We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

First time staying at Casa Mexicana and we were impressed. The rooms are updated and clean. the staff was great and went out of their way to assist you. The location was perfect if you like staying downtown. I can't say enough of the breakfast buffet, it is one the best I've ate in Mexico.

I will be recommending this to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tadolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    319
    67
    28
    17
See reviews for
157
517
103
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We haven been to Cozmel three times this year...most recently July,& have stayed at Casa Mexicana all three times. This place is great....convenient to the town square...GREAT breakfast buffet...clean rooms, and friendly and helpful staff. Will stay here every time we visit Cozumel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We needed an overnight hotel in Cozumel and Casa Mexican delivers. Very friendly staff, quick check-in plus room was ready early. Room was very clean and A/C worked great. We had city view room looking east. Nothing special with the view but the large balcony was nice to relax on while 3 women got ready for dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was plentiful and wonderful; fresh huevos rancheros is a great way to start your day. During check-out, front desk staff was genuinely interested in our stay and looked forward to welcoming us back the following week. Unfortunately, our plans changed with a hospital stay in Playa del Carmen but Casa Mexicana accepted our reservation cancellation without penalty. Thank you Casa Mexicana! Definitely recommended! We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Beach
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was happy this was recommended to me. The staff are all wonderful. The breakfast buffet is very nice and even includes salmon and capers along with good Mexican food and someone preparing eggs as you like them. The room was large and comfortable and the AC worked well. It had all of the amenities to be expected, but oddly they weren't replaced (no new soap, kleenex, etc.). I just went out and bought them, but later the receptionist said I should have told them and they would have fixed the problem. The WIFI also worked well. Thank heavens! It was easy to walk to restaurants and to and from the ferry. The cabs in Cozumel are a nightmare, so I was glad to be able to walk and not have to use those rip-off artists.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the water views - and are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonCapeMayBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Lick, PA
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at a sister hotel, the Bahia, but had breakfast here every morning. Jaime, our waiter was awesome. He heard us call our daughter by name and greeted her every morning by name. He would bring us our drinks while we were at the buffet without us ever asking. Great service. Santa made us awesome waffles or omlets each morning. She had such a friendly smile and helped us with our unknown spanish words. We loved the food and the atmosphere and may choose this hotel in the future due to the service and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Juice, milk and coffee are free but soda's are $2. If you do not have to have a COKE first thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at casa Mexicana in jan 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is on the waterfront facing one of the cruise ship docks. We were two couples and were lucky enough to get rooms on the front. The views each sunset with cruise ships departing were quite a sight. We stayed in Cozumel itself as we were close to several dive shops. The location was excellent and the town is quite easy to negotiate. The hotel itself was very clean with quite excellent staff that were even friendly at reception. The crew doing breakfast couldn't do enough for you, really nice service. The only downside is if you've had a bit of wine the night before then the breakfast setup is a bit noisy as the hotel is designed atrium style inside. Besides that we'd a really nice stay and would return without question.

Room Tip: We liked the upper waterfront rooms with the larger patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergalandorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week. We have always stayed at all inclusive resorts in Cozumel but in February on our way home Delta had over booked the plane and put us up for the night here. We enjoyed it so much we decided to come back and stay a week.

The staff is Great, the breakfast is awesome, and the location can not be beat. We enjoyed getting out every night and finding new places to eat. We also went to the local grocery stores and purchased a few food items so we could make sandwiches. We are avid divers and like to sleep in and go on an afternoon dive vs the morning ones. So we have make a small snack for ourselves. We also drink a lot of water and instead of purchasing lots of plastic bottles of water we got 3 5 gal. jugs of water and a couple of bottles to refill each day.

We will be staying here again.


Cons: We like to sleep in in the mornings. We had an ocean view room which was nice other than the fact that they started the prep work for breakfast around 6am. The door to our room faced the atrium area and it starts to get loud w/ the clanking of dishes, blending of juice, and the beeping of the waffle maker. I took a towel and rolled it up and laid it at the bottom of the door to help muffle the sound in the morning. This was our only problem with Casa Mexicana. But it is not a big enough problem to keep us from coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gails78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 52 in Cozumel
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre calles 5 y 7 | Frente al malecón, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully-designed hotel and our loving staff are ready to delight you in Casa Mexicana, like your home away from home! We're located very close to the main pier at Cozumel, just in the heart of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing