We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$226
$199
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Explorean Cozumel(Cozumel)
$296
$198
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
$243
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel(Cozumel)(Great Value!)
$144
$122
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Cozumel(Cozumel)
$170
$140
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$117
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cozumel Palace(Cozumel)
$765
$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$238
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,725)
Filter reviews
4,725 results
Traveler rating
1,918
1,666
671
271
199
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,918
1,666
671
271
199
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharethe caribbean restaurantbikini barcoconut grouperokie dokiesmall beachnachosinfinity poolmexican and italian restaurantsbeach areasnack barhot watermake reservationsocean viewmain poolper daycruise ship
Filter
Updating list...
1,588 - 1,593 of 4,725 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2015

Very small beach and no night life. Short cab ride to downtown which makes up for no activities. Ok snorkeling right at hotel. Food was good, grounds pretty for small resort. Typical all inclusive, would not go back just because we love to walk beach. Great town with lots to be entertained by, felt safe. We rented a jeep and toured island-fun. Took fairy to playa for day and stayed in cheap hotel there for night-great experience. Town square fun at night.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor room overlooking garden. Higher level room better for seeing ocean. Tunnel under road to get to beach so beach side rooms not option. If love snorkeling this is a good place.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragons67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2015

Dear Guest:

We are very sorry that you have not been satisfied during your visit with us. Thanks for your feedback. Effectively, Cozumel Island is a safe place to enjoy an unforgettable vacation.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again to enjoy a unique and friendly service.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2015

Went with a couple friends to get away from the cold for a bit and found the place to be well above my expectations. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and fun. If you venture to shops in the area know that no price is non-negotiable. The beds were a little stiff if that's a concern for you. I don't recommend trying to get dinner reservations as the line is always long, there's no guarantee you will get them, and the food at the regular dinner buffet was much better. I will likely be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ignacio_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

Dear Guest:


Our helpful and friendly staff is the main reason why many guests choose to return to Park Royal Cozumel.

Thank you for choosing together with friends, spend your holiday with us and thanks for your comments.

Let me tell you the follow: in each specialty restaurant each night, we serve about 120 guests.

We look forward to serve you again.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2015

The president suite that we requested was very spacious and had an unreal balcony with a great ocean view! We are very pleased with the overall service of the hotel providing what our family with what we needed, the buffet restaurant has great variety of foods and the two dining, italian and mexican, retaurants are excellent! There is a shopping area next to resort which includes a Hard Rock cafe wich was very nice. Again great scheduled activities for the kids and caring staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69possum2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Park Royal Cozumel with readers.

It is an honor to read comments like yours and know that our staff continues to provide exceptional service to all our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your family and you again for a memorable experience.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2015

Just got back from a wonderful week stay at Park Royal Cozumel. To start off this resort is CLEAN, like guy scrapping gum of the walkways all day long CLEAN! The staff if amazing! Ruby, the pool cocktail waitress, was beyond amazing! 6 out of 7 days we had the pleasure of having her help us. The pool and beach areas are stunning but the pools are cold. The "hot" tubs are not hot but sorta kinda warm. Neither really bothered us since it was so hot out the cold pools were nice after the initial shock. Francisco, the activity director, is hilarious! He works so hard to organize activities that get the guests involved ( my hubs played volleyball everyday!) The rooms are spacious and the beds were comfy, on the firmer side (we had doubles and just pushed them together). Shower water was hot. If you want the ocean view upgrade ($40 per night) for a 6th or higher level room. Food is typical buffet food. Nothing to complain about. Each night the theme for dinner was different so that was nice. Oriental (sushi) night was by far my fav. There are 2 specialty restaurants, Mexican and Italian. Neither is anything to rave about. If you want a reservation you have to stand in line outside the restaurant by 11:40 (doors open at 12). This wasn't a big deal since we had 6 in our party we just took turns. There are 2 snack bars which we ate lunch at most days. One serves hot dogs, nachos, and burgers. The other services burritos, ham sandwiches and wings. Breakfast buffet is the same every day but there is plenty of food to choose from. The free wifi was fine in the lobby and pool areas. Depending on your phone some people even got it in their rooms! I didn't bother paying extra for the premium wifi. Cab rides to downtown are $8. Timeshare vultures weren't as bad as I had expected. They only really bother you if you are in the lobby during the day. Politely say no thanks and be on your way.

Tipping the workers a few bucks here and there goes a LONG way! Keep that in mind! We are tippers and everyone bent over backwards to help us!

There are a few cons that i feel i have to mention
- Don't bother bringing heels. All walkways are cobblestone and impossible to walk on in heels. People that have issues with walking go somewhere else!
- There is no beach to take walks on. I knew this when we booked but it bothered me more then i thought it would. The streets are very safe so you can walk outside the resort if you want to (downtown is about a 45 min walk).
- Not enough seating in the lobby area. At night this is where everyone gathers and it's ridiculous the amount of seating there is. This would have to be my BIGGEST complaint!
- Not enough seating by pool and beach area. My husband got up at 6am everyday to put towels on the chairs to reserve them for the day. By the time we were done with breakfast (9ish) you could not find an empty seat. Workers do their best to find you chairs but not always possible
- If you want an unobstructed view of the ocean this is NOT the resort for you. The cruise ships are parked directly to the side of the resort every day except Sun.

All in all, I was very happy with my experience here. We had an amazing week and met some amazing people. The walk-ability of the beach is the only thing that would stop me from coming back.

Room Tip: Floors 6+ are ocean view. If you need quiet at night ask for a room away from the theater (shows run till about 10:30)
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Justyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

Dear Guest:

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Park Royal Cozumel. Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection; let me offer an apology if we fail to meet your expectations at all times.

We look forward to welcome you back and show the improvements made thanks to your valuable comments.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2015

My wife & I chose this result because my cousins were staying here. They are members of the Park Royal vacation club. Unfortunately, we booked before we read the reviews here. Most of the negative reviews turned out to be true. First the positives, for the most part, the resort was very clean. Now the negatives. The rooms: The beds are awful. Not just hard but generally uncomfortable. Don't expect to sleep well here. Hot water never happened but the water got warm enough to not be uncomfortable, There are only 3 small drawers in the dresser and a small closet. Expect to leave many of yours clothes in your luggage. We saw very small bugs, the size of a pin head, regularly on the dresser and the countertop of the sink area. Disturbing but didn't have a serious problem. The doors don't seal so expect noise. There is about a one inch gap under the door so you will hear any rowdy people who happen to be in the hall. We were close to the entertainment area so we heard the shows (not worth going to) when we tried to sleep. They give you two bottles of water each day and tell you if you want more to go to the deli and but more (All Inclusive??). There are no clocks in the room and no coffee makers. The television gets very few channels and only 2 in English. Fitness Club: small, with limited machines. They charge $8 a day to use it (who said this place was all inclusive??). The Pool and Beach: Yes it is very hard to get chairs unless you get down there early and save them which enough people do that you can't expect to get one after 9am. They also are cheap and uncomfortable. The ones by the beach are worse as they are the cheap plastic slat variety. I say beach loosely, it is maybe 200ft wide. The pool chairs are more comfortable as they are plastic but the sitting area is fabric. The pool water was very cold. Hard to figure out how that can be with 80 degree days but you will fine that hardly any one uses the pool because of the temperature. Time Share push: We got called in our room shortly after getting there saying to come down for our welcome gift and presentation. We declined. The next morning at 7:30 they called again and I told them to leave us alone. Two days later they stuck a letter in our door saying it was urgent for us to come down for the presentation. Restaurants and food: Ranged from awful to ok, mostly awful. The buffet had themes each night (Tex Mex, Oriental, Italian, etc.) but was 90% the same every night. On Italian night they added, pasta, replaced it with ribs (very fatty) on Tex Mex night, and has sushi on Oriental night (scary on a buffet). Breakfast was the same thing but added eggs and sausage. No bacon unless you ask a waiter for it. Except for a few items, breakfast, lunch and dinner were the same food items, and not good food at that. If you prefer quantity over quality, you'll be OK. If you like good food, don't even think about staying here. Our best meals were off site. I had a "hamburger" at the beach area. I don't know what kind of meat that was but it was one of the most awful things I ever ate. The "pizza" was a joke. It might have been a tortilla with cheese on it. But then again I'm used to good pizza in Chicago. Shopping Area: There is what looks like a nice shopping area right next to the resort which includes a Hard Rock but it is more than half empty. That may be related to the economy but with 4 cruise ships docked across the street, there must be a reason why it wasn't crowded (high prices?). The internet was spotty at best with the best reception in the main lobby area. Summary: The best thing here was the weather and obviously the resort had nothing to do with that. We read reviews as bad as mine before we got here and found them to be mostly true. That tells me that the resort is not interested and making things better. If you work hard all year to take a vacation and want to have a nice resort with good food, don't stay here. You get the feeling that the majority of people staying here are brainwashed time share and vacation owners who don't want to admit they made a mistake by investing thousands and thousands of dollars plus yearly fees to be a part of this. Budget right, stay at a nicer hotel and research and go to restaurants in and around town. At least that way you won't feel like you wasted your money and vacation time on this place. A Comfort Inn would seem like a 5 star resort to this. If you regularly stay at a Hilton. Marriott, Hyatt or better. you will be severely disappointed.

Room Tip: High floor 6 or higher for a unblocked view, away from the entertainment area
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank MikefromChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicardodelaPaz2014, Gerente at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2015

Dear tripAdvisor reader:

First of all, I would like to express our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced in your vacations. We will work hard to improve our service in every single detail you have mentioned.

Hopefully you can give us the opprtunity to host you agian in the near future.

Please feel free to contact me directly.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews