We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“FANTASTIC BREAKFAST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Black Lick, PA
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at a sister hotel, the Bahia, but had breakfast here every morning. Jaime, our waiter was awesome. He heard us call our daughter by name and greeted her every morning by name. He would bring us our drinks while we were at the buffet without us ever asking. Great service. Santa made us awesome waffles or omlets each morning. She had such a friendly smile and helped us with our unknown spanish words. We loved the food and the atmosphere and may choose this hotel in the future due to the service and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Juice, milk and coffee are free but soda's are $2. If you do not have to have a COKE first thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    273
    54
    27
    15
See reviews for
117
421
81
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at casa Mexicana in jan 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is on the waterfront facing one of the cruise ship docks. We were two couples and were lucky enough to get rooms on the front. The views each sunset with cruise ships departing were quite a sight. We stayed in Cozumel itself as we were close to several dive shops. The location was excellent and the town is quite easy to negotiate. The hotel itself was very clean with quite excellent staff that were even friendly at reception. The crew doing breakfast couldn't do enough for you, really nice service. The only downside is if you've had a bit of wine the night before then the breakfast setup is a bit noisy as the hotel is designed atrium style inside. Besides that we'd a really nice stay and would return without question.

Room Tip: We liked the upper waterfront rooms with the larger patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergalandorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week. We have always stayed at all inclusive resorts in Cozumel but in February on our way home Delta had over booked the plane and put us up for the night here. We enjoyed it so much we decided to come back and stay a week.

The staff is Great, the breakfast is awesome, and the location can not be beat. We enjoyed getting out every night and finding new places to eat. We also went to the local grocery stores and purchased a few food items so we could make sandwiches. We are avid divers and like to sleep in and go on an afternoon dive vs the morning ones. So we have make a small snack for ourselves. We also drink a lot of water and instead of purchasing lots of plastic bottles of water we got 3 5 gal. jugs of water and a couple of bottles to refill each day.

We will be staying here again.


Cons: We like to sleep in in the mornings. We had an ocean view room which was nice other than the fact that they started the prep work for breakfast around 6am. The door to our room faced the atrium area and it starts to get loud w/ the clanking of dishes, blending of juice, and the beeping of the waffle maker. I took a towel and rolled it up and laid it at the bottom of the door to help muffle the sound in the morning. This was our only problem with Casa Mexicana. But it is not a big enough problem to keep us from coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gails78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We come back to this hotel year after year. We have started bringing Christmas presents for the staff because they are part of our family. We have always felt welcome and they have done everything possible to make our week in paradise that much more special. We have already booked our next stay for Jan 12-19, 2013 and can't wait!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan48331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a week at the Casa Mexicana. We choose this hotel as we tend to be urban travelers and like experience local restaurants and flavor we might miss staying at one of the all inclusive hotels. Additionally, we live in San Diego so being right on the beach isn't that important to us. Casa Mexicana sits across from the ocean on the main coastal road. It's across from a taxi stand, a couple blocks from the town sqaure and very close to the top restaurants. The guests at the hotel are a mix of tourists and business travelers which makes it a little more interesting. The service was great and it is very clean. So clean you could eat off the floor. The breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the staff. I would stay here again in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Of course you do!
We stayed here on our first trip to Cozumel and returned for our third. If you want to stay in a hotel downtown (different restaurants, local night life, etc.), I'm not sure there is a better option than here. The place is remarkably clean, everywhere. Seriously, they clean constantly. The breakfast buffet is delicious and varied, with different days having different options. They'll make you an omelet, empanadas, heuvos rancheros, a baby waffle, carrot juice... The staff at breakfast is darling and super friendly, especially Jamie. The beds are comfortable, the pillows are plentiful and the hot water is always available. The AC works great whenever you need it. The lobby has an open-air lounge area with a nice little bar. WiFi coverage all-around. Do it. You won't regret it.
Oh, also there's towel art on your bed after the room is cleaned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was the only place during our entire vacation in the Quintana Roo area that we were treated with respect, and made to feel very welcome. They acted as if they were happy for our business instead of constantly trying to get more from the tourist. The breakfast buffet was awesome. We bought a dive trip in front of the hotel, and were able to be picked up across the street at the pier. It was only a quick 10 minute walk to the ferry. There was a small fridge in the room, and the beds were comfortable. Local calls from their phone are 5 pesos each. I thought they were included, so that was my only surprise. They don't really have a swimming pool, just a small 3 ft square to cool off in. I'd recommend this hotel, great location, great service, locals type feeling. I booked this through hotels.com, and got a cheaper price than they had listed at thier hotel, which was $135 for double occupancy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theinsidescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
3.5 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cozumel and Resort
2.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 50 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#17 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#12 of 50 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mexicana Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mexicana Cozumel

Property: Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Address: Av Rafael E Melgar 457 Sur entre 5 y 7, Cozumel 77600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mexicana Cozumel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Mexicana Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Hotel Cozumel
Cozumel Casa Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing