We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the promise of renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Don't believe the promise of renovations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2005

I've stayed at the Park Royal six times dating back to when it was called the Sol Caribe. They promise improvements every year. When I stayed at the Coral Princess in Aug. 2004, the Park Royal management stated they would have a pool and restuarant completed in December of 2004 right next to their cove. When I stayed at the El Cid in late January 2005 and came over to visit the Park Royal, nothing had been done.

More than two-thirds of the rooms will never be used again. They still use the same mattresses and room fixtures from 1978. I know this because they gave me a tour in January. They have only repainted the frames. Look under the linens and you will be surprised. How hard is it to get a new mattress? It's been twenty-seven years. You can see mold outside the convention rooms on the north end of the hotel.

Haven't eaten there in five years but I assume it has only gotten worse, given the reviews. I'm not a picky eater but it was pretty bad exept for my first couple of stays ten years ago. Luckily they are located close to several decent restaurants.

I do like the bartender that has worked there for over fifteen years. You give him your order and he'll always say "okey dokey". Funny man.

Just a word of advice, don't believe any hotel's promise of renovations. Email others that have stayed recently before your trip to see if anything was done.

  • Stayed August 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, July 6, 2016
Dear Guest,

First let me thank you for having stayed at Grand Park Royal Cozumel.

Thanks to feedback like yours , we can identify our areas of opportunity to continue to provide quality service .

I hope accept my sincere apologies for the difficulties encountered.

Rest assured that appropriate measures together with the managers responsible for each area have already been taken to avoid similar circumstances.

We would love to receive it in the future to make sure you receive the quality service you deserve.

Cordially,

Ignacio Rivera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,527
    1,371
    535
    198
    151
See reviews for
1,185
1,611
73
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2005

This hotel was built in 1978 (as per the plaque) & unfortunately it looks as though nothing has been done to it since. While I love old hotels -- The Plaza, The Waldorf, many in Europe come to mind -- I object to hotels which apparently have not had regular maintenance or upkeep. Such unfortunately is the case here.

First, the main lobby has no elevators; therefore people must walk up & down rather steep steps to come & go. This can be a chore for older people, people with injuries & people who are just plain tired. There were many unhappy faces when people were initially confronted with this. Second, the pool, while large & meandering, did not look clean; indeed, it had a rather noticeable oily film on it. Needless to say, we avoided it during our stay. Third, the main al fresco dining area was subpar both in looks & cleanliness. Fourth, the food, oh lordy, the food. I'll not go into its presentation (poor & very unappetizing), nor its quality (sub, sub, subpar). Suffice it to say, during our four day stay we ate primarily sliced fruit (decent), some baked goods, & at breakfast, omelettes prepared while you waited (excellent). The entrees were left untouched, not only by us, but also by the majority of our fellow diners. The only option in this all-inclusive hotel, was the "gourmet" restaurant for which you had to sign up ahead of time. After two nights we gave up on this too.

Because the rooms in a newer building were clean & decent (with an elevator !), the snorkeling was good, & the beach, while small, was okay, all was not lost. However, when I asked the staff what the story was, we were told that a new building going up next to the pool would be ready by December, 2005, the pool & the restaurants would be renovated, AND an elevator added from the lobby area. Do not stay here now. Wait until this happens !

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2005

We arrived at the Park Royal on April 7 and stayed for 4 days. Based on the vast range of reviews we read on this site about the resort we were a bit leery at first, but I have to admit we ended up being pleasantly surprised. The staff is so friendly and very attentive and the service was great. The rooms were bright and very clean. Any time we needed anything the staff was more than happy to oblige. The breakfast and lunch buffet had a wide variety (we never had the dinner buffet) and the staff would ask you if you would like them to grab you a beer or mix drink from the bar. Granted the facilities are under construction, the grounds are still very well maintained. They do not use top shelf liquors, but they're more than happy to keep your cup full. We had the most unbelievable dinner on our last night. The front desk recommended the Casa Mission which is located downtown. Maybe a 10 minute cab ride from the resort. This restaurant is definitely 5 stars without the 5 star price. Great food, great ambience and beautiful surroundings. It has an international menu which gives you a variety of dishes to choose from. It's a house that has been converted into a restarant, but has not lost the history of the building. You can dine on the L-shaped veranda or in the beautifully landscaped gardens that surround the house. Also, they have 2 lions, monkeys and an assortment of exotic birds. We had a GREAT time and really hope that when the resort opens back up under the Sheraton name it still has the great qualities we enjoyed and many more.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AleceN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2005

I just recently got home from a 6 night stay at the park royal. i spring breaked it with 7 friends and i had a great time. the food is blah and the so called 'gourmet' resturant is anything but gourmet....worst meal id ever had in my LIFE!....i suggest breakfast and lunch at the buffet and then dinner somewhere downtown. miguel was always ready to serve u at the bar and remmebered you every night. the beach was nice and the boats coming in and out of the dock were alot of fun. the pool was alright and the staff was really funny. the resort had a great mix of people from 60 yr old couples to party people in there early twenties which made it fun. they had clean rooms and safes in the closet to store your stuff like ipods, money and passport. we all had a great time relaxin during the day and gettin crazy at night. so i recommend the park royal if your lookin for some fun

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2005

We spent at week at the Park Royal Mar 5-12 and found it to be excellent! It doesn't claim to be a 5 star resort but it was very clean and the grounds are beautiful. The staff were great - very gracious and most willing to make our stay enjoyable. Our only complaint was that the manager at the front desk told us that we could only have 2 bottles of water in the room (never got his name but the woman who we normally dealt with was wonderful). However, we easily got around that by asking the maids for extra water which they provided every day. We did tip the maids, waiters, bartenders because the service was outstanding. They could certainly teach our canadian service industry a thing or two! Our room was always immaculate, freshly laundered bedding, towels and the floor washed every day. We did take advantage of the room safe for a whopping $2/day so had no security issues although I agree with someone else's evaluation of the balconies, it appeared extremely easy for someone to get from room to room via them, so do as warned on the doors and lock them when you're not there! Because you don't have to spend a fortune to stay at the hotel and you're so close to town, you can and we did go to town frequently (40 peso taxi ride) and ate there at some great places, very reasonable and a wonderful experience. Take the Tarzan Dune Buggy Tour - it's wild and a great time! We did the timeshare shark experience (who claim that the hotel will be closing and renovating at the end of this month, reopening later in the year all new and improved), pleaded poverty and got to go to Chankanaab Park for the day (well worth it) on the hotel. My suggestion - you're on holidays, relax, be happy, treat the staff with respect, be courteous and they will be more than happy to return the favour - of course that follows wherever you go. We'd go back in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beachdreamer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, July 8, 2016
Thanks to reviews as complete as yours, we are able to identify opportunity areas that we can improve to provide you with a more exceptional service.

We will be more than glad to welcome you back at our resort and go beyond your expectations one more time.

Cordially,

Ignacio Rivera.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2005

My girlfriend and I went to Park Royal back on 3/4/05 for a week.It was
the best vaca we both had. The place was clean, staff so friendly,food
was ok, and drinks were cold. The people that stayed here were also so
friendly we met a lot of new friends. After reading the reviews we didn't know what to expect. The gardens were so beautiful. It was everything we
wanted for a week. We will definitely be booking a trip back next year.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Park Royal as guests of friends from March 4-11. After reading some of the horror stories written by others, I was rather apprehensive about our stay. Our concerns proved to be without foundation. We had a wonderful experience!

Some of the negative reviews appear to grow out of a social snobbery, others out of a cultural snobbery. This was not a five star property. It wasn't billed as such. The Park Royal isn't located in the heart of a United States resort area. It appears, though, that many of the complainers expected five star American service while only paying for a budget accomodation. Our room was bright and well-maintained. The shower was wonderful....the strongest stream of water I've ever experienced in any hotel...there was no brown water, and the toilet worked every time.

The staff was friendly, but a little shy. Many were not fluent in English, but after all, I'm a visitor in their country. There was some slow service from time to time, but there was also excellent service most of the time. The food wasn't gourment, but we didn't lose weight, and we didn't get sick.

There was construction going on, but there was a minimum of noise and inconvenience. I understand that the hotel is closing for a complete renovation at the end of April, reopening in December, as a 5 star resort managed by Sheraton. I only hope that I'll be able to book a week or more next March!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#7 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#16 of 51 in Cozumel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#2 of 51 in Cozumel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing