We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Overall Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Cozumel
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Overall Good Stay”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

After reading some mixed reviews, we weren't too sure about this place, but our stay turned out pretty good.

Check-in: We arrived late, and since we were in town to do some scuba diving, we were in a bit of a hurry to check in. The front desk clerk began checking us in, and then took two phone calls. After the second, I explained we were in a bit of a hurry, and yet he made another call. I knew a lot of Spanish, so I knew these calls were not urgent and personal! So it was a disappointing start. When we got to our room, we had been given a room with two double beds instead of a king bed. Prior to booking, I specifically asked about the bed situation, and was told we would be given what we requested. I had the date, time, and name of the person I spoke with documented, but after our dive, when I went to the front desk clerk, he said it was only a "request" and not a guarantee. He refused to give us a room with a king size bed. Notably, this is pretty much the only person I have any complaint about for our stay.

Rooms: The room was not huge, but by no means small. There was plenty of room for two of us, and we could have comfortably fit four. The room and bathroom were clean, but if there had been four of us, we certainly would not have had enough towels. We did need extra towels, and the front desk did get those to us within 10 minutes. Fair warning - the only toiletries in the room are a single bar of soap and a shampoo.

Food: The breakfast buffet is fairly good and has a great selection. We never had lunch at the buffet, but instead ate at the bikini bar and poolside bar. The food there was not consistent, but it was good. One day the beef burrito had cheese and potatoes inside it, the next it had beef and onions. The dinner buffet has variety, but it is not good. Definitely skip this option and go to dinner at one of the two restaurants on the premises that require a reservation. Personally, we think the Mexican one was the best without question (not a surprise). For an all-inclusive, the food is not bad.

Drinks: the bars are well staffed and well stocked. There is some inconsistency with the way they make drinks, but overall good service here.

Grounds: The grounds are well kept, clean, and nice. It rained one day while we were there and as soon as it stopped the staff was sweeping up water, and about 30 minutes later, besides the humidity, there was no way to know it had rained!

Staff: Besides the lackadaisical and slightly rude man at the check-in desk, the rest of the staff was friendly, smiled, and greeted us.

Location: The hotel is not in the "hub" by senor frogs, but is by the new shopping center that is being developed. If you want to leave the grounds, this may not be the place for you. (Unless you're scuba diving so you will leave the grounds for that, and if so, see my review about Albatros Charters)

Negatives: The in-room water temperature was lukewarm. Same goes for the hot tub. We were slightly disappointed that one of the infinity pools and the other hot tub was closed down for repairs. Especially because 10 year olds seemed to fill the other hot tub a majority of the time.

Hotel Beach: kind of small, but not a huge deal since the pool areas are big.

Overall - We would not rule out staying here in the future, but will probably look elsewhere before booking here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest

We're so happy to learn you had a great trip with us at Park Royal Cozumel.

Thank you for all of the compliments of our accommodations and staff, however, we would like to extend an apology for any inconveniences you experienced as well.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again next year!

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    1,410
    551
    209
    155
See reviews for
1,233
1,659
75
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our first time at the Park Royal Cozumel. We have stayed in other Royal Holiday hotels. Pros: this is a small but beautiful all inclusive hotel, very well maintained. It is very clean and well maintained, the rooms, the corridors, the pools, the gardens. Everything is immaculate, you see people cleaning all day long. The rooms are all hotel units, this means they are regular hotel romms, with two double beds, bathroom with shower, and a balcony. They have three restaurants, The Veranda is buffet style where you have breakfast, lunch and dinner. They offer a big variety of food, for all tastes and for dinner they usually have tematic food: mexican, italian, oriental, etc. The mexican restaurant you need to make a reservation the day you wish to visit, you can go with kids. The italian restaurant is adults only, you have to make reservation also. The all inclusive includes beverages alcoholic and non alcoholic, juices, coffee and snacks all day long. There are bars by the pools where you can drink and snack as you like. The Managers, waiters and waitresses, cheffs etc. are fantastic, always looking out for you and making an effort to care for all your needs.
Cons: The lobby has only stairs for access, this can be difficult for some people. The walkways are made of volcanic stones, which makes the walking area rather bumpy for a baby stroller or for older people. Your have free internet at the lobby area, but have to pay if you want to have it in your room. The company that gives the service is a very bad one, the connection is slow and keeps going away. The hotel manager told us they are working on a solution for this problem and they think they will be having free internet by the end of the year.
Another thing that can be anoying are the people that come down from the cruise ships and pay for a day at the hotel. They fill the swimming pools, drink too much and sometimes you cannot find a good place at the pool because they are occupying all the spaces.
Entertainment: it is good, could have some improvement and some new ideas would be nice. Pool and beach games, the same as in other all inclusive hotels. Night theater: karaoke on three different versions. This needs improvement.
Gym: A very nice place to kill some of the calories you will be eating during the day! It needs a couple more treadmills. Has escalators, bikes etc.
The Beach is small but very nice, you can snorkel and see lots of fishes, they lend you equipment at the towel kiosk.
All in all a very nice and relaxed vacation!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are the best in view and less noise. The music from the pool gets a little loud someti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pajaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest

We're so happy to learn you and your party had a great trip with us at Park Royal Cozumel.

Thank you for all of the compliments of our accommodations and staff, however, we would like to extend an apology for any inconveniences you experienced as well.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again next year!

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montverde, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is the 3rd year in a row we visited the Park Royal in Cozumel over the 4th of July. It is a spectacular property, with all we could ask for in one place. The maintenance of the place was immaculate, staff was great, service was great. Good news is that they are doing some major maintenance, bad news it started while we were there and it shut down one of the pools and the beach volleyball court which is a mainstay activity we look forward to each year. The entertainment staff turnover is high, the shows were not as good as in the past, and they made no attempt this year to do anything special for the 4th of July, unlike previous years, (Casino Night). Last year was a 5 out of 5. This year they slipped a bit, will give them a 4. We will go back again next year though and give then another shot to earn the 5 back.

Room Tip: Stay above the 2nd floor, less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank PREV108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing Park Royal Cozumel.

We're glad to hear you had a good time while staying with us, however, we would like to extend an apology for any inconveniences you experienced as well.

We´ll be glad to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and show you the improvements done in our facilities and services thanks to valuable comments like yours.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Park Royal many, many times and this might be the last. I really want to be fair so here are the pros and cons:
The pros:
* The grounds are small but beautiful. The grounds-keepers do a great job.
* The rooms are spacious and clean. We've never had a dirty room.
* Food is good considering this is an all-inclusive. The Italian restaurant is very good and a must-do.
* Location is great; near where the cruise ships dock and a very short cab ride to downtown ($8)

The cons:
* Hotel now nickel & dimes guests for everything...
* It's an additional charge if you want a room on a higher floor ($40 per night), which we prefer so you can have an incredible view of sea. Otherwise it's a view of the palm trees - which is a personal preference.
* It's an additional charge if you want a king bed - these are limited.
* A charge for WiFi.
* A charge to use the in-room safe.
* A charge to use the gym.
* A charge for a late check-out - don't think you can negotiate this one, the front desk staff is rude and always have been. Consider this if you have a plane that departs late in the day.
* Only two television channels are in English, everything else is in Spanish.
* The swimming pools are greenish in color and in desperate need of repair. One of our favorite pools by the sea is closed and no one knows for how long.
* In previous years, many of the staff spoke some English and it was of course helpful. Now, barely anyone speaks English and that makes it difficult to get assistance.

Finally, when talking to the general manager upon check-out, his overall attitude was one of excuses rather than one of hospitality. I was very disappointed as in a way, I wondered if my husband or I really needed help with something important, who at this hotel could provide that? I never felt that way until now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us regarding your previous stay at Park Royal Cozumel.

We are sorry if our accommodations did not live up to your expectations, but take feedback such as yours helpful. This allows us to understand the needs of our guests in depth. We will pass along this information to our management team.

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I went to Cozumel with a few friends and spent a week at a Park Royal, and what an incredible week it was.
Highlights:
- The staff are incredibly friendly and gracelessly assisted us
- The rooms are kept really clean, fresh towels and everyday as well as bottled water in the room
- The food at the restaurant is great! I don't understand people who complain about the food in these reviews. The food is above average throughout the resort. The Italian restaurant is the best.
- the island itself is just gorgeous. The clearest ocean water, snorkeling available at the resort, white beaches, clear blue skies.
- The all inclusive drinks make for a fun time :) they don't have a wide range of cocktails, but if you know what the bartender should mix, they are always willing to make you whatever you want.
- The are two infinitely pools which overlook the ocean with bars in the pools, which makes for an incredible sunset and drinks vibe.
- There is a small private beach that forms part of the resort

The only cons I had were the following:
- the water pressure in our room shower was terrible and the water was Luke warm at best. Given the humidity in Mexico, it wasn't the worst thing to not have hot water, but sometimes you we're want a steam shower.
-you PAY for wifi

A really incredible holiday in a wonderful place. Would go back again. The value for money was really incredible for the amenities offered by the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thendz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest

We're so happy to learn you and your party had a great trip with us at Park Royal Cozumel.

Thank you for all of the compliments of our accommodations and staff, however, we would like to extend an apology for any inconveniences you experienced as well.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again next year!

With warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I've stayed at the Park Royal several times and we are going again in October. The hotel is great, the service is great, everything is great except for one thing. They close the two swimming pools on the beach before sunset every day. Just when the sun is getting low and everyone is having a good time they close the hamburger stand and both pool bars. Just when things are getting really nice they close the pools. Yuk.

I suggest the management leave at least one pool and one pool bar open late so guests can swim and enjoy drinks at night. Closing before sunset is just crazy and I'm beginning to think of going next door to Hotel Casa del Mar in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us regarding your previous stay at Park Royal Cozumel.

We are sorry if some of our services did not live up to your expectations, but take feedback such as yours helpful. This allows us to understand the needs of our guests in depth. We will pass along this information to our management team. Thank you.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed for 6 days with my husband. I enjoyed the friendly staff, daily activities, and the snorkeling on site. The food was good, nothing to fancy. The Italian restaurant on site was a plus.

My cons for staying here were:

-I've never been to a hotel where they charge you for - daily gym use (6.00 per person), daily wifi use for each gadget (15.00 per day), daily safety box use (2.00 per day). It was actually such a big turn off that I don't plan on staying at another Park Royal resort unless these features change.It says all inclusive, but they will nickel and dime you other ways.

-The pools - they didn't look clean - had a cloudy/greenish look. My husband wouldn't swim in any of them and I only jumped in a couple of times.

-The towels in the hotel room - one day we received a folded 'clean' towel that had dried blood on it, it was very unsanitary.

-I had requested a king size bed two months prior to our stay, they only have limited rooms with king size beds in them. Instead, most rooms had two double beds, we had to push our beds together. If people aren't traveling with kids, they should provide an option for couples to have a decent size bed in their hotel room.

Overall, it was an affordable all inclusive, the location was easy to get to from the airport and to town, the drinks were yummy, staff was great, enjoyed the various activities on site, and overall had a pleasant time exploring Cozumel and also Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARKCZM, General Manager at Grand Park Royal Cozumel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing Park Royal Cozumel.

We're glad to hear you had a good time while staying with us, however, we would like to extend an apology for any inconveniences you experienced as well.

We´ll be glad to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cozumel hotels
1.3 mi away
Presidente Inter-Continental Cozumel Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
Casa Mexicana Cozumel
#6 of 52 in Cozumel
1,038 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
Sunscape Sabor Cozumel
#15 of 52 in Cozumel
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cozumel Palace
Cozumel Palace
#3 of 52 in Cozumel
3,657 reviews
8.4 mi away
Iberostar Cozumel
Iberostar Cozumel
#11 of 52 in Cozumel
4,846 reviews
5.7 mi away
El Cozumeleno Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Royal Cozumel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Royal Cozumel

Property: Grand Park Royal Cozumel
Address: Playa Paraiso Km 3.5 Carretera Chankanaab, Cozumel 77600, Mexico (Formerly Park Royal Cozumel)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cozumel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cozumel
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cozumel
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cozumel
#7 Spa Hotel in Cozumel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Park Royal Cozumel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquoise - often crystal clear waters -are just offshore. Beneath the surface are breathtaking reefs to attract undersea divers (and fantastic undersea life) from around the world and the Grand Park Royal Cozumel is in the center of it all. The leading All-inclusive on the island welcomes guests to 342 spacious guest rooms each with balcony overlooking the finest corner of the Caribbean. All inclusive, unlimited meals, drinks, snacks, 4 restaurants, buffet style and a la carte, 2 snacks, Café Sole (coffee house), 5 bars, room service 24 hours, in room mini-bar that is restocked daily, high-speed internet access (surcharge) or basic free internet, live entertainment, kids' club (0 -12 years old), fully equipped fitness center ($), spa, 3 resort swimming pool (including 2 infinity pools, main pool & kids club pool with water slides) and two Jacuzzis facing the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Park Royal Cozumel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Royal Cozumel Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Hotel Cozumel
Park Royal Cozumel Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing