main lobby. There are escalators to take you to the second floor so no steps to climb. The rooms that I booked were the "view of the city" type rooms, not ocean view, and it was a VIEW OF THE CITY! The room was clean, neat and well kept. The staff were always willing to assist you in any they could. The buffet breakfast was just as good. Chef's on the spot to make omlets or what ever else you can do with eggs. VERY NICE

Room Tip: To save money use the city view, the ocean view rooms are mostly obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painter, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Once again my wife an I flew to Coz for another dive trip and this time we spent 2 weeks at the Casa this October... Such a treat as I can't remember the last time I had a 2-week vacation! Travelers, vacationers, and divers all visit Cozumel as does the cruise ship crowd that stops in for a few hours and is gone.

This hotel is most suited for the travelers and divers who wish to experience the culture of Cozumel and the town of San Miguel and is not interested in spending their vacation isolated in one of the many all-inclusive resorts that are an expensive taxi ride away from town. Time and again we have heard people chatting on the airplane going and coming about the "deal" they received at their all inclusive resort on the island and when I look at what our stay at the casa cost plus what the sit down lunches and dinners at the restaurants of our choice cost and all the adult beverages we could possibly put down, and we come no where close to what their "deal" cost them. Furthermore, we didn't have to eat in some buffet line every night.

The Casa offers both ocean view and city view rooms. The ocean view rooms are fantastic and we stayed in them in our first few visits. However, as we all have new budgets to live by these days we moved to the city view rooms on our later trips and while the view isn't as great, the savings will pay for dinner every night for 2 at the best restaurants Sam Miguel has to offer which is a fair trade in my opinion... We just relax on the common waterfront pool deck, enjoy a few beverages, and watch the harbor and street activity for a while until it's time to hit the town for dinner.

The Casa is absolutely spotless. No mater what time of day the staff is cleaning something... The floors, the walls, the pool... Everywhere is clean. Sometimes I've wondered why they are cleaning a spotless floor yet again!

The buffet breakfast is fantastic and if what you want isn't on the buffet they'll make it for you free of charge. The TV in your room will have plenty of American feeds to watch.

If you are interested in truly experiencing Cozumel this is the place to stay and if you are a diver, Aqua Safari who we have been diving with since the beginning has it's dock for the boats right out front. What could be easier for us divers?

Room Tip: There are a number of city view rooms that offer ocean views. They are not the full blown views tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Casa Mexicana comes highly recommended and there are many reasons for this. The property is very clean in all areas, the staff is congenial and available, the location is central. The price we paid was an excellent value, especially with a very nice breakfast was included. If you want a beach location, this is not the place for you. It was great for us because we did diving a few days and then rode motor scooter around the island to other beaches a few days. The supermarket is a very short walk and there is a mini-frig in room. It is on the main street so you will see a lot of people from the tour boat and ferries and a lot of store keepers asking for you business as you walk down the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dp86001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay at Casa Mexicana was very nice and would definitely return. Check in was quick and were allowed to check in over an hour early. The beds were comfortable, the A/C worked well, and the room very quite.

The lobby was very comfortable with a great view and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel but this time i Was desapointed that they did not understand my situation

I went to Cozumel for an iron man, as always I stayed in CASA Mexicana, this is a hotel that I alway use for my Bussines trips and my completion trips that are the two reasons I go to Cozumel, on the last day I was a little late to the check out time and they charge me half a day, I was not happy with this I think that they could have been more understanding

Other than this is a great choise

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gferraez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villas Las Anclas
Villas Las Anclas
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coral Princess Golf & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 52 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 stars 3,365 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing